We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark, depressing, unfriendly”
Review of The Duval House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Duval House
Ranked #48 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2007

We were directed to DUVAL HOUSE by a local Key West Visitors' Center. We had planned on staying at the Radisson Hotel, away from the hubbub of Duval St., but they convinced us that parking would be terrible, and it would be better to be in walking distance to the restaurants and shops. The "hostess" was less than friendly or professional, and showed us a depressingly dark, dirty, claustrophobic room (the same price as the Radisson!) or a slightly larger room with king bed for 40% more. We said no thanks, and ended up staying a block away at another B&B (which I remembered seeing on Trip Advisor). It was much cleaner, with bigger brighter rooms, more convenient parking, better managed, friendly staff - and the same price. I'm sure there's worse, but especially if it's off-season or midweek, you could probably find somewhere much better than Duval House.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PopsandNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2007

They forget to mention in their website that they are baptist and would appreciate silence no cells phones by pool no eating nor drinking by pool or in rooms. Staff was very rude. They dont give you rules and regulations until after they recieve full payment at check in. Rooms smell and are dirty. Spend the extra money and get a real hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank dontgothereFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2007

Heaven can wait, that’s all I can say about this piece of paradise. Find out for yourself and believe me you will regret to have to go back to the real world. All rooms come with private bath, TV’s (well, who wants this here anyway) great breakfast and friendly, knowledgeable staff. Rooms are clean, sometimes funky (in a very positive, very Key West style). If you need lots of amenities and an overflow of shampoo, lotions, mouthwash etc…sorry, this is not your place. I will be back. Thank you so much and say hello to Uwe, Joanne and Marybeth

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tantchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2007

We could not have asked for more, a beautiful place to stay, lush gardens, a very friendly staff and a refreshing pool. We had a small but clean and charming room, tastefully decorated with a Key West twist, nice breakfast and reasonable priced. Great find. We will be back. Loved our stay, thank you DH

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fernandoMiami_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2007

We stayed at the Duval House only a brief time and were very disappointed with the quality of the staff and the rooms.
Although it is on the main street in KW and therefore offers a fantastic location, we felt the hotel facilities to be tired and a little run down. The room we were staying in was below what was expected and indeed, experienced previously a few years ago. The front office management did not reflect the standard of what the hotel is trying to achieve, or perhaps did it? Furthermore, the photographs on the net and on the board outside the hotel are somewhat out of date. However, some of the rooms have clearly been refurbished, but some have a 'motel' feel with regard to the decor and the furnishings.
Unfortunately, it was not a tropical Inn in paradise, but instead a disappointment! The more senior management were willing to put things right iwhen issues were highlighted, however, in our opinion they shouldn't have been there in the first place.
I think the Duval House, if it wants to stay in competition with other hotels/Inns of the same level, needs to raise the bar quite a bit.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoriBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2007

This was our first trip to Key West, and we are very glad we selected the Duval House. The staff were friendly and helpful (walking us to our room, rather than just handing us a key and telling us where it is like at some places. Calling us a cab to the airport, etc). The room was quite cute ( believe it was #23, but I know it had 2 queen beds and a deck with rocking chairs). Breakfast was just right--serve yourself, but kept very neat and tidy by someone on duty. Champagne was available to enjoy during breakfast or mix into a Mimosa. My only complaint would be the shower (head didn't adjust to work for someone short (5'4") like me, but it's not the deal-breaker of any lodging accommodation. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosellla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Duval house the night of our wedding. The property is very nice and cute. The courtyard area had lots of trees and bushes that created a nice relaxing atmosphere. The property had a nice little pool that was very quiet as you were not allowed to talk on a cell phone in the pool area. The location is perfect for someone who wants to spend their time on Duval street as you are close to shopping and dining. Every morning breakfast was provided and the food was very good. I only stayed here the night of the wedding with my wife but she stayed the three previous nights as well with her family and they had nothing but good things to say about Duval House. One recomendation would be to try to get a room near the back of the property since the front rooms seem to be a bit louder with the events going on Duval street at night.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank steve&jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
The Duval Inn
The Duval Inn
#54 of 77 in Key West
761 reviews
0.4 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#12 of 77 in Key West
937 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#22 of 77 in Key West
1,556 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Southernmost Inn
The Southernmost Inn
#26 of 77 in Key West
1,013 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palms Hotel- Key West
The Palms Hotel- Key West
#46 of 77 in Key West
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duval House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duval House

Address: 815 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-7405
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: £160 - £842 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Duval House 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duval House is the heart and soul of old Key West. Our bed and breakfast is the perfect destination for an idyllic getaway. The Duval House is a traditional, caribbean-style bed and breakfast centrally located at the midpoint of Duval Street in the heart of Old Town, Key West. We offer seven buildings overlooking our lush, tropical courtyard and sunny, newly-constructed pool. All of our rooms offer private bathrooms, overhead fans, Wi-Fi, air conditioning, and complimentary, continental breakfast. Reserve your stay at paradise and let us make your getaway dreams a reality at The Duval House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Duval House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duval House Hotel Key West
Duval Key West
The Duval House Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing