We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low cost and convenient”
Review of Blue Marlin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Marlin Motel
Ranked #33 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Low cost and convenient”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

The motel is clean and comfortable with a decent location - one street back from Duval Street which makes is quiet at bedtime but convenient for the nightlife. Staff are friendly and helpful. Wifi is very slow when more than a few people are on it. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting to keep the cost down or with children who may want to use the very good pool area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilTu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    541
    185
    37
    23
See reviews for
340
458
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. The price and location is great!! You are close to everything in the area either by walking or renting a bike and is in a quiet neighborhood. The rooms and grounds are clean. They have a small breakfast for everyone even though it is basic but it is enough to hold you over for a little while. Our safe in the room would not open and they quickly came to open it up. This was our 2nd time here and I would stay again. If you book early you will get the best price

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank karen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The room was really nice and comfortable and had a small fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The location was great and within walking distance of lots of attractions, bars and restaurants. Coffee and tea were available anytime in the lobby. The breakfast wasn't the greatest but there's a Denny's 2 blocks away that's open 24/7 and serves really good, cheap meals. The pool was huge and well maintained. The staff could not have been kinder or more helpful and accommodating. Will definitely be staying there again next year!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dBranham, General Manager at Blue Marlin Motel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luton
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Firstly they put champagne. In our room as we were on our honeymoon a lovely touch.
The room was clean and large and the location was good.
In comparison with other places it was a reasonable price for Key West.
The breakfast was average but fine enough.
Would tell people to stay there it is a no frills place but kind staff and a good size clean pool too .

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank biizylizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothbury
Level Contributor
135 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Nothing fancy, but who is gonna stay in the room while your staying in Key West anyways?! Room was clean, comfy and very close to Duvall St, where all the shopping, eating and walking is done. Clean pool, pleasant atmosphere. Got decent rate for being on island. It was second time we have stayed here, I think there has been some room updating since last time. Will definately use again when we make it back down.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skutskar, Sweden
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Big rooms, clean, nice location close to Duval and beaches.
Basic breakfast but what do you expect?
There were white and brown bread, cheese jam, , some muffins, coffee or tea, orange juice and fruits.
Pool area very nice!
Good place to stay for a few nights in the sun!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndersE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dBranham, General Manager at Blue Marlin Motel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thanks for posting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Well located but a bit expensive. The welcoming was very good from the cool black guy but the other two ladies not very sympathetic. The room was clean, and the swimming pool quite big :)
Forget about the so-called breakfast, coffee and "chemical" muffin are proposed.
Overall the stay was correct. But I guess all Key west hotel/motel are overrated pricewise.
But will definitely come back to Key west anyway

Room Tip: Difficult to find a good deal in Key west, maybe better to find hotel /guesthouse outside key west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.8 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
1,723 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Southernmost House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 77 in Key West
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Southwinds Motel
Southwinds Motel
#22 of 51 in Key West
723 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Point Guest House
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hibiscus Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Marlin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marlin Motel

Property: Blue Marlin Motel
Address: 1320 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-3114
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Marlin Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motel located 1 block from town center & 3 blocks from ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Marlin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Marlin Hotel Key West
Blue Marlin Motel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing