We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated, overpriced and not impressed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #41 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We arrived on a Saturday evening with 2 separate wedding parties taking center stage in location along with normal visiting guests. Staff where over stretched to accommodate all events taking place which resulted in a delayed response from reception, then being put through to the kitchen. Eventually after 40 minutes we managed to get milk delivered to the room for the baby but it came in two half pint glasses?

Once the wedding parties had left the location the following day the service did improve. On the beach the staff were very attentive coming around on regular occasions offering free drinks/samplers and ensuring you were quite happy.

We had a central room which had a pool/beach view on the top floor thou we paid extra for this privilege which was very nice but the internal night shade curtain was ripped and reported but was not replaced during our stay.

The breakfast buffet was very basic but we booked it as part of our package but considering what you paid per head, you could get a better selection/choice locally at a half the cost which other members of our party did on a regular basis. The interior breakfast area was a large empty space with tables & chairs but this room lacked modernization making it look very tired and drape thou most people sat outside which was very pleasant.

The hotel is in a good location, has a nice beach area but lacks sand as what is present is very minimal on the beach. In the bar area you are served with plastic glasses for your drinks but in the outer lunch/dining area you can get proper glasses on the table?

However, I must say the staff were very helpful and cheerful throughout our complete stay but having stopped at couple of other 5 star Hotel’s this was certainly not up to the standard expected, the hotel in my opinion is overrated, overpriced and I certainly will not be going back gain.

Room Tip: To be on the top floor central facing the pool/beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilal M, Manager at Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort. Our goal is to provide our guests with great service along with a relaxing and beautiful atmosphere. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the problems you encountered while staying with us. We do work hard to establish high standards of quality and guest service, and I am sorry to learn that we failed to achieve these results. We have shared your feedback with our operating teams, helping them identify specific service breakdowns.

We thank you for caring enough to share your experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,106 - 3,112 of 7,297 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is a wonderful location. We booked a suite, which was not exactly suite like. There was a living room/dining area and a bedroom. However, the room was in needs of some upgrades, like paint and caulk around the tub. The Nespresso Pot did not work the entire time we were there, despite having it replaced twice! The maid left a pot of coffee from the "regular" pot with coffee in the pot, uncleaned for 3 days. We had to ask for extra lotion and soap, as not enough was provided for 3 people. I expected better from a hotel chain of this caliber.

On the plus side, the location is wonderful and the pool are really great. The views are great. My son, who is 15, had a great time with other teens and I felt fine letting him "hang out" with out worry that he would get into trouble or be bothered by others. It was an easy walk into town. The breakfast provided was very nice and there was a lovely selection. The service at the dining room and pools could not have been friendlier. The Concierge was knowledgable and helped us book some outings and meals. The spa service on the beach was wonderful as well.

If you can get a great room rate and past the fact that this is not a 5 star hotel, it is a good spot to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Modernizing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilal M, Manager at Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort. Our goal is to provide our guests with great service along with a relaxing and beautiful atmosphere.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the problems you encountered while staying with us. We do work hard to establish high standards of quality and guest service, and I am sorry to learn that we failed to achieve these results. I assure you that we are using your feedback constructively with our management team to rectify the absence of follow-up from our management team. Training is a continual process for us; therefore your feedback is being used directly with the teams involved.

We thank you for caring enough to share your experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was our third trip to Key West, our first time at Casa Marina. We booked thru Amex FHR program so assumed a certain level of hotel. We were booked into the all suite wing. The first room offered had no window in the bedroom. The second room had a small window that looked into the inside of the linen and laundry room. The third room was lovely, with large windows facing the ocean. The bathrooms are tiny, with literally no place to put any toiletries. The linen closet on our floor was filthy. This is where they keep the 'clean' towels and linens. The shelves were in disarray and there were dirty towels on the floor which remained there the entire 4 nights of our stay. We know this because the door was always open. The housekeeping staff, other than the turndown people, were less than acceptable. There seems to be no supervision. The public areas, especially the pools and gardens are beautiful. The check-in and desk staff were very accommodating but seem totally unrelated to housekeeping staff. The concierge desk staff are not knowledgeable and are not trained.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bouchet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilal M, Manager at Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort. Our goal is to provide our guests with great service along with a relaxing and beautiful atmosphere. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the problems you encountered while staying with us. We do work hard to establish high standards of quality and guest service, and I am sorry to learn that we failed to achieve these results.

We have shared your feedback with our operating teams, helping them identify specific service breakdowns. Training is a continual process for us; therefore your feedback is being used directly with the teams involved.

We thank you for caring enough to share your experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The casa marina is a nice escape. The beach is small but the property is beautiful and I would definitely bring my family back here again! Employees were very helpful as we'll. There are lots of things to do on property!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ganders10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I had a great time at the resort. I was very impressed with the quality and layout of the place. Had a great room, food was great, drinks, service, all top notch. Had a massage by the beach. Great great time. It is a bit pricey but it was worth it.

Room Tip: We had an ocean/resort view large king bed room with a balcony that was probably bigger than our roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobbyBrignac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We booked several adventures while staying at the Casa Marina through their concierge desk, Shaun was very knowledgable, friendly, polite, patient and gave his opinion on which package he recommended. He wasn't overly pushy or aggressive. We received excellent customer service by Shaun and thoughly enjoyed all our adventures. I would highly recommend seeing him if planning any adventures!

Michelle R

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyvacationer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a wonderful girls weekend last week and the beach service we received from Daniel was outstanding!!! He took the time to set us 4 ladies up with beach chairs and umbrellas, handed us scented frozen towels for the heat and constantly made sure we were having an enjoyable day at the resort. Daniel you Rock!

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side smaller than the new side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanita71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
1.4 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
2,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040-4768
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#10 Spa Hotel in Key West
#17 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £217 - £571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired hotel sits on a 1,100-foot private beach a mile from Duval Street. Our historic beachfront resort combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing