We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It certainly is a spot of Eden”
Review of Eden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eden House
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 April 2011

The Eden House is a wonderful hideaway. We opted for a “Loft” room, which opened to the pool area. It was very nice indeed. The bed was on the second floor of the room, up a narrow spiral staircase. So, if you have any mobility issues you may want a single floor room. The general atmosphere was laid back. Everything was spotless. There is a definite eco-theme throughout the resort. Duvall Street is a bit of a hike, so you may want to hitch a ride on a pedal-taxi. The Key West Express port is a very short walk, about three blocks. So, dragging your bags is a real option. If you chose to have the Porter service deliver your bags, they are waiting for you at the port. There were a few delightful unanticipated surprises that made the stay even smoother. We only had night available for us, because it was a spontaneous weekend getaway. The online booking required a two night minimum stay. Calling 1 week in advance they were willing to waive the 2 night minimum. We checked in at 3:45PM, and to our surprise, poolside happy hour started at 4PM… perfect timing. Eden House provides Vodka, Rum, Gin and the mixers for 1 hour. It’s a nice primer for the evening. And, on check out, we were told that we could come back to the hotel before we caught our ferry ride home to get cleaned up. A hot shower after a day of running around Key West was very welcoming. We certainly want to return and would recommend Eden House to all.

Room Tip: Call to request minimum stay to be waived.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,130 - 1,136 of 1,768 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2011

Found it by searching for bed and breakfasts and lodges, as I wanted to avoid the standard, cold, industrial feel of chain hotels. And I was served! The place itself is boasting with greenery, delicious little hideouts, hilarious signs, comfortable rooms, and they actually DO APPLY the green policies they put forward. But the cherry on top is the kindness of staff: I was immediately contacted by email when my booking was received with a special request, and everything was done to accommodate that. Then when we arrived, we were greeted by a most helpful staff member. Here at Eden they will help you organize a sky dive, recommend nice diving spots, or if you're less of the reckless type nice dining, beautiful beaches and things to do. They'll even go the extra mile to negotiate a better price! Two thumbs up! Definitely coming back here if I ever come back to the Keys.

Room Tip: Book well in advance, if you care to stay in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluethroat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Atmosphere of the Eden House is really what won us over. Awesome hammocks, daily happy hours and flowers for the ladies, and music at the pool give the hotel an overall Key West, laid back feel. We had the cheapest rate so our room was incredibly small, but it was clean and we didn't spend much time there anyway.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jazen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We weren't going to mention this because we wanted Eden House to be all ours - even though we found it by using Trip Advisor a few years ago. We thought that if we didn't blab about this place then maybe everyone would quietly forget about it and then we could have the place all to ourselves. But we see that just about everyone else is giving its glorious praise so we figured our little plan was futile. Now we will join in the praise!
You see, we live on the left coast and we still fly across the country to spend a few days here just about every Spring. The grounds are beautiful with lush gardens and hideaway hammocks. The rooms are very attractive without the cookie-cutter layout of chain hotels. When our taxi drops us at the door we feel that we are at our new home - that is a tropical home. The pace is about as laid back as one could imagine. Get up, have coffee, walk a couple of blocks to Harpoon Harry's for a huge breakfast, walk to the wharf and visit the sea turtles and manatees and head back in time to catch the best sun rays of the day and Eden House's 80 something degree pool and hot tub. Then at 4 o'clock comes the pool side Happy Hour. Then more sun rays and some great conversation with our like minded lazy co-inhabitants of this peaceful nirvana invoking garden. Then the taxing time of the day befalls when decisions must be made as to where to dine this evening.
Then comes the quiet.
No loud frat boy parties allowed here - Mike Eden, the owner and proprietor of Eden House, runs a quiet and very peaceful establishment - just the sounds of the crickets and the rental scooters zipping down Fleming Street.
Then sleep.
Other guests have described the details of Eden House more eloquently than I, so I will leave you to their descriptions. But if you succumb to our powers of persuasion and visit this garden of Mr. Eden I ask only that you not return and go blabbing about this place to everyone else in the world. Let's just keep this place our little secret.
OK?

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDincalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

We have been coming back for 10 years for our annual Nov. visit. The grounds are just beautiful and I can always find a relaxing quiet spot to read or nap on the well cared for grounds, be it a lounge chair, swing, front porch or hammock. It is small enough to be very personal. Mike has the perfect crew now to keep things running well. Pasha spoils us shamelessly. How many places can you stay and know the housekeeper on a first name basis, and she always remembers our family and puts a few extras in the room to make us more comfy. Happy Hour is always fun to meet new folks before a stroll down town for dinner. Please don;t change anything. the beds are wonderful. Anxious to try the Azur food poolside. Can you tell we are enamored with this place!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nini5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

My husband and I go here before anywhere else. We can relax and enjoy the sun by the pool. A nap in one of their great hammocks always helps too. We got back 3 weeks ago and I already want to plan our next trip. The staff is the best.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Quiet, tranquil, pleasant! Had a great time, staff was excellent. In house suggestions for local resteraunts and sights were the best. Great Job... Looking forward to going back in the future

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSColket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.5 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.8 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,173 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
701 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden House

Address: 1015 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040-6962
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Key West
#2 Green Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £153 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eden House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax In Old Town Key West! The Eden House's first priority has been to maintain a clean inn, offer a comfortable bed, reasonable rates and have a staff that cares. Next comes the heated pool and Jacuzzi, hammocks, porch swings, waterfalls, sundeck, free off-street parking, café and lush gardens.We will have a cold drink for you at check-in and our daily complimentary 'happy hour' is poolside. Then at 10 PM we will dim the lights and let you get a good nights rest. Our night staff will not put a mint on your pillow but they will walk the grounds to insure that you won't be disturbed. I have owned and managed the Eden House for 27 years. I like to think that my staff and me do the 'little' things that will make your stay in Key West a memorable one. Key West is notorious for it's nightlife. Whether it is a sunset sail, a snorkel or kayak trip or deep water and flats fishing, the waters of the Florida Keys are like no other. Just let us know when you want to go.Grab a good book and a drink and I'll see you in the hammock area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Eden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden House Hotel Key West
Eden Hotel Key West
Eden Key West
Eden House Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing