We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean and safe”
Review of Blue Marlin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Marlin Motel
Ranked #34 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice, clean and safe”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Very clean big room. Staff was nice and courteous.
Do not expect breakfast. An ok coffee or tea 24 hours at the lobby. One block from Duval St and near to the southernmost point. A very nice stay.
Plenty of parking. Nice hot shower.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dBranham, General Manager at Blue Marlin Motel, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Great to know you had a good time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    557
    187
    38
    23
See reviews for
356
464
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, England
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Although we arrived fairly late in the day, we were able to park almost outside our room. The room was large with an enormous bed, a fridge and seating area. The bathroom had both bath and over-bath shower with toiletries supplied. The room was clean and quiet. We used the pool which was warm with plenty of sunbeds around it. We thought the location (fairly near Southernmost Point) was convenient for everything - for the four days we were there, we never used the car. All of the staff that we spoke to were very friendly and helpful. No hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dBranham, General Manager at Blue Marlin Motel, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you! We are so happy that you had a great visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Our family (7 of us including an 11 year old granddaughter) stayed here for two nights in early April. We loved the 3 rooms we had, which were large, spotlessly clean, with microwave (including free popcorn), coffee maker, plenty of clean towels and toiletries. We had two very comfortable double beds in each room with good pillows. Air con was good. No complaints at all with the rooms. Coffee was available all day in the downstairs foyer, and the breakfasts were good, with fresh fruits, toasts, fruit bread, muffins etc. The swimming pool was great, and we'd have been in it a lot longer if there hadn't been a thunderstorm and lightening the day we arrived. We loved Key West, and especially Duval Street with its many shops, pubs, restaurants etc. Key Lime pie was fabulous and there are some good steakhouses. We would definitely recommend the Blue Marlin and Key West and would go back there.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the second floor overlooking the swimming pool which I imagine would be better and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silveryfox58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel on Sat. for Memorial Day weekend. The room looked small but it looked clean. We did notice a dead cockroach in the room. That's not the worst part when we came back to our room We fell asleep and then I got up to put the air colder and then I turned on the light and I noticed the bed covered in bed bugs. I freaked out, I felt so disgusted. My only thought was what if I hadn't gotten up we would've been covered with those things. It was midnight and all the hotels were sold out since it was memorial day but the manager did find us a room if not we would have been stranded.We got a refund on the room. But we got still got charged the $630 for both night even though they said we wouldn't get charged. We spoke to the bank and they put a temp. refund. We got offered a champagne for the inconvenience but we never got it. The good thing about all this was for $30 more we stayed at the Casa Marina. That hotel is gorgeous!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank ada q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dBranham, General Manager at Blue Marlin Motel, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
First and foremost, we apologize. The bugs mentioned were not bed bugs as bed bugs do not have wings. The bugs were from the trees outside of the room. It is disturbing to find bugs and we are truly sorry but unfortunately sometimes bugs do fly into the rooms - in all properties in Key West. We are glad that you were happy with the new property. We are sorry you had to leave us but we are glad that your visit to Key West turned out okay. Thanks for posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Fist of all I would like to say that we have been staying here for all of out 10 visits to Key West. We LOVE Marcus at the front desk.... he is the highlight of this motel!

This year we arrived after our last visit in 2010. I don't think they have done ANYTHING since we left. We arrived to wet sticky carpets in our room, little bugs all over and an increased amount of young rowdy moped driving guests. The bath taps we coming off the wall, the room smelled musty and damp, the furniture was banged up, the was obvious damage and poor patchwork on the walls and ceiling. Not good.

I have heard that there is new management since the last time we came. I don't know what they are doing/not doing but it is not a change for the better. And they increased the rates!!!!

I will not be returning.... Ever! There are plenty of other options in KW for the same rates that are way better.... Or just pay a bit more and you won't have to worry if those little bugs are in your bed too!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dBranham, General Manager at Blue Marlin Motel, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
We apologize. This guest was obviously unhappy with the stay and we are sorry for that. Marqus in particular was sad that he could not help this guest during their special time. All we can say is, please, when you are unhappy for any reason tell the property. We are all here to provide our guests with the best possible stay and we want to know when we have failed to meet expectations. We sometimes make mistakes and we sometimes have problems. But we want to address them and fix them and make our guest's stay enjoyable. Please don't stay somewhere for 5 days and be miserable! Let us help you! And if for some reason we can't, let us find you a property that will meet your needs. Any property would want the opportunity to address the issues while you are there. Give us the chance to make your stay outstanding. You won't be disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The price is great by Key West standards which translates as outrageous anywhere else. There are less parking spaces than rooms so grab a spot and don't move. Driving and parking in Key West isn't worth the trouble anyway. The room was nice which you would never believe as you drive up. Breakfast is garbage except for coffee. We ate breakfast at Banana Cafe and Camille's both of which were good but not cheap. Key West is a great place to visit if you don't mind walking although late April is just too hot.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albuquerque_NMGeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dBranham, General Manager at Blue Marlin Motel, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thanks for posting. We appreciate your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed in family room here. Cleaned daily. Washed clothes etc in facilities on site. Nice pool. Very close to Southernmost point and Duval Street. Would stay again. Staff very friendly and helpful suggested restaurants and bike hire options

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chris_doyle80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dBranham, General Manager at Blue Marlin Motel, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Southwinds Motel
Southwinds Motel
#23 of 51 in Key West
774 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 77 in Key West
1,073 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hibiscus Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Point Guest House
0.2 mi away
Alexander Palms Court
Alexander Palms Court
#36 of 77 in Key West
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Speakeasy Inn
Speakeasy Inn
#7 of 77 in Key West
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Marlin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marlin Motel

Property: Blue Marlin Motel
Address: 1320 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-3114
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Marlin Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motel located 1 block from town center & 3 blocks from ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blue Marlin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Marlin Hotel Key West
Blue Marlin Motel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing