We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, special place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #41 of 51 Hotels in Key West
lake oswego
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful, special place”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed here in August 2014. Check in was easy and fast. The hotel is old-school with a special charm.
Pros:
Nespresso machine in room
Good design of room with quiet bedroom in back, front opens to pool/beach
Great pool
Separate kids pool on other side of hotel for families, with nice quiet adult pool on our side
Beach is beautiful, with lounge chairs, nice breeze, wonderful
They give you "ice towels" at the pool to cool off, nice
Cons:
Gym is fine, part is under construction but usable
Two restaurants, OK for breakfast and lunch
Minimal staff around pool so long wait for drinks
Housekeeping staff is marginal at best (forgot coffee pods, forgot shampoo etc, but delivered immediately when called)
Overall great hotel, would definitely stay here again. Great view.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor next to beach and pool, by adult pool if you have no kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,505
    1,740
    1,043
    550
    387
See reviews for
1,940
3,371
97
370
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,444)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This property reminds me of a Ritz Carlton. Very nice with beautiful palm trees and hammocks on the beach. The room we stayed in was substandard. A Holiday Inn would have been nicer. The floor was dirty, furniture was scratched and looked like it came from Good Will. Was told the wing we were staying in had not been updated. I would definitely go back but I would make sure to get a room that has been renovated.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room that has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdosal61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxhaw
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The staff at the hotel were wonderful. The outstanding staff members were Daniel and Patrick. The service we received from them was special. Patrick was full of laughter and smiles. Daniel very helpful and kind. It was are first time at the hotel, it was very relaxing.

My husband and can't wait to go back. The room was great, very clean.

I don't have a bad thing to say.

Brian & Cathy M.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven T, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Brian and Cathy M.,

Thank you for your fantastic review. We are so proud of Patrick and Daniel for making a positive impact on everyone they come in to contact with. We will be sure to let them know you appreciated them. We look forward to your next stay at Casa Marina.

Sincerely,

Steven Tresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Service: Very Good

Facilities: Very Good

Feel of Luxury: Good

Relaxation Factor: Very Good

Food: Good to Very Good

Location: Very Good, very accessible

Beach & Pools: No beach as such, Although the resort is on the ocean, Key West is very rocky and has no beaches, all Sand on Key West is imported and access to the sea at the Casa Marina is via a jetty. There are two good sized and clean pool's! One is for the kids and one for the adults. There is also a variety of water-sports available from the beach hut.

The hotel is very relaxed never felt to busy and well located for visiting Key West and the surrounding areas.

The service is very good, warm and friendly.

The Hilton Breakfast was very very yummy, (every morning) and all the waiting staff very friendly.

The rooms are far from the most luxurious for a Waldorf but just about sufficient.

Room Tip: Go for a pool facing room wither in the main building or with a patio to the pool area otherwise you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jet-Set-Greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We recently stayed at Casa Marina and had a great time. Althought the hotel isn't brand new, the staff work very hard to keep it clean and fresh. It has a nice colonial atmosphere. We spent considerable time at the pool and Daniel, Constantine, and Lisa took excellent care of us. The addition of an adult pool was nice. Occasionally kids did come to the adult pool but were never disruptive. If they were I'm certain Lisa would have recommended they go the childrens pool. In the evening outside bartenders were fabulous I can't remember if it was Julie or Marie but I loved her Motito! There really wasn't a 'beach' but the sand area and the entrance to the water were kept immaculate. Swimming off the pier was wonderful water was clear and a lovely temperature. We also spent some time in the beach hammocks, very relaxing!
I have only three reasons for not giving this property a 5. 1-The elevators were ridiculously hot. One has lights that give off so much heat that it is like a sauna. 2-The showers were too small and narrow. For a luxurious resort I would have liked them to be a bit bigger. 3-We are Diamond Hilton members. Our only reward here was two very small chocolates. Most Hilton properties we stay at will comp us breakfast or a room upgrade. Thank you for a wonderful vacation!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the fourth floor with a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjw2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

After reading the reviews I wasn't sure if I had made a major mistake in booking here. The rooms are not modern, they have a colonial feel, very reminiscent of Raffles in Singapore.
I can't understand the negative comments regarding the staff however, all have been extremely polite and helpful.
Activities are great and reasonably priced.
Bar prices are high but not ridiculous.
Food is very expensive, but there are plenty of good restaurants within a fifteen minutes walk. If money is no object then eat here, it is excellent.
In conclusion, I will be coming back, this might well be because of the key west magic, rather than the value of the resort. The air conditioning in the room is still the loudest I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinandandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed at the Casa Marina back in January and were sorely disappointed. While we thought being a Waldorf brand we would be guaranteed a luxurious stay it was all but the opposite. There is no restaurant on site, just a random ballroom they turn into a buffet for breakfast when they feel like it. Hardly any lobby bar to speak of with a barista there and maybe 5 chairs. There is a random bar in the very back (no views) that's small and dark (and the bartender was rude and seemed drunk). The outdoor bar was OK, but smoking was allowed so it was unbearable.

The rooms are small and not cozy at all. The floor is hard and cold with new area rugs, etc. Unfortunately, it rained most of the time we were there so we were forced to spend time in the room since there wasn't anywhere else to really hang out in the lobby etc (remember, not bar).

The outdoor grounds were very nice with two pools. However, they had a sign designated an "Adult Only" pool which we thought was great. That is, if they enforced it! There were kids all over the "adult only" pool and no one did a thing about it! They do serve food outside (at the smoky bar), but it's marginal and expensive.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skitownlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven T, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear skitownlover,

Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay. We take great pride in providing superior service and comfortable surroundings for our guest. Your comments will help us to continuously strive to achieve this ideal. We are working with our teams to ensure that we remain one step ahead of our guests' needs and hope we can invite you back to demonstrate our commitment to comfort.

Sincerely,

Steven Tresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.7 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040-4768
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#10 Spa Hotel in Key West
#17 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired hotel sits on a 1,100-foot private beach a mile from Duval Street. Our historic beachfront resort combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing