We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to great.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The hotels location is great. You have your own beach. It only takes about 30 minutes to walk to Mallory square. It took us awhile to get service from the pool attendant.So we started going to the pool at the casa marina. Housekeeping was a little shabby. If you are going to book a Waldorf Astoria in key west pick the casa marina instead of this one.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jtrice4848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,639 - 1,645 of 3,732 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

Recently my husband and I stayed at The Reach for the second consecutive year. We had such a wonderful experience the first time that we couldn't wait to return. Hard to believe but this time was even better.

Our goal was to unwind and spend as much time near the water as possible. We definitely achieved that goal! Spent time at the beach and pool at both properties. The beach staff took great care of us. Special shout-outs and thank yous to Morgan at The Reach and Daniel at Casa Marina. You two were great!

Everyone at both properties helped make our vacation special. Can't wait for our next visit!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Margo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Manager at The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Reach Resort, I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I know both Morgan and Daniel will be thrilled to know that they were able to help make your stay with us wonderful. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Key West; please feel free to contact me directly should you have any special requests at jennifer.tomasello@waldorfastoria.com. Hope to see you soon!

Jennifer Tomasello
Reach Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

In general, great location, very good service, very attentive staff, very clean. The mattress seemed old, with edges higher than middle. Room cost is a little high, acceptable, but the added costs will quickly increase your cost - $20/day resort fee, $20/day parking fee, and in spite of an emergency at home that required us to leave a day early - another $75 early departure fee. That early departure fee will factor in our lodging decisions in future visits to Key West, we thought it is poor taste.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FRAN N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had a absolute Awesome stay at the Reach Resort in Key West. The area was beautiful, the beach was full of beautiful people, and the sands and Service were TOP NOTCH. The Staff meet everything I asked for, even provided my Wife with a bottle of Champagne for our Anniversary. Key West was a awesome, the FURY ultimate adventure that was recommended was fabulous. Thank you very much. I will most definately book a trip to Key West again and I will be Staying at your Resort. Thank you again, Jason and Rebecca Smolsnik

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
2  Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

To start, my husband booked this trip in January. MONTHS ago. He had also called on a couple of occasions to check on things. During one recent phone call he was told that although they did not know room number yet, that we would have a courtyard view room. Upon arriving at approximately 2:30 we were told our room - number still unknown- was not ready yet (understandable since check in is at 4:00) and that they would call us when it was. We were fine with checking in our luggage and going for a walk. At 4:20 we were back in lobby...the phone call never came. As we inquired, the less than apologetic desk clerk made a phone call and asked if "that" room had been inspected. Then as we inquired again we found out our room was not facing courtyard but the hotel across the street. We expressed our concerns to which we were then told that this is the room "Orbitz booked for you". Really? So then why did we not know a room type/number better before hand so we could have possible adjusted to what we wanted? Remember my husband called more than once.

Upon arriving in the "inspected" room - which turned out to be EXTREMELY noisy in the early mornings due to delivery trucks, trash trucks and waiting taxis , which are constant and beep VERY loudly when backing up. ... we were apalled. Literally. Mind you, At any other hotel this would have irritated me but at one that carries the WA name and charges what they do...it was unacceptable. We found: Filthy carpet (very visible black on it)...dust on everything (clumped on closet track in plain sight and on front of door...noticeable to the naked eye)...the writing pad had dried liquid on it...hair dryer looked very old and beat up and had previous persons hair stuck on it...pillow case had what appeared to be black hair dye on it (noticed this later)...almost non-ecisent clothing space and what set me over the edge was one of the glasses in the bathroom had a very visible golden colored "goo" in it. I touched it...yes..I did...and it stuck to my finger. So I placed a call and they sent someone up almost immediately. Unfortunately, this sweet young man had to suffer through my tired rant. His name was Rony (accompanied by another very pleasant girl whose names starts with V) and he was EXCELLENT. Very apologetic and professional and quick to respond. In a nutshell, he got the room issues resolved by cleaning it himself even going as far as to say they would shampoo the carpet (we declined because we didn't want to have to deal with wet carpet, etc - so we resorted to keeping our flip flops on most of time). I later called Rony back to apologize to him AND more importantly to commend him for his professionalism in a not so pleasant situation. In the end, we received a phone call from Jen saying they were waiving our resort fees (thank you). After this, To add further fuel to the fire, we asked for a regular coffee pot...we received a broken one. A new one was not delivered or perhaps we were out when they tried. Later that evening we called again for it....never came...about 30 minutes later I was told everyone was going home but she would try. Then appears RONY who was on his way home for the night with it. Might I add he had even gone out of his way once to knock on our door and check on us! Again, RONY was a pleasure and his efforts and ability to take care of clients should be recognized.

So in conclusion, The Reach visually is a nice place. The beach/pool combo and the sunset deck overlooking the water are nice. As for seaweed. The staff at The Reach fight a losing battle in this area. They really do try to keep up with it. You simply can't. Walk past it and the water is beautiful. We didn't even attempt the restaurant because of price and reviews. On that note, we checked other "lesser" hotels in the immediate area...they all have a complimentary breakfast of some sort...NOT The Reach. As for the welcoming staff...we really never got that warm "glad you are here" feeling. The "where are you from" question always seemed alittle forced if you will.

The greatest disappointment here was for my husband as this was my birthday gift from him....



Signed,
Disappointed in KC

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank DLF527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua B, Manager at The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback concerning your recent stay here at The Reach. I'm very glad that Rony was able to accommodate you while you were facing such an unexpected situation. It is with the most sincere apologies that I extend this response to you, and I sincerely hope that you would be so kind as to stay with us again in the future.

Should you return to Key West and consider our property please feel more than free to call and ask for me so I might aid you in finding suitable accommodations.

Best Wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our time at The Reach. The welcome was fantastic and we really enjoyed our complimentary bottle of sparkling wine.
We did pop over to Casa Marina to see if we were missing out on anything but actually felt The Reach was a much nicer size and a friendlier place. The breakfast at the Strip House is convenient, but it is worth venturing out to try other places in Key West to broaden your horizons. It is really near to the Sourhernmost Point so if you really must have your photo taken there - you can avoid the crowds (we went at sunset - everyone must have been elsewhere!) There is also a good bike and scooter rental a around the corner and a Japanese restaurant that does the freshest sushi and fresh fish we have ever had. Highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nicola082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

It's hard to complain about a hotel on one of the few private beach spots in Key West. But the staff was hit or miss and for every nice feature there seemed to be something to detract from it, making the experience slightly above mediocre. Popsicles at 2 by the pool is a great idea. Having bikes to rent right at the hotel, also a good idea. But they forgot to clean our room and when I called the front desk just to request a refresher on towels and soap, no one ever came by to do so. There is access to the other Waldorf property, which appeared a cut above this one, but we didn't take the walk over.

Room Tip: Your view can vary greatly. If you want a good one you'll need to do some work with the front de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhiladelphiaJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
3.1 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#11 Spa Hotel in Key West
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#18 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £231 - £578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Key West's only private natural-sand beach, The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is an intimate, elegant destination for those seeking a casual retreat with the highest level of service. A warm sense of hospitality, gracious staff members, a beautiful shoreline and breathtaking sunshine all provide the backdrop for a memorable and romantic travel experience at our Key West hotel, just steps from Duval Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing