We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Key West Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coconut Mallory Resort And Marina
Ranked #55 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 July 2014

First of all, I want to preface this by saying I spent months reading and agonizing over some of the negative reviews this place got. I almost backed out of the reservations. We spend our summers in a gorgeous oceanfront condo in Tavernier and travel to Key West and stay at the Westin for a week to do the 'tourist' thing. (We live in Orlando during the year). This summer we decided to trade a week of time from our timeshare and found Coconut Mallory. I only saw one other room other than ours so I can't speak about other accommodations and the negative experiences other people had. But, I can speak about the one we were in.

I'm going to give the cons first-
CONS-
1. When we walked into the room, the furnishings were a bit dated. Things are NOT brand new in this unit. Only 1 paddle fan for the entire two bedroom unit and it was in the second bedroom.
2. After looking around before unloading our baggage, I noticed a 'swarm' of flying ants in the kitchen window. Termites? Ants? I'm not quite sure.
3. The bar does not serve our favorite keg beer-Miller Lite. LOL
4. It is a car drive to Duval and Mallory Square.

That's it foks. Those are the cons. And I'm used to staying at the Westin (which has had dated and chipped paint in their units as well).

PROS-
1. I called the front desk about the swarming ants before I unpacked anything and they were immediately on it. Noni even came down personally to view the window within a matter of minutes. They sent housekeeping and about 3 other employees down to clean, change the window screen, put a sealer on the window, you name it. When I still expressed concern, Noni immediately called Jenny and Jenny told her she would try to place us in another unit. Long story short we stayed in this unit and loved it. Never had another bug issue. Now that's customer service.
2. PLEASE read the website about what they supply!!! I overheard a woman in the office asking how she was going to clean the counter tops in the kitchen when cleaner wasn't provided. They give you enough kitchen supplies to get you started, but you may need to bring some of your own or GO TO PUBLIX!!!!
NO MAID SERVICE HERE!!!
3. The room is comfortable and in a great location to the marina. We spent very little time in the room and when we were there, we spent most of it down on the dock sitting at a table enjoying the beautiful summer breeze. Yes, even though it was 90 degrees, there was a breeze.
4. When I told housekeeping that it was warm in the master bedroom with no paddle fan, they immediately found a fan for us to use. (Thank you Jose). It worked out well.
5. What an awesome experience buying fresh fish right off the boat from the young men who came in every night after diving and selling their fish. What a great Key West experience.

If you want maid service, perfect furniture, a critter free environment, this place isn't for you. If you want to come and enjoy the familly friendly environment-try this. Check out the room first and ask lots of questions before booking. We will skip the Westin and come back here.

Thank you Noni and Jenny. (Loved the free donuts on Tuesday and BBQ on Sunday)
I'm already looking forward to next year.

Room Tip: Stay away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Teacher_0n_Vacati0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

First time visitors to Key West, we searched for accomodations on the Web and this resort appeared bright, cheery, well appointed and nicely maintained. Upon check in we were given a suite that faced a Brick Wall, there was no sunlight to filter in, the room did not remotely resemble the suite on the website. Clearly Bait and Switch to the unsuspecting visitor. No room safe an essential element for visitors to protect their belongings. Unsatisfied with the suite we asked to be switched and were flatly refused with NO Vacancies! We were dismissed, an treated badly by very unfriendly staff! Thank God we were only sleeping in the room and spent most of our days touring the Keys. Others at the property we spoke with were also not happy with the accomodations. Overpriced compared to other options in the area. Would not recommend this property to anyone, nor would we return there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank PuntaCanada10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed a few days, had a great time!! When we checked out and headed to the airport in Fort Lauderdale, I realized that I had forgotten sever articles of clothing that were hanging in the closet. I called the resort and the manager took time to get my info and mailed them to me. I was so happy!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weston W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We just returned from a week at this resort and had a great time. After reading the negative reviews, we were skeptical but were pleasantly surprised. It had a full, well stocked kitchen for what you would need for a week away, especially when only having breakfast there most of the time. It was roomy for a family of 5 and had 2 bedrooms with a king in one and a queen in the other. My son slept on the pullout sofa which actually had a decent mattress and he said was comfortable. The furniture was nice and not outdated. This room (#110) is located not far from the bar and marina so it was quiet. The pools and grounds were well kept. After our arrival, my son discovered that the bathroom door handle wasn't working. We called down to the desk and within 10 minutes, had a maintenance man at our door who replaced the handle and was on his way in less than 20 min. Nani and Carrie at the front desk were amazing and so very friendly and helpful in making reservations for activities. We would definitely stay here again. Only downside for some is that it is about 4 miles from town where most activities are, but we didn't mind that. We drove most places and didn't have much difficulty finding parking on the street. If you didn't mind driving around for 5 minutes looking for a place, you usually found one.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle and back are quieter than near the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twalako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

When we first booked our trip we saw some bad reviews for this place.we booked through priceline and they wasn't any help.When we got to our room we wasn't sure what to expect but I can honestly say that this is a very decent and clean place.The staff was great and very helpful and the property has a very nice little dockside bar with beautiful sunrises.all and all we had a wonderful time in the keys.Now on the other hand if you are planning a trip anywhere DO NOT use priceline they are useless and DO NOT use Hertz as a rental company.When we got back from our trip we noticed Hertz had charged us double for our car that we had already paid for through priceline and we are still fighting to get back just over $1100.00 from them.doubt we will get that back.If you are going to key West this would be a good choice to stay at.

Room Tip: We stayed in room # 404
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This resort was great! If you are looking for exquisite, lush, wait on you hand and foot, accommodations, stay at the Pier House. If you are looking for a nice, clean, friendly, roomy, affordable place to stay, then this is your place. We had a second floor condo, room 219. Yes, the bedrooms were upstairs but both bedrooms were spacious and had their own bathrooms. The steps were not a problem for us. There is an elevator to get to your condo from outside. The place is very clean.

The Boathouse Marina bar was awesome. We used the Kayaks. We really wanted to Paddleboard but the boards were both broken. A little bummed about that but not a big deal.

The front desk folks were super nice and helpful.

The only negative to this resort is how far away from Old Town it is. Cabs are pricey but It was still cheaper and easier than renting a car.

Room Tip: Try not to choose a room near the street. Can be noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roscoetalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

On the plus side, nice waterfront bar with pool table and darts on site as well as kayak/bike/boat rentals, two nice pools, very accomodative front office staff, good beds, good TV's, reasonably well stocked kitchen supplies, first floor balcony.
On the other hand, nothing doing at this end of town, so it's a cab or difficult parking to get to any downtown action. Wasn't crazy about both bedrooms being upstairs. We had a decent water view over the trees surrounding the property ( unit 222) but spoke with others with no view at all - best enquire when booking. Was clean but not spacious

Room Tip: Higher floors away from the road will have better view and less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 859garryc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Key West Waterfront
0.4 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#27 of 51 in Key West
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
3.3 mi away
New Orleans House
New Orleans House
#54 of 77 in Key West
241 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#19 of 77 in Key West
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Mallory Resort And Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Mallory Resort And Marina

Address: 1445 S Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4538
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: £137 - £431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Mallory Resort And Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Coconut Mallory Resort And Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Mallory Resort And Marina Hotel Key West
Coconut Mallory Resort And Marina Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing