We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed due to a natural disaster.

“Very expensive for food and drink at hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The hotel no longer offered shuttle service to and from the airport which cost us nearly $40. The buffet breakfast for two counting tip was nearly $70. One 12 oz. frozen drink at the pool counting tip was $17. Dinner for two at the restaurant was over $100. Very expensive for what we received.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
2  Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,712)
There are newer reviews for The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,846 - 1,852 of 3,712 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

I celebrated my 60th October birthday at The Reach and had a wonderful stay. It was only one night so way too short. Easy check-in with accommodating front desk staff-upgraded to King suite as requested adjoining rooms not available. Loved the beach location. Ricardo (beach staff) especially helpful-recommended good lunch spot and also had tips for our group on our way back to Miami. Have to mention that Mike and Patrick were attentive to our sun-bathing needs. I wish I were back there now (in Minnesota and the temps are close to 30 degrees)!

Room Tip: Ocean view
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilal M, Front Office Manager at The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

I would like to thank you for taking the opportunity to complete our survey. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We think our staff is pretty great as well and are so happy that you appreciated them.

We look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Beautiful Hotel, but extra $20.00 a day for parking that is right under the hotel. $20.00 charge per day for the pool if you use it or not !! Extra charges not worth it. Other choices just as nice without extra charges.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
1  Thank mreskimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I am happy to write this review to let every know what a great time my wife and I had at the Reach. Had a blast with all the crazyness that comes with Key West and returning each night to the Reach was perfect. Location!!!!!! and Relaxation !!!!! Now my favorite was beach side in the morning. Kris P. and Matthew are the BEST! (you need it they got it). Did the jet ski tour around the island, guide Mike was GREAT! had a great time thanks. Loved it there.

Room Tip: our room on the 3rd floor was very nice had plenty of ice with 2 machines
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frank m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy A, Front Office Manager at The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad you were able to enjoy our resort, its service, amenities and wonderful activities. We will certainly recognize the staff members that you've mentioned. We look forward to seeing you on a return visit! Cindy Acevedo Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Great hotel with very helpful employees. It's just far away enough from Duval St to be out of the craziness but still just a short walk into town.
Restaurants very good with good food and service however drinks are very pricey!!
The resort fee of $25 plus tax per night is annoying and should instead be part of the room fee.
Rooms are very spacious.
Great pool and beach and the daily Popsicle is a lovely treat !

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Bernard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The Reach is a nice place to stay with a great location, excellent pool and one of the few beaches on the island. The front desk staff is very accommodating and very friendly, especially Jen who seems to work night and day.

The pool is very nice with great ocean views (especially at sunrise). The pool/beach staff couldn't be nicer, with Matt Baldwin and Kris (didn't catch his last name) leading the way. Ricardo kept us in stitches, too.

All in all, it was a great vacation and we'd definitely return.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the ocean. Unless you're going to spend a lot of time on the patio, an...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ray n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Long time Hhonors Diamond member, just returned from 5 night stay at the Reach during Fantasy Fest, using Hhonors points. The Diamond agent encouraged us to consider the Reach over Casa Marina, its sister property - BIG MISTAKE.

The grounds are relatively nice for Key West, one of the few sand beaches on the island. The facility itself is essentially a 2-3 star motel, with all rooms opening to outside corridors, very basic amenities, mismatched furniture. Antique elevator, not conveniently located to most guest rooms, very basic outdoor stairwells. There is no perimeter fence gates to secure the property.

On our second night, the lock to our room malfunctioned; after 2 trips to the lobby to/from our 4th floor room, the lone overnight front desk clerk made repeated attempts to call "security" to help us. After approx 45 minutes, she called security at the Casa Marina, who "found" the Reach "security" officer, who confirmed our door lock was bad, used a device to force it open. Criminals would have little difficulty helping themselves to cash and valuables from the front desk and office, unsuspecting guests how are in the wrong place at the wrong time, or targeting guests who flash valuables during the day.

Upon returning to our room on the third evening, we found that housekeeping had not cleaned our room, called to the front desk to request clean towels, which would be delivered by "security". We waited 45 minutes, went to sleep. Spoke with the front desk supervisor the next morning to send up towels (required a second call), schedule housekeeping for between noon and 3 pm; returned at 4:15, room had not been cleaned (again), door lock again malfunctioned. At that point, I went to the lobby, asked to speak with a manager, who assured me our room would be cleaned the next day between noon and 4 pm. As we were preparing to leave our room for the day at approx 11:40 am, the front desk called to confirm that we NO LONGER WANTED HOUSEKEEPING, as there was a do not disturb sign on the door. On the way out, I went again to speak with the front desk manager, to remind him of our arrangement, it was not yet noon.
To add insult to injury, there were two phone calls on our bill - while we were boarding a sunset booze cruise, several miles away.

The breakfast buffet is very basic, with limited offerings - other than the fresh omelette cook. Inferior to what can be found at a typical Hilton Garden Inns.

Taking a step back, most of the employees seem very sincere, hard working - with VERY few exceptions. Based on years of experience managing people and businesses, the issue appears to be related to management - penny pinching by Blackstone, resulting in insufficient staffing levels; lack of proper systems and procedures.

Room Tip: Pass on the Reach, stay at Casa Marina
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank diver858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
3.1 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
2,606 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#11 Spa Hotel in Key West
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#18 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £200 - £518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Key West's only private natural-sand beach, The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is an intimate, elegant destination for those seeking a casual retreat with the highest level of service. A warm sense of hospitality, gracious staff members, a beautiful shoreline and breathtaking sunshine all provide the backdrop for a memorable and romantic travel experience at our Key West hotel, just steps from Duval Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing