We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice motel -lived up to the other reviews”
Review of Blue Marlin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Marlin Motel
Ranked #34 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort oglethorpe Ga
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nice motel -lived up to the other reviews”
Reviewed 8 June 2011

I booked this motel because of all the good reviews. I am glad I did. Very clean .Staff very nice. breakfast was limited ( sweets, toast, fruit) so we stopped at a groc. store and picked up milk and cereal.Cereal works real good in a coffee cup. The microwave and the fridge are a real plus for this motel.It was very quite and the motel was booked heavy. I would stay there again. Very good vacation.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    549
    185
    38
    23
See reviews for
345
462
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We arrived at the Blue Marlin Motel at 7am, after driving for over 8 hours. I went to the front desk hoping that we would be able to check in (but not holding my breath) and was pleasantly surprised to be told that our room was ready and we could check in right away!

The room was very large and clean. There were two double beds but a third one could have very easily fit in even with all of the other furniture in the room. Our room had a little kitchenette, with sink, mini fridge and microwave.

The pool area was nice, the lounge chairs were always tidy as were the chairs, and the pool was always clean.

Overall, I would stay at the Blue Marlin every time! It wasn't what I was expecting at all, it was so much better! Don't let the home made website fool you, this motel is a gem. :)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shorty808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Great location and relatively quiet. They have given the exterior of this 50's motel a funky makeover. Pool is good and generally quiet. Rooms are basic but bed was comfy.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wazngret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Good value motel, convenient for dive shops (by car, about 1 mile) shops, bars, restaurants etc. Easy to walk the length of Duval to the Sunset celebration.

The parking lot is 'compact' but we had no problem parking outside our room. Free parking is useful in Key West where parking can be relatively expensive. Bear in mind Key West rates when booking - it's one of the more expensive cities in Florida.

Check in was quick and professional. Room was spacious and clean with tiled floor. Bathroom was roomy and worked well. Breakfast was fine and they let you 'grab and go' My wife used the pool which is in the middle of the parking area but raised up which offers privacy, with plenty of room for sunbathing,

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g0akc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dBranham, General Manager at Blue Marlin Motel, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Thank you! We appreciate your business and we hope that you return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Britain, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2011

The staff at the Blue Marlin is very friendly and professional. We especially like Marqus who is extremely helpful and our "sunshine" :) who always greets us with a warm smile and friendly conversation. He is the reason we go back every year and why it feels like a home away from home. See you again this year!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

This is a great location. The staff needs to be more positive and helpful to improve customer service.

It has a great Roger Hazzard feel of deco....but the staff isn't sure what to do beyond that direction. I half wanted Lucy to come out and say that she and Ethel designed the place and that Fred was doing the maintainace.....I wish this place would make the commitmentment and just go with 1950's retro. Would be so much nicer than the "Golden Girls" motif from the late 1980's/ Great parkinging if needed

Room Tip: I would search a bit harder for a place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

One block off Duval street..Two blocks from southernmost point..Just a quite and clean place to stay but still close enough to all the action.Had the pool most of the time to ourself.even though the hotel was booked..Very friendly staff,will stay here again,and I hope it's soon....

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izzyHemlockMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 77 in Key West
1,063 reviews
0.0 mi away
Southwinds Motel
Southwinds Motel
#22 of 51 in Key West
749 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hibiscus Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Point Guest House
0.1 mi away
The Southernmost Inn
The Southernmost Inn
#29 of 77 in Key West
960 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Patio Motel
El Patio Motel
#63 of 77 in Key West
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Marlin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marlin Motel

Property: Blue Marlin Motel
Address: 1320 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-3114
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Marlin Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motel located 1 block from town center & 3 blocks from ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Blue Marlin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Marlin Hotel Key West
Blue Marlin Motel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing