We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, peaceful location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We've stayed at The Reach several times, always traveling with several other couples. It's a nice hotel. Rooms are spaciouls and clean and the water views are nice. The pool was nice & beach clean. (Small, but clean. KW) The restaurant in the the hotel is pricey, but food was good. If you don't want to be with all the partiers and night life, this is a good hotel for you.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly and ask nicely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 681TracyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,735 - 2,741 of 3,769 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at The Reach Waldorf Astoria Resort in Key West. Our experience could not have been better. I was a little concerned when I read a couple of reviews saying it was nice but not what you would expect from a Waldorf Astoria. I think they must have meant that the furnishing are not as opulent as most Waldorf Resorts. However, I think it was exactly what you would expect from the Keys. It reminded me of the Old Key West Resort in Disney, and I think Disney always nails it with appropriate decor. The beach was beautiful. It was located one street over from Duval Street and was about a mile walk to Mallory Square. Most of all, the staff was exceptional!!!! I can't remember ever having a more accommodating and wonderful staff. We loved it and would go again:)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnTed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

This trip to key west was double duty for my new wife and I, it was both honeymoon and a well needed respite from the daily grind. The hotel suites were big and clean and the pool view was also a great ocean view too!. The amenities were excellent and the staff was way better then there pay grade. Special mention has to go to Ricardo the pool side director whose, attention to detail was way beyond 4 star. He or Cael, had our towels rolled out for us on our loungers, before we could sit, down, my wife loved the sunglass cleaning, the frozen cucumbers on her eyes, and the tan mist they would spray on her, the jolly rancher popsicles, and fresh local fruit were great touches also. The restaraunt was sophisticated, and had a steak house atmosphere, and the prices were a little steep. But I really recomend the sirloin burger, at pool side or the breakfast buffet for late risers is also awesome. Over all the local fun was good and the staff had good recomendations for night life and the ablility to recoupe and rest was excellent at the resort. Best of both worlds, for us as my wife got her relaxations, and I got my seedo adventure and parasailing right from our private beach.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayabusa01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We took a mini 6 day vacation in the month of June; the Hotel was great but the services was excellent!! The staff was very helpful and greeted us always with a smile and friendly hello on our venturing out and on our return. The Hotel was in a great location for our interest; we rented scooters from Barefoot Billy's, took the jet ski tour of the island, walked a short distance to Durval Street, took the 4 hour fishing excursion and play around the pool and beach area....Thanks Jake, Ricardo, Cael and Tony!! you guys were great!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy1486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We were so disappointed in the service and the facilities that I am writing a detailed letter to the hotel. You are charged 20.00 a night for valet service and each night we had to go looking for the valet. One night it was only the valet who was also the bellhop and the cars were lined up. There were problems with the rooms reserved vs the actual rooms which finally did get straightened out, but only because we were not accepting any less. The pool is marginal and the waiter service is few and far between, each day I had to go get my own drinks and ice. The best was on a Saturday (holiday weekend) we were told at 9 am we could not use the pool, it wasn't cleaned and it was disgusting. We had to go to the sister hotel Casa Marina, and they would not shuttle us for free, they would charge us even though it was their fault. The Casa Marina is a much better facility, the service top notch, I would book there over the The Reach any day!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darla777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jleecarter, Front Office Manager at The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2011

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. Please contact me regarding your letter so that we can work with you to remedy any inconsistencies in service which you may have received. We welcome your letter and any suggestions that you may have for ways that we may be able to enhance our amenities and services for future guests. I look forward to hearing from you.

All the best,

Jason Carter
305-296-3535
jcarter@luxuryresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here on a spring break, long weekend getaway in April. My husband had read about the Conch Republic Rebellion and it seemed like fun, so we booked our getaway. The booking site rates this as a four star resort and while it was nice enough I don't know if I would rate it that high. Though in all fairness we didn't spend a lot of time there and may have not taken advantage of all its amenities.
We arrived early before the checkin time and the guy at the reception desk said they had a room available right away. My husband asked if it was an ocean view which is what we had booked. His response was pretty much, no its not oceanview but it's what's available if you want to check in now. We took it because we wanted to check-in early since since we only had a couple of days and already had a dolphin viewing/snorkeling trip booked for early that afternoon. The room was comfortable and clean, but nothing particularly impressive. The decor was clean and spare. The bathroom was clean but small. One problem was the noise from the stairway area. Access to our room was via a concrete corridor and when someone was in the stairway the noise reverberated and amplified and was somewhat disturbing.
The hotel is on the opposite side of the island from much of the action which made for a quiet low key atmosphere. There were people, including families with children, swimming and lounging in the pool area. Late one night I went down to the beach area and had it pretty much to myself and lounged in one of the hammocks and stargazed in peace. Still Key West is not that big and it was only about a 10-15 minute drive to the center of the action.
The concierge Stacy was extremely friendly and helpful. We decided last minute we wanted to do a jet ski tour (Barefoot Billy's really friendly and as a bonus really cute guys) and she made a number of calls and found us one starting in just minutes at a nearby hotel. She also recommend a restaurant in the area, the Blue Banana, at which we had a yummy breakfast of crepes. The hotel is a short walk to the southernmost beach in the US and it was a nice area to walk around at look at the local architecture.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnymomCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jleecarter, Front Office Manager at The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2011

It sounds like you really enjoyed your time here in Key West and enjoyed all of the great things which our concierge Stacy was able to recommend. You made a lot of great recommendations for activities offered both in our resort and on the island. Should your travels have you return to the southernmost point, please let me know so that I may assist with your accommodations.

All the best,

Jason Carter
305-296-3535
jcarter@luxuryresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Wonderful hotel. Very nice and extremely accommodating staff. Treated us as if we were the only guests that mattered at any particular moment. Nice pool right next to their own private sandy beach with pool and beach service. Nice touches such as complimentary champagne in the afternoons and virgin mojitos next to the elevator. Our boutique suite with a "partial" ocean view would have been called a full ocean view compared to other resorts. Had double sinks, tub/shower combo and separate shower. Our suite was the closest room to the elevator yet we never heard the elevator or people talking outside our room. We also had a view of the pool and beach yet still very quiet. When the gift shop was closed, a front desk employee opened the shop and allowed me to make a totally non-emergency purchase. Fabulously comfortable bed and pillows. We would return in a heartbeat!

A few suggestions: Offer complimentary shuttle to sister property and drop offs to the other end of Duval Street. Gift shop needs to stay open at least until dark. Sell those cooling neck scarves that have the beads that you wet and stay cool for hours. Room Service menu should offer common "American" sandwiches like grilled cheese, BLT's, french dip, hot dogs, etc. Sometimes chefs get so caught up in their "artistry" that they forget food is to be eaten to satisfy hunger. Make a real french dip, and make it the best french dip possible. Add a grilled cheese and make it with 3 different cheeses on a fabulous bread. Make homemade potato chips. Every hotel's food service should be able to make a common sandwich at any time of the day or night even if it isn't on the menu. Pool/Beach Service needs to add snorkeling equipment. You can snorkel right from the beach and it would be wonderful to be able to do so without having to bring your own equipment. The only room suggestions would be to have softer towels and make the shelves in the bedroom "pull outs" so you can use them as drawers. Also, have a local newspaper with a daily television guide either delivered to each room or available in the lobby.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Judyscastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
3.1 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
715 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#11 Spa Hotel in Key West
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#18 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £232 - £574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Key West's only private natural-sand beach, The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is an intimate, elegant destination for those seeking a casual retreat with the highest level of service. A warm sense of hospitality, gracious staff members, a beautiful shoreline and breathtaking sunshine all provide the backdrop for a memorable and romantic travel experience at our Key West hotel, just steps from Duval Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing