We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel leaves you alone”
Review of The Duval House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Duval House
Ranked #47 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southwest Gulf Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
227 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Hotel leaves you alone”
Reviewed 14 November 2007

Quiet location in the middle of Duval Street. You can swim in the small pool 24/7 at your own risk. The rooms are rather small but they do not hide this in their website. You can walk to everywhere. You get a free buffet breakfast at the pool in the AM. My 6th trip to Key West and my second at the Duval House. Don't forget to eat at Pepe's

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small rooms
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JhonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    164
    45
    34
    31
See reviews for
33
304
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2007

Friends recommended the Duval House to us and all of their praise of the staff and accomodations was right on target. We were greeted by very friendly staff who were extremely helpful throughout our 4 day stay. The front desk will offer wonderful dining recommendations and also will tell you of the "tourist traps" to avoid. The grounds are well maintained and the gardens are peaceful and breathtaking. They do not allow cell phones or computers in the garden/pool area which is a big +++++, nothing worse than trying to relax and having someone talking in a loud voice on a cell phone right next to you. Promoting courtesy, what a great idea!!! Location is great, walking distance to everything. I give Duval House and the staff my highest recommendation!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twinkiemb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2007

We were directed to DUVAL HOUSE by a local Key West Visitors' Center. We had planned on staying at the Radisson Hotel, away from the hubbub of Duval St., but they convinced us that parking would be terrible, and it would be better to be in walking distance to the restaurants and shops. The "hostess" was less than friendly or professional, and showed us a depressingly dark, dirty, claustrophobic room (the same price as the Radisson!) or a slightly larger room with king bed for 40% more. We said no thanks, and ended up staying a block away at another B&B (which I remembered seeing on Trip Advisor). It was much cleaner, with bigger brighter rooms, more convenient parking, better managed, friendly staff - and the same price. I'm sure there's worse, but especially if it's off-season or midweek, you could probably find somewhere much better than Duval House.

  • Liked — pool - courtyard
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PopsandNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2007

They forget to mention in their website that they are baptist and would appreciate silence no cells phones by pool no eating nor drinking by pool or in rooms. Staff was very rude. They dont give you rules and regulations until after they recieve full payment at check in. Rooms smell and are dirty. Spend the extra money and get a real hotel.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dontgothereFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2007

Heaven can wait, that’s all I can say about this piece of paradise. Find out for yourself and believe me you will regret to have to go back to the real world. All rooms come with private bath, TV’s (well, who wants this here anyway) great breakfast and friendly, knowledgeable staff. Rooms are clean, sometimes funky (in a very positive, very Key West style). If you need lots of amenities and an overflow of shampoo, lotions, mouthwash etc…sorry, this is not your place. I will be back. Thank you so much and say hello to Uwe, Joanne and Marybeth

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tantchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami, fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2007

We could not have asked for more, a beautiful place to stay, lush gardens, a very friendly staff and a refreshing pool. We had a small but clean and charming room, tastefully decorated with a Key West twist, nice breakfast and reasonable priced. Great find. We will be back. Loved our stay, thank you DH

  • Liked — gardens, room, staff and the guy who looks like RW
  • Disliked — LOVED IT
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fernandoMiami_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2007

We stayed at the Duval House only a brief time and were very disappointed with the quality of the staff and the rooms.
Although it is on the main street in KW and therefore offers a fantastic location, we felt the hotel facilities to be tired and a little run down. The room we were staying in was below what was expected and indeed, experienced previously a few years ago. The front office management did not reflect the standard of what the hotel is trying to achieve, or perhaps did it? Furthermore, the photographs on the net and on the board outside the hotel are somewhat out of date. However, some of the rooms have clearly been refurbished, but some have a 'motel' feel with regard to the decor and the furnishings.
Unfortunately, it was not a tropical Inn in paradise, but instead a disappointment! The more senior management were willing to put things right iwhen issues were highlighted, however, in our opinion they shouldn't have been there in the first place.
I think the Duval House, if it wants to stay in competition with other hotels/Inns of the same level, needs to raise the bar quite a bit.

  • Liked — Hard to say, but the location I guess
  • Disliked — Staff attitude, cleanliness decor (old and tired), general overall feel of being in need to some tlc!
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoriBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
New Orleans House
New Orleans House
#52 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#14 of 77 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#22 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Duval Inn
The Duval Inn
#51 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wicker Guesthouse
Wicker Guesthouse
#55 of 77 in Key West
3.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casablanca at Bogart's
Casablanca at Bogart's
#41 of 77 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duval House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duval House

Property: The Duval House
Address: 815 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-7405
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Duval House 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duval House is the heart and soul of old Key West. Our bed and breakfast is the perfect destination for an idyllic getaway. The Duval House is a traditional, caribbean-style bed and breakfast centrally located at the midpoint of Duval Street in the heart of Old Town, Key West. We offer seven buildings overlooking our lush, tropical courtyard and sunny, newly-constructed pool. All of our rooms offer private bathrooms, overhead fans, Wi-Fi, air conditioning, and complimentary, continental breakfast. Reserve your stay at paradise and let us make your getaway dreams a reality at The Duval House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Duval House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duval House Hotel Key West
Duval Key West
The Duval House Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing