We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not such a “luxury hotel”” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not such a “luxury hotel””
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

My friends and I were celebrating a big weekend and have been completely disappointed by the service, which was awful across all departments at this hotel. It is completely unacceptable for the amount we paid to stay at a “luxury hotel” such as this Waldorf Astoria. The first time we complained they handed us 2 boxes of chocolates, which does absolutely nothing for our situation.
I think for the amount of money one pays for these falsely advertised rooms and the degree of poor service we receive, the facilities definitely do not meet the price charged.

Room Tip: know that standard here are full beds, not queen, which is the norm to expect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank friends756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven T, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear friends756,

We are glad we had the chance to serve you and your friends during your special stay with us. We regret that your service experience did not reflect our true hospitality and we appreciate your feedback. We're reviewing your comments with the appropriate members of our team and hope we can invite you back for a much more superior level of service.

Sincerely,

Steven Tresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,354
    1,681
    966
    504
    346
See reviews for
1,809
3,188
94
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,387)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed a week here for a conference. The place is not cheap, but it is nice. Rooms very well appointed and up to date. Wonderful little beach. Tiki bar very nice plus they have tasty food as well (watch the drinks --- they are strong). We actually at a lot of meals beach or poolside. Nice pools and other amenities available. A nicer, more private experience that you get at most places. Moderately convenient to Duval street, but it is a pretty good walk. It is expensive.... that is the only downside.... but quality is never cheap.

Room Tip: If you are rich, a beachside view is great, but save your money and look inland. No bad views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DocandSugarbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

My wife and I were here to celebrate her birthday and Memorial Weekend. Even though the hotel was full, the property never seemed overwhelmed. The Casa Marina staff are outstanding! Everyone was attentive and ready to assist with any need. The frozen wash clothes are a great bonus during the heat of the afternoon!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, RI
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had a very nice stay with my family. The view is lovely and there were some games outside for kids (ping pong, corn toss, etc. ) The first room they gave us was suppose to have an ocean view balcony but was on the corner so the view was of a wall. We asked for another room and got a much better room with a nice view. Our son slept on the pull-out sofa which they made up each night. We had breakfast there twice (a la carte as the buffet seemed a bit pricey) and the terrace was lovely. Our dinner on the beach was also nice but I would agree the waitstaff wasn't very engaging. Our food was good and the atmosphere was terrific. The pools (one for adults only) were basic - nothing fancy so we didn't spend a lot of time there. The beach is not so much about swimming. You would have to walk out the dock to access a coral free environment to swim but my son and husband had fun snorkeling. Although we did walk in to town a couple of times, it is a healthy 20 minute walk and we found ourselves spending a lot on cabs. I wish the hotel had a shuttle. Overall, though we were very happy with our stay there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LyndaNewport_RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Let me start by saying that it really pains me to give such a historic and beautiful property anything less that a 4 star rating but... My wife and I wanted to get-away and unwind over the long memorial day weekend and thought the keys would be the perfect place to chill and relax for a low-key weekend. Unfortunately Casa Marina was a poor choice. The hotel was booked for the weekend and apparently under-staffed. We found the beach area to be neglected both in service and cleanliness. On top of this there were a couple of groups of un-rulely guests using very foul language(all weekend) that ruined the experience for everyone else. Hard to believe that that the management would not correct this situation. The end of the line for us was the bed was extremely uncomfortable. It seemed to be an old style mattress that had not been updated. I travel a lot and this is one of the worst beds I have experienced in several years; a definite no no for this caliber of hotel. A shame, I have stayed at many Waldorfs and find them to be wonderful experiences. Hopefully this property will get their act together.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 001582176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

just finished 4 days / 3 nights at CM. We usually stay at Ocean Key but this time decided to go elsewhere. We were attracted to the promise of a larger beachfront (keys beachfront) resort with multiple pools and plenty of grounds to enjoy. This was definitely the case as we highly enjoyed the hotel. The $25 daily fee was ok as the in room coffee, newspapers and plenty of bottled water made it more palatable. Room was oceanfront in newer west wing - size was a bit small as was balcony but room was clean and updated. No worries about chipped furniture etc. It was a bit of a walk to the pool but was quiet. Next time we'd like to try one of the rooms with the walk up patios. Never tried breakfast buffet but it looked pretty good. Closest outside food is 5-10 minute walk - camille's was a yummy breakfast and bad boy burrito was also very good - both 10 minute walk. Bar at Louie's next door on the ocean is a must do.

Check in went well - room was not ready yet upon noon arrival but they called us at 115pm to alert us that room was now ready. Bags got dropped there without us - all went well.

Now what I did not care for at the hotel - there is essentially no lobby bar other than an add-on to the gift shop. So really the only true bar is outside by pool / beach. Yesterday at 6pm I went to the "lobby bar" and waited for one girl only to be told that she can't mix drinks so she summoned another bartender. Waited a few mins for her but she was underwhelming - she had to consult the menu to figure out what was in the drink - looked like she had 5 mins of bar training. My suggestion would be either to do away with this bar or improve it to actually have a real lobby bar even if it is only open a few hours each day. But to kinda of do it while part of gift shop with store clerks as bartenders leaves a bad guest impression (or at least in my case did).

Other service was generally good and the little bit of the food we had was pretty decent. They did not enforce no kids in adult pool for 2 of the 3 days. Didn't really bother us but why have rules if they are not to be enforced? Gift shop or bathrooms did not carry feminine products either (no idea why - this is hotel 101) so was very inconvenient for wife.

Great breeze at hotel - apparently in summer months breeze blows from the south which makes it "cooler" than rest of the island. This was greatly worth it.

Every stay will have little nits - we understand that so this was no exception. Hotel and grounds are great, service was good as was our room. Not another hotel like this in KW. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My family and I just departed the Casa Marina Resort and we can report we had a fantastic visit. We stayed here 14 months ago and decided to return. The service given by Patrick (front desk), Evelyn (front desk mgr), Gregg (bell stand) Shaun and Tanjo (concierge) was second to none. I thank the five of them for helping to make our trip to Key West so memorable. The hotel is beautiful with are all the charm you would expect from such a classic property. The rooms are nice but could stand a few minor upgrades. The pool service was top notch. There was always someone there to help with lounge chair covers, fresh ice water or whatever you wanted/needed. This also include complimentary popsicles for the children as well as cool cucumber slices for your eyes. We would visit this property again!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.2 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
1.3 mi away
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040-4768
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#9 Spa Hotel in Key West
#14 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired hotel sits on a 1,100-foot private beach a mile from Duval Street. Our historic beachfront resort combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotelopia and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing