We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of Blue Marlin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Marlin Motel
Ranked #35 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Skutskar, Sweden
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Big rooms, clean, nice location close to Duval and beaches.
Basic breakfast but what do you expect?
There were white and brown bread, cheese jam, , some muffins, coffee or tea, orange juice and fruits.
Pool area very nice!
Good place to stay for a few nights in the sun!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndersE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dBranham, General Manager at Blue Marlin Motel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thanks for posting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    537
    185
    37
    23
See reviews for
340
455
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Well located but a bit expensive. The welcoming was very good from the cool black guy but the other two ladies not very sympathetic. The room was clean, and the swimming pool quite big :)
Forget about the so-called breakfast, coffee and "chemical" muffin are proposed.
Overall the stay was correct. But I guess all Key west hotel/motel are overrated pricewise.
But will definitely come back to Key west anyway

Room Tip: Difficult to find a good deal in Key west, maybe better to find hotel /guesthouse outside key west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Village, Ohio
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We are just finishing up a five day stay here and it's been great. Let's be honest, if you are looking for brand new or super fancy, this is not the place for you. However if you ARE looking for a bright, clean, safe and comfortable room to crash while you nurse your island fever, this is the place for you. I came down with friends and when we are in Key West we spend 90% of our time out and about. The room we had was a good size and the bathroom was actually pretty big. The best part about this place is the big pool right in the middle. Good location, quiet and very polite staff.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jesspress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballwin, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
175 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This is an older motel but they have rehabbed it and it is much nicer than it used to be. It is very well located whaling distance to Duval Street and other fun parts of Key West. We stay at Blue Marlin every time we go to Key West! And the pool is great!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Even though the price was a little high it was the least expensive room we could find on Key West. But the room was clean, it had a very large bathroom, and the king-size bed was comfortable. It is easy walking distance to Duval Street and several attractions. The staff is very friendly.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JLCRochester_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dBranham, General Manager at Blue Marlin Motel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauderdale by the Sea, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The Blue Marlin is an older property, but, very clean and very nice, friendly staff. This was our second stay within the past year, first time in 8/13, both visits for just one night, prices were the best in town on both occasions. This time, we had a king room that overlooks the pool, with a small fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. The bed and linens were very soft and comfy. The pool is a good size, very clean, full of Spring breakers this time, but not an overly rowdy bunch, quiet at night.
The first time there, we stayed in room 231, which is in a little separate building by the pool. This room would be perfect for a longer stay, complete kitchen and more removed from other guests, if that appeals to you. One may not realize from the exterior how much fun this place is. Very cool! Complimentary parking, can walk to almost anywhere. Will return often.

Room Tip: Room 231 if you'd like more room, full kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saj1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockbridge, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

A decent place. Everything in Key West is so expensive. The man at the front desk was very nice and helpful. The room was clean and I saw no sign of any bugs. The location is superb. Very close to Duval and the Southernmost point. The room was clean.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ge0rgiatraveler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dBranham, General Manager at Blue Marlin Motel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We don't mind being the least expensive property in our area but we really are the best value....Thanks for posting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.8 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#41 of 51 in Key West
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Southwinds Motel
Southwinds Motel
#23 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Patio Motel
El Patio Motel
#63 of 77 in Key West
3.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hibiscus Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Marlin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marlin Motel

Property: Blue Marlin Motel
Address: 1320 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-3114
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Marlin Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motel located 1 block from town center & 3 blocks from ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Blue Marlin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Marlin Hotel Key West
Blue Marlin Motel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing