We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Reach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #44 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Reach”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great hotel with its own beach but spoiled by the fact that large amounts of sea weed had been washed on to the beach high tide area and the hotel would not clear it after each high tide. So to get into the lovely warm blue sea you had to walk through all this weed! Otherwise beach was clean and hotel generally very good.

Room Tip: Try to get a courtyard or sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulcc1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy A, Front Office Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to respond regarding your recent stay at The Reach Resort.
We are pleased to know that you had such an enjoyable visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Reach Resort sometime in the very near future.

Cindy Acevedo
Front Office Manager
Cindy.Acevedo@waldorfastoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,373
    980
    561
    367
    230
See reviews for
752
1,877
52
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

As a diamond, we received a comped split of sparking wine along with two comped drinks in the steak house (no food purchase required), a room upgrade (mini suite with zero views), and a box of cookies.

The room was of decent size, and furnished casually. Service level at the front desk was excellent, valet welcomed us each time we entered (although we did not use the valet service), the beach/pool attendant (little shack at the entrence to the beach area) was very good, as was the pool service for food/drinks.

I walked over to Casa marina (the other Waldorf a few blocks away) and the facilities looked more elegant (for what that's worth).

The reach had excellent service however the building had a very casual feel (didn't feel like luxury).

We had a great time and would come back if the price point was well below the Casa marina...if prices are similar I will choose Casa marina next time due to the "luxury" feel of the property. Again the reach wasn't bad, it excelled in service and had above average rooms...it just didn't feel like a luxury resort to me.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy A, Front Office Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
We appreciate your candid feedback and are glad you appreciate our service.
We have shared your feedback in regards to your expectations of Waldorf Astoria Resorts with our management team. If you would like to discuss your stay or if you should be in Key West again please contact me at Cindy.Acevedo@waldorfastoria.com for personalized service.

Cindy Acevedo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is an excellent hotel one block off the end of Duval Street, which is fine if you are able to walk long distances. Otherwise rent bicycles right at the hotel. Every staff member was very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and well maintained. We took advantage of and enjoyed the Nespresso machine in the room every morning. We tried the hotel breakfast buffet. It was good and not excessively priced but it would have been more enticing if they included a mimosa or bloody mary to keep you coming back (there were so many other great breakfast places to try). The concierge sold us on their sunset sail, which was excellent-- a private catamaran with unlimited beer/wine/champagne/soda/water, appetizers, and a limit of 20ish people. The cost was a little more than the local Fury boats that leave the marina downtown, but well worth it. Although we saw more adults than children at The Reach, there is only 1 pool, so you can expect children to be at the pool; yet it was still fairly quiet and relaxing. We didn't experience any major problems with that. The Reach is the only hotel with a beach. The beach is somewhat small but the attendants are very accommodating and will bring you a chair&towel. Attendants also offered from time to time, free non-alcoholic mango shots, cucumber slices for your eyes, slices of fruit, a misting of water, or sunglass cleaning -- all small, but welcomed services. The Reach has a sister resort called Casa Marina, a much larger, bustling. The short walk there added to the amenities. Two pools (one for adults only), a large, palm tree-shaded beach with a pier that has stairs down into the ocean (because they caution against walking over the dangerous coral that runs along the water's edge), and a large open tiki bar, which serves up the best pina colada we've ever tasted. This swirly frozen concoction is made with Cruzan black strap rum, giving it a molasses/brown sugar sweetness that's worth every calorie! We also tried one of the spa services -- the couples massage on the beach in a small tiki hut. Judith gave an excellent massage, focusing on tension areas and wanting the client to feel relaxed. The experience would have been better if the Casa Marina would move the nearby volleyball net to another part of the property or perhaps if the Spa played soft music to go along with the meditative sounds of the lapping ocean. During our stay the weather was extremely hot (a high of 93 degrees) and very humid. The only negative comment of our entire vacation was the stifling hot elevator next to the pool. It felt claustrophobic at times. We avoided it as much as we could and took the stairs to our 5th floor room. All in all, we will definitely go back to The Reach.

Room Tip: A room with an ocean, courtyard, pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCWTmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy A, Front Office Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your note. We are so glad you were able to enjoy our resort, its service, amenities and wonderful activities. We will certainly recognize the staff members that you've mentioned. We look forward to seeing you on a return visit!

Cindy Acevedo
Front Office Manager
cindy.acevedo@waldorfastoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great Hotel, incredible views! Very friendly staff, and excellent service. It does need an outside bar in the pool area. One of the best in Key West!The food and other amenities were terrific. Already planning on going back next year!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy A, Front Office Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.
We are pleased to know that you had such an enjoyable visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Reach Resort sometime in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Thought about planning our wedding at The Reach. The pictures online were beautiful. However, upon visiting, we found that it was not at all like the pictures, especially the pier. The pier looked incredibly weathered and run down. Surrounding areas were dirty and the photos online didn't show how small the beach really is. Staff would not return phone calls or emails. Super disappointing considering this is a Waldorf property.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy A, Front Office Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
We are extremely sorry the resort did not meet your expectations. It is the feedback of guests such as yourself that assists us in the training of associates as well as continued maintenance of our facilities. If you would like to discuss your stay or if you should be in Key West again please contact me at cindy.acevedo@waldorfastoria.com for personalized service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is an upscale hotel with a beautiful beach...literally a few feet from my room. You can walk/bike up and down Duval street and not have to get in your car at all for the the whole stay on the island.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Reach for 2 nights in June 2014 , as part of our trip to Florida. The hotel is in a fantastic location, right on the beach and just minutes walking from Duvall Street. Upon our arrival we were greeted by some very professional staff who made booking In a seamless process. The room we were allocated was simply ideal . It was spacious, well furnished and had the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in!! The bathroom was well stocked and during our stay our room was cleaned to a high standard. The hotel had everything that we wanted for our short stay. The hotel provided free Wi-Fi and internet access and provided 2 bottles of free water each day to the room - a nice touch. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel if you are staying in Key West.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamYip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
1.2 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#19 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#11 Spa Hotel in Key West
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#17 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Key West's only private natural-sand beach, The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is an intimate, elegant destination for those seeking a casual retreat with the highest level of service. A warm sense of hospitality, gracious staff members, a beautiful shoreline and breathtaking sunshine all provide the backdrop for a memorable and romantic travel experience at our Key West hotel, just steps from Duval Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Destinology, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing