We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice for cheap Key West Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Marlin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Marlin Motel
Ranked #34 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lampertheim
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good choice for cheap Key West Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We chose Blue Marlin for the cheapest Rates on Key West. The Hotel was clean and had a nice clean smell when entering the room. The people at Check In where really nice and helpful. Even though we didn’t use the pool, it looked really clean. We would recommend it anytime. Great Low Budget accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marius91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dBranham, General Manager at Blue Marlin Motel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    522
    184
    37
    22
See reviews for
330
448
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lanskroun, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed in this motel at 26th-29th aug 2013 (a family, but of a 6 adults - 3 couples). The rooms are clean, the wi-fi is working ok, the swimming pool is really huge for a motel of this price range, and on one side a true 6' which feels good after so many places with kids pools. Plus, if you are not being noisy, you can stay in there for as long as you want, even during the night!

All the bathroom stuff - soap, lotion, shampoo has a distinctive Key West lime scent, too! ;-)

Breakfast could be a bit better - I'm not exactly a fan of sweet breakfasts, a few sausages, slices of ham, or something like that would do no harm.

The staff was helpfull, both during the day and the evening. We were a bit late with checking out, yet nobody is rushing you out.

Location is a bit tricky - on the map it does look like the beach is right around the corner, which is not completely true. The "fun part" of the island, with bars and shops is within walking distance, though. Definitely would come back, thank you for a pleasant stay in Key West!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZdenkaScully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culebra, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel in Key West and would definitely go back if we're in Key West. The room was VERY spacious and we had two queen beds, refrigerator, coffee maker and a clean bathroom.

The furniture is a bit dated but in good condition. The swimming pool is a great selling point for this Motel and it is very clean (and stays open until late). Our bed was a little bit uncomfortable, but, we were able to sleep well. The Motel offers free continental breakfast at the office at the entrance. The coffee was very good and strong.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcos F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

I stayed only one night and was generally pleased. The room was spacious, very clean with exceptionally comfortable beds. Excellent air conditioning as someone from the Northwest could die in this climate !! The room did however, have a bit of an acrid, stale odor as if someone had violated the no smoking policy in the distant past and that odor is very hard to get out!! It was not strong enough to cause me any distress, I am just extremely sensitive to odors. Staff was pleasant and the pool was nice. Generally easy on the eye, this is just a somewhat older motel. I guess the price is reasonable for Key West where everything is very expensive. Breakfast was good , just grab it in the lobby, no place to sit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collonges-au-Mont-d'Or, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

I stayed two nights at the Blue Marlin Hotel in July 2013. This hotel is ideally placed for visiting Key West, close to Duvall street, the main street of the island. The hotel (motel) is correct, pool and rooms with standard quality. Apart from the noisy air conditioning, no major complaint about the accommodation. The breakfast provided is symbolic with two options: eat standing in the lobby or make several trips to take to your room. And beware of late: I arrived at 9:02 for a deadline set at 9 am, everything was packed and the young woman at the reception service shows you the clock to indicate that the time is up ! Do not go asking for something, about the wifi, for example, people in the lobby did not even look up when you talk to them and certainly do not try to help you. I have never worked with the rudest people and unfriendly. The hospitality and smile are two essential things when working in the hospitality industry, I believe that the employees of Blue Marlin got the wrong job.
Given the location of the hotel and housing demand in Key West, they think fill sure the hotel : it is a short-term goal that could change!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loiloi02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dBranham, General Manager at Blue Marlin Motel, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Please accept our apologies. Poor guest service is unacceptable and we do not tolerate it. Thank you for letting us know about it so that we can address it immediately. We are sorry that we failed to exceed expectations. We are working on improving our breakfast and we will definitely get our guest service back on track. Thanks for posting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Wasn't sure about this place but called made a reservation was looking for something in walking distance to the action. This Motel is nicely remodeled inside and is one block from the famous Duval street. And it's one block from the Southern most point and the southern most public beach. It had two queen beds and a large flat screen TV I loved the two vanity sinks. One was located in the bathroom and one outside the bathroom. So you can put your make up on and dry your hair while the other showers. Was a welcome surprise continental breakfast could use a little work not the greatest. But the value and location makes it worth the stay. Enjoyed my stay.......

Room Tip: Great rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dBranham, General Manager at Blue Marlin Motel, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank you for posting! We appreciate your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and were very happy with our stay.
A family of four in a spacious large room with 2 queen sized beds.

The room was very clean with a safe, air conditioning, microwave, fridge, Iron, ironing board, etc. everything a family needs for a few days.

There was even a separate sink / dresser area for getting ready while the bathroom was in use. This was a nice touch and made getting ready in the evenings a pleasant experience where usually a family of four fights over the bathroom.

There were a couple of problems - the bathroom door would stick shut sometimes and the motel room carpet could do with been replaced. Also the wifi would drop out quite often but is free so cannot complain too much. Other than that the room was excellent for the price.

The location is perfect as it is a couple of minutes from a beach and 2 mins from Duval street which is a must for restaraunts and shops.

Parking is excellent and the staff are friendly. The pool is open till midnight and it is a quiet place to stay even though Duval street is one street over there is no noise at all.

You also get a continental breakfast included of coffee, juice, toast, muffins, etc. It was all very tasty and the only downside is having to carry it back to your rooms. This is a small issue though as it is not cheap to have breakfast elsewhere in key west. The breakfast fed my family of four more than adequately for the day as we headed to Fort Zachery Beach. A must place to visit if you like idyllic views and swimming with fish, etc.

A quiet clean place to stay in an ideal location an reasonably priced.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clandunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dBranham, General Manager at Blue Marlin Motel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.8 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#6 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#41 of 51 in Key West
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Southwinds Motel
Southwinds Motel
#18 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Patio Motel
El Patio Motel
#62 of 77 in Key West
3.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Marlin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marlin Motel

Property: Blue Marlin Motel
Address: 1320 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-3114
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Marlin Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motel located 1 block from town center & 3 blocks from ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Marlin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Marlin Hotel Key West
Blue Marlin Motel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing