We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - don't expect a Waldorf”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #40 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We spent the 4th of July weekend at Casa Marina, and were in general pleased with the stay. After staying at Waldorfs elsewhere, I was not expecting a small room with tiled floors and a poorly sealed door that allowed the humidity to blow in constantly. I suppose it's a function of the florida weather and hurricane prevention, but I was a little disappointed at the quality of the room compared to the price. Thankfully we did have an ocean view - I would recommend avoiding rooms facing the pools, as they would be very noisy.

The pool area is lovely, however there is little enforcement of the suggestion that the adult relaxation pool is reserved for those without kids. It was 4th of July so there were a lot of families. The grounds are gorgeous, and the drinks and food were very good.

The beach is the largest in Key West....but it is by no means large. Maybe a few hundred yards of rocky beach at best. The staff is very solicitous, however, and we camped out for hours and watched the fireworks from the beach. They came by to take drink orders, or offer cool towels or cucumbers for our eyes.

For the 4th, the general public was allowed on the grounds for a fee after 5pm, and there was a fundraiser event on the grounds that afternoon.

We definitely enjoyed our stay, but I found myself a little disappointed that the rooms did not meet the Waldorf standard (except in price). It is a very nice resort (especially the pool and beach).

This hotel is on the south side of the island; it's much quieter and away from the activity at Mallory Square. It is a bit of a walk to Duval St, which in cooler weather would be no big deal. Cabs are <$10 to Duval or to the marina as well. We enjoyed walking through the neighborhoods to some of the off-the-beaten path restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the pool - very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,242 - 3,248 of 7,511 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just left. Had a great 4th of July celebration. Shout out to the staff. To name a few Mitchell, Bob, Constantine the beach crew!! All the extras to make our stay fantastic. Misting, cold cloths and ice pops, catering to your every need. Did the Jet ski tour and loved it! Thx to Derek, Roscoe for an awesome ride! And Stephanie for our photos. Will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teec60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilal M, Manager at Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear that we made your vacation enjoyable. Our goal is to provide our guests with great service along with a relaxing and beautiful atmosphere.

We appreciate your loyalty and we hope to see you again with us.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have stayed here 3 times and have enjoyed it every time. The staff is amazing and very helpful and want northing more than you to enjoy your stay. The beach is great and with on site activities. The location is great close to Duvall St. The restaurant has excellent food. The open bar is great you can sit and look at the ocean. They have two pools and one pool is an adult only pool. The rooms are spacious and very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Christie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I base my reviews on cleanliness, comfort and price paid. We loved our 1 night stay. There were 5 of us in 2 rooms ranging from 18 to 72. Beds were comfortable. Our favorite was the spot on the beach...the attendants were fantastic...loved laying on hammocks....and snorkeling. The only con I have is price for food, we wouldn't be able to stay here an extended period of time and eat on site.
We booked directly with the hotel a day before our stay for 199/room.
Would we come back for same price? Absolutely!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Schus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

When I think of Waldorf Astoria, I think of three things:
1. A hotel representing an age gone by (old charm)
2. A hotel with pure elegance
3. Impeccable service unmatched by other hotels

Well, the property was a nice resort that held true to the charm of old Key West. The rooms were very nicely appointed; albeit a little small. However, the overall service of the property did not meet the norm for Waldorf service. It took almost 45 minutes for our bags to arrive in our room. Additionally, housekeeping took almost an hour to deliver towels that we requested.

Two exceptions for this lack of service was Lisa at the pool and Derrick/Rosco at the water activities area. Lisa was attentive and welcoming; always expecting your needs with a smile. Derrick and Rosco led our 2-hour jet ski tour around the island. They were great guides, friendly, and very knowledgable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilal M, Manager at Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to The Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort. Our goal is to provide our guests with great service along with a relaxing and beautiful atmosphere.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the problems you encountered while staying with us. We do work hard to establish high standards of quality and guest service, and I am sorry to learn that we failed to achieve these results. I assure you that we are using your feedback constructively with our management team to rectify the absence of follow-up from our management team. Training is a continual process for us; therefore your feedback is being used directly with the teams involved.

We thank you for caring enough to share your experiences.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We just arrived to the Casa Marina hotel for our 35th wedding anniversary and we were promised a room with an ocean view. We paid a lot for this room and we were really looking to a relaxing four days. Well, the start was not good. We have a pool view. Cancelling is not an option. It is not pleasant when the promise is not fulfilled. As a matter of fact, this room has some kind of "Ocean" reference, but I can only see a pool. Not coming back. First impressions really count. We will make the best of our stay.

Room Tip: Have them take a picture of what your view is!
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Rafael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilal M, Manager at Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to The Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort. Our goal is to provide our guests with great service along with a relaxing and beautiful atmosphere.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for not meeting your expectations. We have shared your feedback in regards to your expectations of Waldorf Astoria Resorts with our management team. It is the feedback of guests such as you that assist us to improve our service.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Great service!
Chilled on the beach all day.
Mark came around and have us a mist and cucumbers for our eyes.
Great personality and service!
(Thanks Mark!!!!)
Get the skinny cucumber lemonade in a shaker and reserve some chairs and an umbrella!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Keywestkells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilal M, Manager at Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear that we made your vacation enjoyable. Our goal is to provide our guests with great service along with a relaxing and beautiful atmosphere.

We appreciate your loyalty and we hope to see you again with us.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#32 of 51 in Key West
2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#8 of 51 in Key West
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040-4768
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#9 Spa Hotel in Key West
#16 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £259 - £524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired hotel sits on a 1,100-foot private beach a mile from Duval Street. Our historic beachfront resort combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing