We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun afternoon”
Review of Key West Eco Tours

Key West Eco Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$123.63*
and up
Java Cat Sail, Kayak and Snorkel Charter
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We offer a variety of options to explore and experience the natural wonders of the Florida Keys. World class birdwatching, lush mangroves, coral & sponge gardens teeming with marine life. We offer guided eco tours, downwind kayak trails(easy paddling),paddleboard and kayak rentals, an all inclusive sail, kayak, snorkel charter, and evening sails. Key West's Best Eco-Experience Only in Key West can you experience a unique tropical ecosystem where marine life thrives in clear, calm, shallow waters. Key West Eco Tour’s experienced, friendly captains and nature guides introduce you to the pristine protected areas of the Florida Keys National Marine Sanctuary and Key West’s National Wildlife Refuge. Go on a journey into the Florida Key’s nursery for colorful fish, coral and sponge gardens, dense mangrove islands, and abundant birds.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Napa, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“fun afternoon”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We enjoyed our afternoon trip to kayak and snorkel near Mule Key. It was relaxing and reasonably priced for the amount of time on the expedition. I would recommend it. The group was limited to 6 people which made it very quiet and personalized. The other people in our group had children who also were able to do the activities and have fun.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Napa_neighbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    677
    56
    7
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sunset Charter”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We booked a sunset charter as part of our Florida Keys vacation. We prefer not to share our experiences with 100 people that we do not know, and we found that Java Cat Charters offers a private charter for up to 6 people at a reasonable price.

Lisa was an amazing captain. She was friendly and professional and very knowledgeable about the history of Key West and the surrounding area.

We will definitely do this again during our next Key West adventure.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
1 review
“Best activity in Key West”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

By far this was the best thing we did while in Key West. We did the three in one tour, sail, kayak, snorkel. Our guide was awesome, super knowledgeable about the local wild life. He found a horseshoe crab in the wild and showed it to us while we were kayaking. We also saw sharks and tons of fish, coral, sponges and a sting ray while we snorkeled. One of the only tours that takes out small groups which was so great! Highly recommend, loved every minute.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Buzzma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic afternoon!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We really enjoyed our trip with Lisa on the kayak, snorkel, sail (all in one). She is an engaging, delightful woman, who knows so much about the birds and fish around the island. I went with my fiancée and his 11 year old daughter (I selected we were a family with a teen because a preteen is more like a teen then the other option, young child). The sail was relaxing and we felt like we were the only ones in the ocean during the kayak and the snorkel portions. The water wasn't as clear as when we were snorkeling in key largo, but i still saw some neat fish. The best part of the experience, in my and my fiancée's opinion was the small group size: guaranteed no larger than six plus the captain, and we only had one other couple with us so it was even smaller. Our daughter's favorite part of the whole trip to the keys was kayaking with Lisa!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jratner629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avignon, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“excellent tour”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The tour starts on a catamaran with only a few people up to five to the islands close to the coast where you go snorkeling and kayaking. A small lunch and beverages are available during the trip. The visit is very pleasant and the guide very interesting. We saw ;any different species of bird and fish. The mangroves specificities were explained to us to have a better understanding of the environment. I highly recommend it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Olivia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Key West Eco Tours also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Key West Eco Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing