We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the Marriott I would recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Key West Waterfront
Ranked #44 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Lenexa, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not the Marriott I would recommend”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Big black ants in the "food prep" area, you know were the coffee pot and microwave are. Nice. And when I called the front desk, the first person apologized and assured me housekeeping would take care of it the next day. The phone rang back and I was informed that after all I was in south Florida and he wanted to know if they should take care of the problem now, I declined due to the fact that we were in the room for the evening and did not want to deal with the chemicals or people, I told him that the housekeeping offer to remedy the next day would be fine. The next evening when we returned to the room, it was sort of cleaned, beds made and new towels, but the ants we still running around and the few we smashed on the floor we still there, no one sweep the floor or vacuumed them up. I did not complain a second time, since we were leaving for another hotel the next morning and I also didn't feel like dealing with a flip front desk person again.
Smelled like a Lysol factory.
The night bartender was not very pleasant, but the day bartender was great!
The pool was dirty, the tiles had black scum on them and the pool floor needed a vacuum.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardMgmtKW, Manager at Courtyard Key West Waterfront, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We do apologize you had ants in your room! This is the first we've heard of any kind of ant problem on the property - but assure you we will let our pest control company know. As for the bartender, please email us to let us know who it is. We try and only hire friendly bartenders and would like the opportunity to speak with this person.

We hope you will stay with us again and allow us to provide an opportunity to make your experience more enjoyable.

Thanks,
MCKW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    167
    96
    47
    34
See reviews for
183
202
17
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Great location - if you can get past traffic on Roosevelt - thank goodness property is at intersection with a semaphore.

Hotel was good except for the filthy carpets. The carpets left our socks and feet filthy. Marriott needs to clean carpets - especially for the amount of monies we paid for room. This was somewhat disappointing for a Marriott. :(

The back dock was a nice added touch. We saw sharks, crabs, tarpon, and many horse crabs.

Room Tip: Check prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuJuT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laytonsville MD
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Bad room on 2nd floor with no elevator, noise from major highway (the busiest in Key West) with traffic all night long and construction all day. No food available, small tight rooms and stressed staff. The only smiles came from the bartender. Noise from the adjacent room finally quieted down a bit after we pounded on the wall! Up and down a long flight of metal stairs for a couple of seniors didn't add to the enjoyment. The desk personnel seemed dreadfully anxious to just be rid of us.

The hotel does provide a shuttle bus to the downtown area of Key West. That's the nicest part of the whole hotel.

Waterfront? It fronts on a cesspool which smells like low tide and is full of algae, enough room for 6 beach lounges and power lines.

We were registered for 4 nights and left after only 2. Those "top drawer" reviewers must be related to the management. It is one noisy, inconvenient mess of a place. If this is the future of Marriott's new management it may be a downhill slide. Ugh.

Room Tip: If you want to experience Key West, select a more conveniently located facility. Road construction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HalsPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardMgmtKW, Manager at Courtyard Key West Waterfront, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your review of our property, we are very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Our property is located on the north side of town away from downtown and is also located in the part of town that the city has decided to improve for traffic purposes, this does cause some noise from time to time. We are excited to have the improvements and look forward to them being completed. The good news is they won't last forever.

We are happy you enjoyed the free shuttle. Our waterfront property is located on the bay side, making it the perfect place for quiet relaxation on our Private Bay Beach, not necessarily perfect for taking a dip - however we do have a great pool for that! Typically we've had plenty of room for people to lay out there, we can always add chairs if there isn't enough.

Our management does not post reviews, they are posted from our happy customers who enjoy their stay. We hope you will stay with us again after the construction is complete! Please contact our GM for a 15% discount on your next stay, mention this review.

Thank you for your business!

Marriott Courtyard Key West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
150 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

If you want to stumble home from the bars, this is not the hotel for you. It is a long walk to Duvall or a short taxi ride. Thankfully, the Courtyard has a reliable, complimentary shuttle that heads down to Duvall Street every 30 minutes. The Courtyard has been renovated. The bedroom area was nice (flat screen tv, lots of plugs, larger in size, inroom coffee/tea maker), however, it didn't look like too much was renovated in room in terms of the bathroom. The sink didn't drain. The shower was tricky to work and I experienced problems with alternating hot vs scalding hot water. Our room faced the pool as well as the highway. I am a light sleeper- I quickly discovered that the rooms were not soundproof. I could hear noise from the highway all night long. Wifi was free which was nice. The pool was clean and a decent size. It was heated and there was also a hot tub. There is a tiki bar near the pool- elite members got happy hour prices all day. Across the street from the Courtyard is a grocery store and several fast food restaurants. Parking is free. I'd stay here again- although not an ideal location, it was not bad (at least by Key West standards).

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhaganmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardMgmtKW, Manager at Courtyard Key West Waterfront, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for the review! We appreciate your business and your feedback. We do apologize about your issues with the shower and the sink. We hope you will stay with us again soon. When traveling next time please let us know ahead of time, by contacting Anne our GM at anne.perina@marriott.com. We want to make sure you have a wonderful stay.

Thanks!
Marriott Courtyard Key West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlestonwv
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Such an excellent hotel. Prompt shuttle to duval st. Every half hour. Large rooms. Great views of tropical woods around pool or of ocean out back. Very clean. Newly remodeled. Modern. Great beds. Interesting lobby exhibit of old photos of key west. Really friendly helpful staff who offer help beyond the usual courtyard fare. Heated pool was great in Jan. cross the road to good Italian restaurant and grocery and pharmacy saves money.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank anniepop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Ok I booked online because it was a marriott figured I was safe.....wrong!. I just checked in and immediately noticed the air freshener or carpet fresh...whatever they are masking the smell with. I cant get the smell out of my nose..looks like they gave the place a half assed makeover, but not working....they put more into the lobby then the rooms...I originally booked 2 nites..however, checking out tomorrow to find a decent hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardMgmtKW, Manager at Courtyard Key West Waterfront, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
We are super sorry you don't like the smell of the air freshener we use. All of our rooms have recently been remodeled including the front entry way. We could have moved you to another room. We hope you will give us another try in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
335 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

My husband and I went to Key West to celebrate New Year's. We stayed at the Marriott with points; otherwise it would have cost $529/night. Pros: free shuttle to the historical/downtown area, helpful front end staff, room was spacious and clean, plenty of towels, small gym, plenty of free parking. Cons: safe didn't work, no breakfast. Our room (122) in the back was quiet and had a sliding glass door with a small patio with two chairs and a small table. Just a few steps beyond that (across a driveway) was a deck area that cantilevered over the ocean. There was patio furniture there and we drank coffee there in the morning.
Ask for an outside room in the back.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardMgmtKW, Manager at Courtyard Key West Waterfront, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you letting others know how your stay was. The back rooms are much quieter and the view of the water is amazing. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you will be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#34 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#40 of 51 in Key West
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,311 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Key West Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Key West Waterfront

Property: Courtyard Key West Waterfront
Address: 3031 N Roosevelt Blvd # 41, Key West, FL 33040-4015
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Key West Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Key West hotel located on the Gulf of Mexico in the "New Town" section of Key West. Located within a 10 minute drive of any attraction on the island. We feature spacious guest rooms, including suites with a variety of room configurations including in-room Jacuzzis. Every room has free hi-speed internet access, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, coffee maker, cable TV and refrigerators. A Tiki Bar is located adjacent to our large outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi or feel free to tan on our private sunbathing beach located behind our hotel. Join us in our Bistro featuring Starbucks and a wide range of breakfast items. Our Complimentary downtown shuttle service will drop you off and pick you up in the historic seaport; walking distance from Duval Street. Be sure to talk our our onsite concierge agent who can assist you with the many activities and history enriched attractions the island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Key West Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Key West Waterfront Hotel Key West
Key West Marriott
Key West Courtyard
Courtyard Key West Waterfront Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing