We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical Mark on the beach!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magical Mark on the beach!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Great service!
Chilled on the beach all day.
Mark came around and have us a mist and cucumbers for our eyes.
Great personality and service!
(Thanks Mark!!!!)
Get the skinny cucumber lemonade in a shaker and reserve some chairs and an umbrella!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Keywestkells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilal M, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear that we made your vacation enjoyable. Our goal is to provide our guests with great service along with a relaxing and beautiful atmosphere.

We appreciate your loyalty and we hope to see you again with us.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,354
    1,681
    966
    504
    346
See reviews for
1,809
3,188
94
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,387)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Sadly, this once glorious hotel needs corporate attention promptly. We booked an ocean front double with a balcony, upon check in we were told we have been upgraded. Great, right? Our upgrade was a king room, no balcony. Back to the front desk, okay try this one. King room no view but it has a balcony. Late for dinner reservations we settled. When we go back from dinner the room had been closed for several hours and smelled like black mold. Back to the front desk. Offered another no view King room in the old building that smells like black mold, only room available, try again in the morning. We slept in the lawn furniture on the balcony.
Next morning I inquire about another room, Carlos at the front desk gives me an attitude "we offered you another room last night". I politely said can I get what I booked, a double with ocean view. Can I speak with Ms. Simmons front desk manager, she is "unavailable", After a delightful day of jet skiing and water sports Carlos has a key, room is acceptable, he will personally see our bill gets adjusted. Upon check out the bill has not been adjusted, Carlos is not there and Ms. Simmons is still "unavailable". A week later and my HHonors points have not been returned, Ms. Simmons has never returned my messages. When did Hilton/Waldorf start treating guests like it's a Days Inn by the interstate? I saw several wedding parties and they all seemed disappointed by the lackadaisical attitude of staff and service. I would stay away until Hilton revamps management or takes the franchise back. I have stayed here 8 separate occasions.

Room Tip: Simply try another property, The Reach perhaps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwight B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilal M, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to The Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort. Our goal is to provide our guests with great service along with a relaxing and beautiful atmosphere.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the problems you encountered while staying with us. We do work hard to establish high standards of quality and guest service, and I am sorry to learn that we failed to achieve these results and the room was not what you expected. I assure you that we are using your feedback constructively with our management team to rectify the absence of follow-up from our management team. Training is a continual process for us; therefore your feedback is being used directly with the teams involved.

We thank you for caring enough to share your experiences.

SIncerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Our stay was for 4 nights with 4 adults and 1 teenager. Rooms were exactly as we requested and paid for( ocean front view) . They accommodated our adjoining room request. Property was beautiful but a bit worn in places. Rooms were clean and hotel staff very good. Beach was exactly as described and extremely well kept. Pool and beach attendants were AWESOME. They took care of our every need and made our 3 afternoons by the pool/ beach fabulous. Only issues was after the island lost power our rooms did not have WiFi for 2 days. Had to follow up more than I would have thought for a Waldorf experience, but they fixed it and erased our resort fees. We would stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilal M, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to The Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort. Our goal is to provide our guests with great service along with a relaxing and beautiful atmosphere.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the issue with the power outage and the WiFi connection. We are in process of upgrading our internet service so all customers can have a fast connection everywhere on property.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We expected the 4 th of July celebration to be a busy hectic time on the beach but didn't realize Casa Marina is more of a banquet hall than peaceful resort. So instead of sharing the hotel with the expected amount of seasonal guests we were bombarded when they allowed the general public to enter the grounds for a fee. In addition the other half of the beach was closed to guest as it was rented by an organization for their fundraising purposes . Mind you this beach is advertised as Key Wests largest beach - but be aware it is still very small . Then on the evening of July 5th the beach was again closed for a private party complete with a loud band and lots of partying . There was no escaping the music as our room was close to the beach so again we abandoned the hope of spending a peaceful evening listening to the ocean and relaxing. I called the Manager and was informed the party would last until 11:00pm. I told him in the future it would be advisable to let guests know about the banquets and he informed me they book them all the time and often at the last minute. Needless to say we won't be coming back.
Cheryl and bert robinson

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

the trip itself was dramatic not the hotel's fault tho.long story short, our flight from Miami to Key West got cancelled after waiting at MIA for more than 10 hrs. so we wasted a night at the resort, the resort couldn't refund our payment for the night but gave us credit to spend during the stay which was very nice and un-expected. like how they separate adults pool and family pool. we also tried the candle light dinner on the beach, loved both the experience and the dishes. wished i had had brought my fishing rods so i could have gone fishing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joonair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilal M, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear that we made your vacation enjoyable. Our goal is to provide our guests with great service along with a relaxing and beautiful atmosphere.

We appreciate your loyalty and we hope to see you again with us.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed for 3 days. The standard hotel rooms are clean, basic and functional. Similar to a Holiday Inn standard which is surprising for a Waldorf Astoria. Beds are really comfortable. We didn't see the other rooms in the older part of the hotel, they may be more luxurious. The pool areas are great but it was really irritating to have children in the adult only pool. The pool guys say they had no authority to ask them to leave so they did nothing. Nice touches to have fruit, drinks and popsicles offered throughout the day by the pool. We thought the staff at the beachside restaurant were helpful- Sefa the waiter was really kind. They tried provide a gluten free option but the choices were poor, not even gluten free pasta, how difficult is that to have on the menu?
For us the location was too far from Duval street in July heat. Taxi's are reasonable, less than10 dollars one way. Overall, a relaxing stay but we won't be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKCaptainscarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilal M, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear that we made your vacation enjoyable. Our goal is to provide our guests with great service along with a relaxing and beautiful atmosphere.

We have shared your feedback regarding the adult pool and the gluten free items. We will address the issue with the appropriate department for resolution.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Seeing as this hotel holds the prestige name of Waldorf Astoria, we expected to be staying somewhere that aloud us to relax. However, upon arriving to our room, it was not as big as the pictures online portray. We were willing to look past that and squeeze into our hotel because we wanted to have a good time. The next thing that really annoyed me was that, they say they are a pet friendly hotel. However, during our first morning at the hotel, I decided to take my 6lb yorkie down to the beach with us. We were told dogs could not be by the pool, by the beach or anywhere that food is being served. Basically, the dog can only be locked in the room. Why say you're a dog friendly hotel & not even allow a dog to roam around the outside. However that's not as bad as having the A/C break on us. We asked if someone could come fix it and of course they couldn't. Then they tell us they will try to find another room the same for us. However if they don't have any of the same rooms available they can move us to an upgrade for an additional cost. Explain to me how it makes sense for us to pay to be moved when it is the hotels A/C that is broken. In the end, they didn't have any rooms available at all so they told us they would bring us fans. They brought one fan and it was so dirty and dusty you could tell it was pulled out from some dark room behind dirty shelves. Besides that, service was not good. They took long to bring us anything we asked for & I'm pretty sure out first night here there was one poor young man working alone overnight as the valet, front desk, concierge & people that bring things up to the room. A hotel with the name Waldorf Astoria should be better equipped than to have one person running the front in the middle of the night. We were here for Fourth of July so the hotel held an event. We were told there would be a buffet with all types of food and it was 25$ per person. All types of food does not mean hot dogs/ burgers & that is what the buffet wended up having. Don't forget the classy chips on the side. That is not a nice buffet, that's a hoedown, but we were mislead. Every time we asked for blankets we got flat sheets and when they finally did bring a blanket it was one instead of two like we asked. It was just not the experience we had hoped for at all! A complete rip off and I do not recommend it to anyone unless the hotel gets a serious face lift. The only enjoyable part of our stay was a good steak on the first night and the hardworking young men on the beach that were very attentive and aware to what they were doing. Super nice. Sadly there's suppose to be more to a five star resort than just the towel boys. We will not be coming back to this hotel if we return to key west.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilal M, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to The Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort. Our goal is to provide our guests with great service along with a relaxing and beautiful atmosphere. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the problems you encountered while staying with us. We do work hard to establish high standards of quality and guest service, and I am sorry to learn that we failed to achieve these results.

We have shared your feedback with our operating teams, helping them identify specific service breakdowns. Training is a continual process for us; therefore your feedback is being used directly with the teams involved. We thank you for caring enough to share your experiences.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.2 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
1.3 mi away
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040-4768
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#9 Spa Hotel in Key West
#14 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired hotel sits on a 1,100-foot private beach a mile from Duval Street. Our historic beachfront resort combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing