We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing place to stay..”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Marlin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Marlin Motel
Ranked #34 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
INDIANA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing place to stay..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2008

My wife and 17yr old daughter and I stayed here the 28th and 29th of july 2008,the room was clean and spacious,
the staff was polite,the pool is big ,duvall st is the next block over and the quiet end,the southern most marker is two blocks over, and a small south beach is down the end of duvall,
Not to far of a walk to the other end of duvall st. to see mallory square and sunset then do the Duvall Crawl back, had a great time. Rob and Tracey LaPorte INDIANA

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank IndianaBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    531
    185
    37
    23
See reviews for
335
450
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2008

The Blue Marlin was a nice little motel for the price (around $105 a night). The room was a little older, but it was spacious and clean and had a newer TV; parking is free, and the air conditioner worked well. The pool is in the center of the parking lot, but was clean and well kept (not too much shade though). The motel is one block from Duval but near the Southernmost Point ( about a mile away from Mallory Square), so the area was quiet but not too quiet.

The beds were unusually noisy when sitting on them, but they were comfortable. We didn't notice any odd smells (mentioned by some other reviewer). The front desk clerk who checked us in and out was friendly and helpful.

For the price, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — good deal for the price
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank extraextra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2008

We got this motel from a coupon book. We were only $109 per night which was quite reasonable for Key West.
It is in a great location - really near Duvall Street.
The rooms are clean - I didnt notice any sort of smell - and comfortable.
The cleaners came quite late - probably after 3pm but we were at the pool anyway.
The pool is right in the centre of the car park and is not very private - however, it was not that busy and you didnt seem to notice that when you were actually sitting there.
Front desk staff were really nice and helpful - didnt do the free breakfast but to be honest - there was no space for it and its right in reception - not that appealing!
Would def. stay here again for the value and location.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dundee34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2008

The Blue Marlin Motel was a pleasant surprise, just like a great blind date. We arrived in the afternoon to an easy check in, and very clean room.

First of all, the place is clean. I don't know what the Scotland guy was talking about, because Florida is HUMID, and so is the island! There was no smell whatsoever during our stay. In fact, there were maintenance people cleaning the pool, the tables, the chairs, the sidewalks, the windows early in the morning.
Our room was large, and the bathroom was very large and accomodating.

A plus to this place is the continental breakfast they provide. You get coffee, juices, bagels, toast, fruit - just enough to break the hunger and get you going.

We had FREE parking, something you need to consider when booking a room. Lots of Key West hotels/motels charge to park your car, so beware of that.

I paid around $95 with tax per night, Sunday to Wednesday. It was the Right Place, Right Price for me and my hubby.

  • Liked — The cleanliness and the price
  • Disliked — Walking upstairs to my room with suitcases
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debster55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2008

Sayed here for 1 night (thank god it was only one night) as part of a trip to Miami and Florida Keys. Booked the hotel based on the positive trip advisor reviews. Cannot believe the positive reviews now having actually stayed there myself!! On arrival, check-in was very unfriendly and oh my god - the smell of mildew or dampness in the reception area was disgusting. The guy that checked us in was very disinterested and acted like we were one of 1000 people he had checked in and said the same stuff over and over again to that day. No smile, thanks, enjoy your stay - or anything like that. It was the first time on our trip to the states that we experienced bad service. The room was large, but very old fashioned and it absolutely stunk to the high heavens of mildew. Not to mention the fresh urine stain on the toilet seat when we arrived. Had we not had just driven 180 miles, we would have definitely demanded a refund and gone looking elsewhere - even if it had cost double. We went out at night and stayed out as long as possible to avoid having to go back to the smelly room. I even woke up through the night with the smell in the room and couldn't get back to sleep for trying to hold my breath! I would definitely not recommend this place to anyone - you'd be better camping or sleeping in your car. The pool is right in the middle of a busy car park so forget about any idyllic dreams of lounging around a beautiful pool all afternoon, unless you don’t mind being in a goldfish bowl surrounded by cars and people coming and going. We checked out without having breakfast as the breakfast seemed to be served in the reception area, which was stinking - regardless, we couldn't get out of the place quick enough.

  • Liked — Location - close to duval street, the main drag, if that interests you
  • Disliked — Disgusting room and unfriendly service
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VarScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairport NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2008

This motel was one of the best places I have stayed in a long time. We were in Key West after planning a trip for a week at another resort on another key. When we arrived at that resort we were extremly disappointed with that resort, we canceled the reservation for the week. We happened to stay at the Blue Marlin a few nights before and called and asked if we could get two rooms for the entire week, not a problem. The rooms are spacious extremly clean and the folks working there are friendly and are there to please. I would highly recommend this motel. Its located a block from Duval and on the quite side of town. The beaches are close by (within walking or biking distance),but they have a great pool and poolside. Its a perfect Key West place to stay. We stayed the entire week there, with another family. We had 2 teenage girls and they really enjoyed the motel and the location. I would highly recommend The Blue Marlin if you plan on staying in Key West!!

  • Liked — Friendly and very clean spacious rooms, great location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank triyogi47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2008

This was our second time here, and am glad that nothing has changed! Rooms are large and clean, staff is extremely friendly. Pool is nice, we just park here and walk everywhere - being one block off Duval is perfect. 1/2 block down from here is Anna's market and the breakfast there is a habit. Good food on the porch with cuban coffee is the only way for us to start a day. This place is considered our KW home.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank gordapeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.8 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#7 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#40 of 51 in Key West
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Southwinds Motel
Southwinds Motel
#22 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Patio Motel
El Patio Motel
#63 of 77 in Key West
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Marlin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marlin Motel

Property: Blue Marlin Motel
Address: 1320 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-3114
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Marlin Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motel located 1 block from town center & 3 blocks from ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Blue Marlin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Marlin Hotel Key West
Blue Marlin Motel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing