We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to stay in Key West”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #40 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed 15 July 2009

I almost never write reviews but in the case of the Casa Marina, Key West I feel obliged. I have stayed at this property several times over the last few years with my wife and recently with 2 of my boys. I have always found the resort and the overall experience to be exceptional. The hotel has been beautifully renovated - it is sophisticated and modern but still maintains some of its unique Key West style. In addition, the two pools, the large gym and the outdoor dining and bar on the ocean are all great and staffed with friendly and helpful people.
I have only stayed at the Casa Marina for holidays but in looking around the resort it is clear that the banquet rooms and meeting facilities are really first class.
Overall this is a beautiful resort and if you are thinking of visiting Key West I cannot think of a better place to stay.
G. Hurley Toronto, Canada

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,495 - 6,501 of 7,511 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2009

Having never been to Key West, we were at the mercy of the various comments about resorts in the trip advisor. We decided on the Casa Marina. From the moment we checked in, and was greeted by Jenny at the front desk, we knew we made a great choice. Everyone at the resort did everything to make our stay wonderful, and wonderful it was. We had a grand vista ocean front room with an enormous balcony overlooking the pool and ocean. Room 276. We opted to include breakfast every day as part of our package. The pool area was big and the pool attendants were most accomodating. First they came around with samples of the drink of the day, then popsicles, then iced towels ( very refreshing ) then fresh fruit. This was every day. The breakfasts were great and so was the lunches by the pool. I can appreciate the 40 million dollar renovation that took place. Our flight left on Sunday at 5 p.m. and they let us have a 1 p.m. late check out. We relish our vacation time and have stayed at a lot of great properties and I would rate this property at the top of the list. Would I go back to the Casa, yes. Will we be back to the Casa, YOU BET!!! Thank you for a great 6 days. John and Dolores Jacobs Cincinnati

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jondol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We tried this place after staying at the Ritz in Miami. When we got there they said our reservation was canceled though I had provided a credit-card guarantee. The manager actually accused us of canceling - great; just blame the customer for your incompetence. To make up for their ineptitude they have us a single room which overlooked a street with houses in bad repair. We had originally booked ocean view suites so this was quite a let down. There were no amenities in the room and housekeeping took their own time cleaning the rooms. We spent the day outside the resort to avoid the bad experience and only came back to sleep. Thankfully, the torture lasted only 2 days. DO NOT stay here under any circumstance.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
5  Thank nk60_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

When we booked this hotel we thought for sure we would
get the same quality and service as the Waldorf in NYC but we were
wrong. The toilet in our room did not work and we had to call three times
to get someone to fix it, and it never worked again. They said there were not other rooms available for us to switch to. The shower was dirty, and the shampoo/conditioner bottles were open. The bathroom was not clean at all, we called for more towels and they said that they were at full did not have extra towels! I called to order room service and I asked them simple questions, like how many shrimp come in a shrimp cocktail and the lady said she didn't know and hung up on me.
Last time we came to Key West - we stayed at the Hyatt and we should
have stayed there this time.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raqdeb76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

My fiancée and I recently stayed at Casa Marina over the July 4th weekend. The hotel is extremely beautiful and the food was incredible. Our room was a one bedroom suite over looking the pool which was incredibly spacious. We had dinner on the pier at sunset which was amazing. Both the beach and the pools were very enjoyable.

However, the customer service at Casa Marina is far below what should be expected at a luxury hotel. Everyday room service would not clean our room until late afternoon (2pm or later). When I called to ask housekeeping when they would be able to clean my room they responded by saying they "do not provide guarantees when rooms would be cleaned" and could not provide any timeframe. We were staying in the all suites building and paying top dollar for our room. I can only imagine the lack of customer service received in the non-suites building.

Additionally, we had an issue with an amenity arranged by the concierge. When we spoke with hotel management about the issue they were rude, incompetent, and unforgiving. After speaking with several managers over the incident, the hotel rooms manager finally agreed to provide us with a resort credit comparable to the amenity. When we went to check out the resort credit had not been applied to our bill and the front desk manager said no notes were made on our account about any credits. Eventually, we were able to get the credit, but it was only after much aggravation. The hotel management made us beg and fight to receive something promised to us as a result of their error. By far this was the least enjoyable experience I have ever had with hotel management.

Overall the picturesque views and food made this a great trip. However, I would not stay at this resort again or recommend it to anyone else. Due to the quality of customer service, this hotel does not belong to be part of the Waldorf-Astoria Collection. If you are travelling to Key West do yourself a favour and stay away from Casa Marina.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Florida072009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2009

Nice place. We stayed at the Casa Marina for 4 days (after staying at the DoubleTree for 3 because of availability) and are so happy we did. This is a 4 diamond resort and lives up to it. Plenty of shade and sun on the beach and by the pool. The beach guys are great at getting you set up with chairs/hammocks/table/umbrella etc...

Above ratings take into consideration that I expected a 4 diamond place.

We had a great room (small but comfortable) - fabulous view and very very large balcony.

While there were kids around and it appeared they were pretty happy and they were never a bother.

There is a pier and water sports (as well as scooters, bicycles, jet ski's, sail boats etc...) hut at the far end of the hotel to book your trips/activities - so very conveninet to take off for snorkeling, dolphin watching, parasailing, sunset cruises (we did a bunch!!) from the corner of the hotel property.

Ok - from a couple of foodies - Food was good (not great but also not terribly expensive considering it's so convenient). Dinner on the beach is a must because it is so peaceful. There are plenty of great restaurants nearby for very nice dinners (great chefs) and tons of must visit casual places for fun in Key West..

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wannaplaygolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2009

We are travelling round the US as this is our honey moon and we have so far had some amazing experiences and great hotels. this one was so bad that we felt forced to write a review. The location is great, quiet with a private beach (though you cannot swim in the sea) the rooms are clean and modern.

The staff let it down. on arrival we had 4 cases and no offer of assistance to take to the room. No explaination of how/where to park the car. We got to our room and it smelt very strongly of URINE! we complained and got moved to room 339 with a view of buildings and roof tops. To add insult further we were charged a resort fee for coffee/tea facilites which werent in the room! the staff didnt seem to care they were often stood about moaning about staff shortages. drink prices were too high $10 for a soda! this is a 4* hotel on the outside but the service make it more like a 2* - we have had better services in motels!

we will not be staying here again and tempted to check out early and head to Miami!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank themorgans54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#32 of 51 in Key West
2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#8 of 51 in Key West
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040-4768
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#9 Spa Hotel in Key West
#16 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £259 - £524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired hotel sits on a 1,100-foot private beach a mile from Duval Street. Our historic beachfront resort combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing