We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hotel for both younger and more mature couples!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #44 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super hotel for both younger and more mature couples!!”
Reviewed 11 December 2010

Very luxurious and reasonably priced resort. Registered guests have full access to the entire resort as well as the neighbouring resort. Wi-fi Internet, poolside towels and courtesy drink samples are offered free of charge. The hotel has a private natural sand beach and a private illuminated romantic peer, that stretches into the sea. A sister establishmen to the New York "The Strip" steak restaurant is located on the hotel grounds. Great but expensive breakfast buffet (although a seagul flew in and stole my croissant off my plate)... Hilton at its very best!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikkel0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,388
    987
    575
    375
    236
See reviews for
765
1,907
53
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2010

From the time their pink and white shuttle picked us up at the airport, till the friendly staff opened the door to the beautiful resort everything was perfect!! Our Island View Boutique was lovely, we enjoyed our coffee/champagn breakfast on our balcony each morning. The pool and private beach was beautiful, we had our evening wine and snacks out on the terrace looking out at the ocean. The staff was very helpful in everything we needed from getting us a cab for dinner or giving us coupons to present for free cocktails and appetizers,etc at the restuarants.Just loved Cafe' Sole!The property is well maintained, clean, and just lovley.I cannot wait to return to this Resort, I just loved it!!! All the guests were super nice and layed back.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sachet10k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2010

The Reach is a very nice hotel with an amazing view. The hotel has it's own beach and a very nice gazebo that goes out into the water. There is also a nice pool and restaurant...all with a view of the ocean. The rooms are very nice and the staff as well. The hotel has a very open feel to it, as only the office is in an enclosed building. So, since the weather is usually always warm and nice this is an added plus. The only bad thing is that it is sort of out of the way. All the excitment and touristy things to do are located on the other side of Duval so you will do a lot of walking. But to me this was fine since I knew I would be eating a lot I needed the exercise!!! To me a hotel is just for sleeping. I get out and about all day, come back get freshened up, then hit the streets again. This hotel was nice enough if you wanted to lay around the pool and beach you were laying around an extremely nice pool and beach. Defenitly consider this hotel in your options. And enjoy Key West!!! It is gorgeous and will feel like a second home!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MB4450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

We got away for a long weekend and used Hilton points to stay at The Reach. We probably thought we were staying at the Casa Marina, the larger property also part of the Waldorf Collection, but ended up at the quieter Reach. It is not a grand property but very well maintained and the staff was delightful. This must be a quiet time as they upgraded us to a nice suite which had a great balcony over the pool and ocean, lots of room, fridge etc. It was a quiet area (except for the many chickens that roam Key West and do get up early) We did not eat at the property - just the coffee shop for STarbucks each morning. The workout room was adequate and we used it each day as well. You can use any of the amenties at the fancier Casa Marina, so that is a nice option too. They have a lovely pool/beach area.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy1318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA/Canada
Level Contributor
238 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

This hotel is average and expensive for what you get. First, the room they advertise on the web site is not what you necessary get. I booked a suite for 4 adults and we were supposed to get a one bedroom + sofa bed in living room. It appeared that the bedroom and the living room is ONE living space only. No "closed" bedroom.

The sofa bed is AWFUL; the mattress is about TWO inches thick... Imagine grandma & grandpa sleeping on this... and the A/C unit in the suite was terribly noisy.

The pool area and beach are wonderful, but don't come too early, the beach staff are filling the jet skis with fuel ON THE beach at 9:00 am. The smell is terrible all morning. Awful.

And don't ask for restaurant suggestions, all suggestions they made to us were disgusting restaurant with terrible food. Yeark. Read my review of the Conch Factory in Key West.

And for the rest, the rooms were clean, smell good, you have Nespresso machines in the suites and the property is well maintained.

But check other hotels review before booking there. Oh and yes by the way, two personal size pizzas at the restaurant (for lunch) cost $35+.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oli-business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

We stayed 4 nights, with our little dog. Yes this is a pet friendly hotel, and the main reason we chose this hotel (I believe it was $125 for the stay for pet). Have to say I expected more for the price, but then again, it was Key West, and similiar to staying in Carribean island. The location is great, as it is on a small beach (not many beaches in Key West!). It is also on the South side of Deval street. Easy walk up the street to get to all the restuaurants, bars, etc. Deval is abouit a mile and a half long, so if you can walk this, it is a perfect hotel. Also tons of taxi's and bike taxi's everywhere.

Do not like the hotel fees Florida resorts charge, but most do it, so I expect it. There had people on the beach to help you, and popsicles in afternoon, nice touches, to make up for resort fee. Also, do the self park, to save a few dollars. I drove 30 feet from front door to park. Hotel is an open hotel, in that all room doors are outside. This fits the casual idea of Key West, but will add a bit too room noise. The balconies are small, and some of the corners look into other rooms, because it is a U shape in places.

Everyone at hotel was very friendly and helpful. Including the maintenance guys I walked by in the hallway, who helped me understand the expresso maker in the room.

There is a starbucks, and rest/bar's at the hotel. Also at the end of street, is a little store. hotel was a bit hard to find, so be sure you take directions/map with you. I forgot mine, but figured Key Wset is small enough, and drove around the area a little until I weaved back and forth, and found hotel. It is hidden, and the end of a street.

All in all, if you know what to expect from Key West (layed back, very casual), this may be the place to stay, if you want a liottle luxury.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zebrazeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

All these negative reviews? I don't get it. No, it isn't a Waldorf "standard" but either is the price.

We had a partial view boutique room - with an enormous balcony (about 10 x 20!) and it in fact did have a lovely view of the ocean, albeit in between buildings. But that was fine. The room was a good size, clean and comfortable. There is a nice seating area with flat screen TV - the sofa and chair were very comfortable. Also a kitchenette and a good sized bathroom with a very large walk in shower. Water pressure very good, shower amenities, standard.

The pool area is nice (the pool was plenty big when we were there - but there weren't any kids, which helped) and there is a nice private beach beyond it. Towels are provided upon request.

The resort and general area is very quiet (except for pressure washers on Sunday, which every hotel in the area were using - presumably ahead of the big Thanksgiving weekend), which was nice for a change in Key West. Yes, Mallory Square and most of the action is on the other side of the island, but it was never more than $6 to $8 buck cab ride out or back, and we never had a problem finding a cab.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay and felt we got a very good bang for our buck.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
1.2 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
2,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#11 Spa Hotel in Key West
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#18 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Key West's only private natural-sand beach, The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is an intimate, elegant destination for those seeking a casual retreat with the highest level of service. A warm sense of hospitality, gracious staff members, a beautiful shoreline and breathtaking sunshine all provide the backdrop for a memorable and romantic travel experience at our Key West hotel, just steps from Duval Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotel.de, Priceline, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing