We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Blue Marlin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Marlin Motel
Ranked #33 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Location was perfect to be able to walk into town and access to Duval St. Free parking too! Breakfast was minimal but perfectly adequate, toast, butter, preserves, fresh fruit, pastries, tea, coffee, juices. Trays available to be able to take food back to your room or simply sit at the ables by the pool. Our room had two double beds, plenty of room, large flat screen tv. Fridge shelves were a bit rusty but other than that it was clean and functional. Coffee maker in room But can be used to heat water for tea too. Bathroom was extremely clean and a reasonable size, shower amazing, great water pressure and hot water. Towels changed daily and they were extremely generous with towels in the room. Free towels for the pool too, collect from reception daily. Good aircon, look like new units. There was free wifi but it was extremely flakey, reception very helpful but couldn't give a reason other than our room was too far away. Bit disappointing so if you need to keep in touch make sure your room is near the server.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkFlossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dBranham, General Manager at Blue Marlin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

We chose the Blue Marlin for the low cost and the fact it is walking distance to the fun. The room was down right tiny, but that's all we wanted. Very clean, nice pool, breakfast was minimal. The location, ease of parking, and old, unique style made our stay very nice. I would go again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Devin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dBranham, General Manager at Blue Marlin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you! You must have booked one of our small rooms in the back.. They are small but who stays in the room in Key West? Get the small room, pay less, and you have more to spend around town. Good plan!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We looked for a nice place to stay near Duval st, but wanted to be a little away from the craziness. This motel fit the bill, the room is clean with white bed linens so you can see they are clean. We are happy with this no frills motel and would if we came back to key west.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Polar_Caver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Loved the location, rooms were clean and adequate. Internet was ok, not great. Pool was nice. I loved the retro feel of the motel. Parking gets tough for large vehicles. Just what we needed for a decent price. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed at this motel a few days ago and we had an issue with some water coming down from the ceiling all the way down through the wall where the hair dryer and some outlets are. This happened when the people from the room upstairs were taking a shower. We were in room 109. Since this issue happened late at night, I reported it first thing the following morning. We were offered a 10% discount only for the inconvenience and were told to call the manager later. I just did and she said the maintenance crew didn't find any issue or trace of it. Well, it was water so I'm not surprised there was no trace of it; but the issue is there. The smell in the room was pretty obvious as well so this was already a bad sign when we checked in. They still deny the issue. The manager offered an additional 10% discount but I'm still not happy. With the room rates they have, issues like this shouldn't arise.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blacksuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Well placed motel for key west sights. Clean. Pool quiet. Very disappointed with internet connection. Complimentary breakfast basic. Asked at reception but not helpful. This is a vital facility now to keep touch with home.

Room Tip: Rooms at back have little or no internet connection
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derekeaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Considering the astronomical hotel prices in Key West, we felt lucky to have scored a room at the Blue Marlin. It has everything you need. Comfortable room, comfortable beds, large bathroom, pool, great location. Why pay more? Staff was pretty helpful and very nice, and it has a very cool refurbed retro feel to it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dBranham, General Manager at Blue Marlin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

We appreciate your time in posting here. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hibiscus Motel
0.0 mi away
Southwinds Motel
Southwinds Motel
#23 of 51 in Key West
800 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 77 in Key West
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Speakeasy Inn
Speakeasy Inn
#8 of 77 in Key West
511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alexander Palms Court
Alexander Palms Court
#35 of 77 in Key West
456 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Southernmost Sanctuary
#15 of 22 in Key West
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Marlin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marlin Motel

Address: 1320 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-3114
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: £105 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Marlin Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motel located 1 block from town center & 3 blocks from ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blue Marlin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Marlin Hotel Key West
Blue Marlin Motel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing