We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We cancelled our reservation”
Review of Blue Marlin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Marlin Motel
Ranked #32 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We've stayed in Key West before at expensive resorts, so we were looking for someplace to save a little money. We knew we'd give up some amenities, but didn't want to compromise on location (we wanted to stay near Duval).

I hope I can express this accurately: this hotel isn't awful, it just isn't for us. We are accustomed to a certain level of luxury and feel that we work too hard through the year to stay in a less-than-stellar room. We stayed one night and then upgraded to one of those expensive resorts. In hindsight, we should've known better. We've traveled enough to know you get what you pay for.

If you're thinking, "I just need a place to sleep because who spends time in their hotel room anyway?" then Blue Marlin might be a good fit for you. The location is good and it felt safe enough. But if you want any luxury at all, stay somewhere else. Just depends on where your priorities are.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank mj m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dBranham, General Manager at Blue Marlin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thanks for posting your feelings. We understand that we are not the Waldorf Astoria or the Ritz or even the Marriott. Our small property is a MOTEL - it is in our name. Our guests are those that want a clean, comfortable room at a reasonable price. Then they can spend their money on the various activities and events on the island. We are in Old Town Key West so you can walk to everything. Our free parking is a bonus on an island that has limited parking anywhere and most of the luxury resorts charge to park. We also have free Wireless - almost unheard of in bigger resorts. It is true, if you want to pay more for a room there are definitely HOTELS in Key West that will be happy to take your money. If you want a large clean room, free parking, and a small free breakfast, come see us. Our rates are great and that money you save can be used to enjoy our island. True, think about it.......how much time will you spend in the room when there is so much going on outside all the time! Thanks to all of our Trip Advisor friends for posting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

Just back from Florida touring ,stayed at Blue Marlin, good location to walk around Key West, staff really nice ,room really clean ,free parking which is a big bonus in Key West,great pool ,would stay again next time im in the Keys, all i can say is check it out yourself to see im right .

Room Tip: Dont think it matters ,they seem all good .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank razUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

2 night stay. Really friendly front desk staff and quick check in. Room absolutely fine, clean and well furnished. Just one block off Duval near the Southernmost Point. Good sized Pool in the centre of the complex with plenty of chairs/loungers. Perfectly adequate for a couple of nights & I wouldn't hesitate to stop here again. Probably one of the most reasonably priced places to stay in Key West.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papah76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dBranham, General Manager at Blue Marlin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thanks for posting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Was lucky to get the last room due to a cancellation, there were even friends of mine staying at the blue marlin. Being a retired Hotel Manager/Owner my eyes automatically inspect the whole hotel. Have to say I was impressed, everything was clean, room spotless, same as pool area and parking lot, and the staff very customer service oriented and very helpful, specially Natalie @ the front desk, had a better night at the Blue Marlin, than we had last year at the Hyatt

Room Tip: great location, great service, clean comfortable room, good price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank renenunez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Great location near the southern most point, and only blocks from Duval Street. Even the swimming pool has been updated. The rooms are clean and comfortable for those on a limited budget, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vhu396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We chose Blue Marlin for the cheapest Rates on Key West. The Hotel was clean and had a nice clean smell when entering the room. The people at Check In where really nice and helpful. Even though we didn’t use the pool, it looked really clean. We would recommend it anytime. Great Low Budget accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marius91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dBranham, General Manager at Blue Marlin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed in this motel at 26th-29th aug 2013 (a family, but of a 6 adults - 3 couples). The rooms are clean, the wi-fi is working ok, the swimming pool is really huge for a motel of this price range, and on one side a true 6' which feels good after so many places with kids pools. Plus, if you are not being noisy, you can stay in there for as long as you want, even during the night!

All the bathroom stuff - soap, lotion, shampoo has a distinctive Key West lime scent, too! ;-)

Breakfast could be a bit better - I'm not exactly a fan of sweet breakfasts, a few sausages, slices of ham, or something like that would do no harm.

The staff was helpfull, both during the day and the evening. We were a bit late with checking out, yet nobody is rushing you out.

Location is a bit tricky - on the map it does look like the beach is right around the corner, which is not completely true. The "fun part" of the island, with bars and shops is within walking distance, though. Definitely would come back, thank you for a pleasant stay in Key West!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZdenkaScully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#18 of 51 in Key West
1,367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Truman Hotel
Truman Hotel
#21 of 77 in Key West
1,095 reviews
0 mi away
Best Western Hibiscus Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Southwinds Motel
Southwinds Motel
#22 of 51 in Key West
827 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Southernmost Inn
The Southernmost Inn
#26 of 77 in Key West
1,017 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 77 in Key West
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Marlin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marlin Motel

Address: 1320 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-3114
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: £106 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Marlin Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motel located 1 block from town center & 3 blocks from ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Marlin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Marlin Hotel Key West
Blue Marlin Motel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing