We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the water in Key West”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #41 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“On the water in Key West”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I base my reviews on cleanliness, comfort and price paid. We loved our 1 night stay. There were 5 of us in 2 rooms ranging from 18 to 72. Beds were comfortable. Our favorite was the spot on the beach...the attendants were fantastic...loved laying on hammocks....and snorkeling. The only con I have is price for food, we wouldn't be able to stay here an extended period of time and eat on site.
We booked directly with the hotel a day before our stay for 199/room.
Would we come back for same price? Absolutely!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Schus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,505
    1,742
    1,043
    551
    387
See reviews for
1,942
3,371
97
370
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Scituate, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

When I think of Waldorf Astoria, I think of three things:
1. A hotel representing an age gone by (old charm)
2. A hotel with pure elegance
3. Impeccable service unmatched by other hotels

Well, the property was a nice resort that held true to the charm of old Key West. The rooms were very nicely appointed; albeit a little small. However, the overall service of the property did not meet the norm for Waldorf service. It took almost 45 minutes for our bags to arrive in our room. Additionally, housekeeping took almost an hour to deliver towels that we requested.

Two exceptions for this lack of service was Lisa at the pool and Derrick/Rosco at the water activities area. Lisa was attentive and welcoming; always expecting your needs with a smile. Derrick and Rosco led our 2-hour jet ski tour around the island. They were great guides, friendly, and very knowledgable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilal M, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to The Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort. Our goal is to provide our guests with great service along with a relaxing and beautiful atmosphere.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the problems you encountered while staying with us. We do work hard to establish high standards of quality and guest service, and I am sorry to learn that we failed to achieve these results. I assure you that we are using your feedback constructively with our management team to rectify the absence of follow-up from our management team. Training is a continual process for us; therefore your feedback is being used directly with the teams involved.

We thank you for caring enough to share your experiences.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We just arrived to the Casa Marina hotel for our 35th wedding anniversary and we were promised a room with an ocean view. We paid a lot for this room and we were really looking to a relaxing four days. Well, the start was not good. We have a pool view. Cancelling is not an option. It is not pleasant when the promise is not fulfilled. As a matter of fact, this room has some kind of "Ocean" reference, but I can only see a pool. Not coming back. First impressions really count. We will make the best of our stay.

Room Tip: Have them take a picture of what your view is!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Rafael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilal M, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to The Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort. Our goal is to provide our guests with great service along with a relaxing and beautiful atmosphere.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for not meeting your expectations. We have shared your feedback in regards to your expectations of Waldorf Astoria Resorts with our management team. It is the feedback of guests such as you that assist us to improve our service.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Great service!
Chilled on the beach all day.
Mark came around and have us a mist and cucumbers for our eyes.
Great personality and service!
(Thanks Mark!!!!)
Get the skinny cucumber lemonade in a shaker and reserve some chairs and an umbrella!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Keywestkells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilal M, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear that we made your vacation enjoyable. Our goal is to provide our guests with great service along with a relaxing and beautiful atmosphere.

We appreciate your loyalty and we hope to see you again with us.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Sadly, this once glorious hotel needs corporate attention promptly. We booked an ocean front double with a balcony, upon check in we were told we have been upgraded. Great, right? Our upgrade was a king room, no balcony. Back to the front desk, okay try this one. King room no view but it has a balcony. Late for dinner reservations we settled. When we go back from dinner the room had been closed for several hours and smelled like black mold. Back to the front desk. Offered another no view King room in the old building that smells like black mold, only room available, try again in the morning. We slept in the lawn furniture on the balcony.
Next morning I inquire about another room, Carlos at the front desk gives me an attitude "we offered you another room last night". I politely said can I get what I booked, a double with ocean view. Can I speak with Ms. Simmons front desk manager, she is "unavailable", After a delightful day of jet skiing and water sports Carlos has a key, room is acceptable, he will personally see our bill gets adjusted. Upon check out the bill has not been adjusted, Carlos is not there and Ms. Simmons is still "unavailable". A week later and my HHonors points have not been returned, Ms. Simmons has never returned my messages. When did Hilton/Waldorf start treating guests like it's a Days Inn by the interstate? I saw several wedding parties and they all seemed disappointed by the lackadaisical attitude of staff and service. I would stay away until Hilton revamps management or takes the franchise back. I have stayed here 8 separate occasions.

Room Tip: Simply try another property, The Reach perhaps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwight B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilal M, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to The Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort. Our goal is to provide our guests with great service along with a relaxing and beautiful atmosphere.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the problems you encountered while staying with us. We do work hard to establish high standards of quality and guest service, and I am sorry to learn that we failed to achieve these results and the room was not what you expected. I assure you that we are using your feedback constructively with our management team to rectify the absence of follow-up from our management team. Training is a continual process for us; therefore your feedback is being used directly with the teams involved.

We thank you for caring enough to share your experiences.

SIncerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Our stay was for 4 nights with 4 adults and 1 teenager. Rooms were exactly as we requested and paid for( ocean front view) . They accommodated our adjoining room request. Property was beautiful but a bit worn in places. Rooms were clean and hotel staff very good. Beach was exactly as described and extremely well kept. Pool and beach attendants were AWESOME. They took care of our every need and made our 3 afternoons by the pool/ beach fabulous. Only issues was after the island lost power our rooms did not have WiFi for 2 days. Had to follow up more than I would have thought for a Waldorf experience, but they fixed it and erased our resort fees. We would stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilal M, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to The Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort. Our goal is to provide our guests with great service along with a relaxing and beautiful atmosphere.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the issue with the power outage and the WiFi connection. We are in process of upgrading our internet service so all customers can have a fast connection everywhere on property.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We expected the 4 th of July celebration to be a busy hectic time on the beach but didn't realize Casa Marina is more of a banquet hall than peaceful resort. So instead of sharing the hotel with the expected amount of seasonal guests we were bombarded when they allowed the general public to enter the grounds for a fee. In addition the other half of the beach was closed to guest as it was rented by an organization for their fundraising purposes . Mind you this beach is advertised as Key Wests largest beach - but be aware it is still very small . Then on the evening of July 5th the beach was again closed for a private party complete with a loud band and lots of partying . There was no escaping the music as our room was close to the beach so again we abandoned the hope of spending a peaceful evening listening to the ocean and relaxing. I called the Manager and was informed the party would last until 11:00pm. I told him in the future it would be advisable to let guests know about the banquets and he informed me they book them all the time and often at the last minute. Needless to say we won't be coming back.
Cheryl and bert robinson

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.7 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040-4768
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#10 Spa Hotel in Key West
#17 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired hotel sits on a 1,100-foot private beach a mile from Duval Street. Our historic beachfront resort combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing