We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven Can Wait” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Duval House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Duval House
Ranked #50 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heaven Can Wait”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2007

Heaven can wait, that’s all I can say about this piece of paradise. Find out for yourself and believe me you will regret to have to go back to the real world. All rooms come with private bath, TV’s (well, who wants this here anyway) great breakfast and friendly, knowledgeable staff. Rooms are clean, sometimes funky (in a very positive, very Key West style). If you need lots of amenities and an overflow of shampoo, lotions, mouthwash etc…sorry, this is not your place. I will be back. Thank you so much and say hello to Uwe, Joanne and Marybeth

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tantchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    158
    42
    34
    30
See reviews for
31
294
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
miami, fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2007

We could not have asked for more, a beautiful place to stay, lush gardens, a very friendly staff and a refreshing pool. We had a small but clean and charming room, tastefully decorated with a Key West twist, nice breakfast and reasonable priced. Great find. We will be back. Loved our stay, thank you DH

  • Liked — gardens, room, staff and the guy who looks like RW
  • Disliked — LOVED IT
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fernandoMiami_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2007

We stayed at the Duval House only a brief time and were very disappointed with the quality of the staff and the rooms.
Although it is on the main street in KW and therefore offers a fantastic location, we felt the hotel facilities to be tired and a little run down. The room we were staying in was below what was expected and indeed, experienced previously a few years ago. The front office management did not reflect the standard of what the hotel is trying to achieve, or perhaps did it? Furthermore, the photographs on the net and on the board outside the hotel are somewhat out of date. However, some of the rooms have clearly been refurbished, but some have a 'motel' feel with regard to the decor and the furnishings.
Unfortunately, it was not a tropical Inn in paradise, but instead a disappointment! The more senior management were willing to put things right iwhen issues were highlighted, however, in our opinion they shouldn't have been there in the first place.
I think the Duval House, if it wants to stay in competition with other hotels/Inns of the same level, needs to raise the bar quite a bit.

  • Liked — Hard to say, but the location I guess
  • Disliked — Staff attitude, cleanliness decor (old and tired), general overall feel of being in need to some tlc!
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoriBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, OH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2007

This was our first trip to Key West, and we are very glad we selected the Duval House. The staff were friendly and helpful (walking us to our room, rather than just handing us a key and telling us where it is like at some places. Calling us a cab to the airport, etc). The room was quite cute ( believe it was #23, but I know it had 2 queen beds and a deck with rocking chairs). Breakfast was just right--serve yourself, but kept very neat and tidy by someone on duty. Champagne was available to enjoy during breakfast or mix into a Mimosa. My only complaint would be the shower (head didn't adjust to work for someone short (5'4") like me, but it's not the deal-breaker of any lodging accommodation. I would definitely come back.

  • Liked — The comfort of the room
  • Disliked — The shower
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosellla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Duval house the night of our wedding. The property is very nice and cute. The courtyard area had lots of trees and bushes that created a nice relaxing atmosphere. The property had a nice little pool that was very quiet as you were not allowed to talk on a cell phone in the pool area. The location is perfect for someone who wants to spend their time on Duval street as you are close to shopping and dining. Every morning breakfast was provided and the food was very good. I only stayed here the night of the wedding with my wife but she stayed the three previous nights as well with her family and they had nothing but good things to say about Duval House. One recomendation would be to try to get a room near the back of the property since the front rooms seem to be a bit louder with the events going on Duval street at night.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank steve&jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2007

This was a great find in Key West and was in the middle of everything. Could not have found a better location for the price. I would definitely stay at the Duval House again and refer it to anyone who is looking to visit Key West.

Helpful?
Thank Jess001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2007

My husband and I chose Duval house after tirelessly searching all of the choices in Key West. I cannot say enough about the staff and experience we had there. We called to let them know that we were going to arrived late after a terrible day at the airport and they had everything there waiting for us when we arrived. The room was small, but very cute and was cleaned very well each time we left. The staff at the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful and helped us to rent a car to drive the Bahia Honda beach about 45 minutes away. I love this beach by the way and would recommend it highly. We stayed in an upper room facing the garden and barely heard any noise from the street. The location is close to everything you would want, but just far enough away from the really rowdy bars. I can't wait to go back and recommend Duval house highly.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank spundar78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
New Orleans House
New Orleans House
#54 of 77 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#18 of 77 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#21 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seascape Tropical Inn
Seascape Tropical Inn
#61 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Duval Inn
The Duval Inn
#51 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Weatherstation Inn
The Weatherstation Inn
#49 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duval House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duval House

Property: The Duval House
Address: 815 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-7405
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Duval House 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duval House is the heart and soul of old Key West. Our bed and breakfast is the perfect destination for an idyllic getaway. The Duval House is a traditional, caribbean-style bed and breakfast centrally located at the midpoint of Duval Street in the heart of Old Town, Key West. We offer seven buildings overlooking our lush, tropical courtyard and sunny, newly-constructed pool. All of our rooms offer private bathrooms, overhead fans, Wi-Fi, air conditioning, and complimentary, continental breakfast. Reserve your stay at paradise and let us make your getaway dreams a reality at The Duval House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Duval House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duval House Hotel Key West
Duval Key West
The Duval House Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing