We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty grounds arent enough for luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Key West
New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“pretty grounds arent enough for luxury”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Other than the beautiful grounds, the hotel has serious problems. The staff wasn't very helpful on more than one occasion. The restaurant's décor isn't suitable for children. My boys, 17 and 13 felt uncomfortable and didn't want to eat there. We didn't get menus for quiet some time and then got up and left. The next day we dined on the terrace but the food took forever to be served and I had to ask for water (which everywhere is brought to the table at once) several times before it was served. My hotel reservation was made for three adults and a child because my sons are not young kids and can NOT share a sofa-bed. We did not get any correspondence prior to arrival but upon checking in we learned that the hotel does not have roll away beds. My husband and I were forced to share the king size bed with my 13 year old which was not comfortable for any of us. Finally, I left behind a silk pajama pants. I called the hotel and the receptionist said I should leave a message with "lost and found". I never heard back from anyone and this is two days after checking out. For a luxury resort and for the amount we paid, all of that was disappointing!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
2 Thank Rinat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy A, Front Office Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort. Our goal is to provide our guests with great service along with a relaxing and beautiful atmosphere. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the problems you encountered while staying with us. We do work hard to establish high standards of quality and guest service, and I am sorry to learn that we failed to achieve these results.
We have shared your feedback with our operating teams, helping them identify specific service breakdowns. Training is a continual process for us; therefore your feedback is being used directly with the teams involved. We thank you for caring enough to share your experiences.
Cindy Acevedo Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,388
    987
    573
    374
    236
See reviews for
763
1,906
53
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Even when service issues were discussed directly with a manager, things were never resolved. In fact, they grew worse over our 3 day stay. The restaurant was very good and we enjoyed being able to sit and view the beach and pier.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Steven,

I am very sorry to hear about your recent experience at The Reach Resort and welcome you to contact me directly to discuss the matter further.

Paul Bartush, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I will begin by saying the rooms were gross. The carpet in the rooms were filthy-- you could not walk on the ground barefoot, the bathrooms were dirty. It took forever to get the rooms cleaned and it took hours to get extra towels and the pull out couch made up.
The food service and all of the servers are the most incompetent servers that I have ever met! They did not get a single order correct in the 3 days we were there, they do NOT cater to food allergies. To be honest, it felt the servers would go out of their way to make our stay LESS pleasurable. It was quite clear they did not want to work.
There were some employees that did try and were there to assist the guest, but there was many more employees that did not care and did not want to work and those employees completely overshadowed any good that was attempted.
The only reason why we return to this hotel is because of the beautiful property, however each year it gets progressively worse and to be honest is not worth the aggravation!
This is definitely NOT a Waldorf resort! Save your money, save your Hilton points!

Room Tip: A tip to choose a good room is to not stay at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear guest,

I cannot apologize enough for what sounds to me like a very poor experience at our property. I welcome the opportunity to discuss the issues that you experienced during your stay. Please contact me directly via email.

Paul Bartush
Manager
paul.bartush@waldorfastoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lyon, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Hasn't been updated in years. Staff needs work. Very loud noise coming from air condition unit on top of building. Beach was cleaned off either day we were there. Overall if wasn't for the location we would stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Kevin

I am sorry that you did not find The Reach Resort to meet the expectations that you had. I would like to speak to you directly to explore possible ways to make amends. Please reach out to me directly via email to set up a convenient time to talk.

Paul Bartush
Manager
paul.bartush@waldorfastoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed back in October of 2013 and the hotel should not be a Hilton and definitely not a Waldorf Astoria. The staff just doesn't care when you point out how dirty the place is (noticed when checked in). It needs significant painting and the rooms aren't clean. In addition, the staff doesn't seem to know what the "Do Not Disturb" sign means. They accessed our room while we were in the shower and also when we were sleeping in, they called us to see why our sign was up to clean the room. The elevator kept breaking and we mentioned to the desk manager that the inspection was almost a year out of date and he acted like he didn't care.

Additionally, we tried in the past to stay at Hilton chains for the points because we are a dedicated Hilton Honors members, but this New Years we stayed at the Hyatt (which was a little less expensive) and highly recommend it. It was right on Front Street and was clean, the staff was extremely personable and did an excellent job.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nukesrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I am very sorry to not have learned of your poor experience at The Reach while you were on property. I would have happily assisted in remedying any of the issues that existed. Please contact me via email to set up a time to discuss the issues that you experienced and how I can make amends for these issues.

Paul Bartush
Manager
paul.bartush@waldorfastoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The rooms by American standard were smaller than expected with little storage space. This was more than made up for by the helpful staff and rapid response to any issues. It is the perfect place to explore Key West on foot.

Room Tip: When asking for a sea view clarify if this is from the room or balcony only
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlaWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
I am thrilled to know that our staff made your recent stay at The Reach Resort so pleasurable. Thank you for taking the time to highlight the efforts of the staff and our location - two of the many wonderful assets that The Reach Resort offers to its guests.

We hope that you provide us with an opportunity to welcome you back at some point in the coming year!

Warm regards
Paul Bartush
Manager
paul.bartush@waldorfastoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This hotel is not a Waldorf. Dirty, smelly room, poor service. The only thing compatible with a Waldorf was the price. The rest is more like a Days Inn. They sell an Ocean View Suite where you can hardly see the sea. It was a disaster.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Please contact me to discuss the issues that you experienced during your recent stay.

Paul Bartush
Manager
paul.bartush@waldorfastoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
1.2 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
2,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#11 Spa Hotel in Key West
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#18 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Key West's only private natural-sand beach, The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is an intimate, elegant destination for those seeking a casual retreat with the highest level of service. A warm sense of hospitality, gracious staff members, a beautiful shoreline and breathtaking sunshine all provide the backdrop for a memorable and romantic travel experience at our Key West hotel, just steps from Duval Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing