We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful romantic spot....”
Review of Eden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eden House
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband booked our 15th anniversary at Eden House. We arrived in the wee hours (2am) and were greeted with a cold drink and friendly face from the late night male host (I wish I had gotten his name!) . Given a short tour of the property leading back to our room (302) (which would be considered an apartment sized unit).

There was a lovely hammock and dining area with an overhead ceiling fan. French doors off of the living area and a door off of the bedroom leading to the wrap around deck. The unit itself was spacious, clean and fairly well equipped (all kitchen utensils included - the standard hotel accommodations otherwise). The bed was extremely comfortable (which is saying a lot as I am picky!) with nice linens. My only complaint about the unit was the shower. Getting the water to a warm temperature was nearly impossible, it was either cold or scalding. Nothing in the middle. Water pressure was also very low (likely because of the low flow "green" shower heads).

Eden House had much more of a boutique hostel vibe. Quaint, charming, laid back and homey. The outdoor spaces are beautiful and lend to the feeling of paradise with the expansive gardens, hammocks everywhere and impeccably clean surroundings. The pool and spa were always sparkling clean and perfect. They say the pool/spa are open 10-10, however they also say if they don't hear you they can't see you (indicating you are welcome to use the pool/spa after hours as long as you keep the noise level at a minimum). The entire stay there was very quiet and peaceful which seemed to be the vibe that Eden house was going for.

On a side note about room sizes, make sure you look at the website and the photos. MOST of the 40 guest rooms we saw were VERY small. We are making a return trip in August with adult teens and are very unlikely to choose Eden house because of the limited room sizes.

It's within walking distance to the festival like atmosphere of Duval street, the marina and other area attractions. Really, if you are a walker - pretty much everything is within a 20-30 minute walk from Eden house on the small island. They also rent bikes though we did not use this service. I really enjoyed walking in the old key west area and marveling at the amazing historic homes and gardens. We felt very safe walking around the Eden House.

While we did see a few children and Eden House says they are child friendly, I don't think this is a place for young kids. The kids we saw were all 9+ years old and continually hushed by their parents. Rowdy or loud children would probably be frowned upon (there are signs declaring unsupervised children would be <insert funny but actually serious warning here> ).

There is a small staff at Eden House. Daily, we saw the same individuals tending their duties. The two girls at the lobby desk nearly 100% of the time we were there (aside very late nights) are hit and miss. There's a fine line between laid back and lackadaisical. There were times they fell firmly into the lackadaisical category and we seemed to be putting them out with questions, recommendations or requests for directions. At times they were helpful, but always seemed to have an edge of annoyance with us. It became a joke between my husband and I to take anything they told us with a grain of salt after they sent us "just a few blocks" to Higgs beach (reality - it's just over a three mile walk) . Thankfully, we are the type of people that take things in stride. I'm sure many would not have appreciated it. If I had my asthmatic son with us, I'd have been extremely unhappy.

In your room there is a folder with a recommendation list from Mike Eden and the staff which we found very useful.The things on the list that we tried were excellent.

There is no smoking on the entire property. Eden House website says" in the buildings", but it's made clear there is no smoking in the outdoor areas either. This is a plus for some and a minus for others.

Parking can be difficult at best on the weekends. Weekdays weren't nearly as difficult.

There is tea, coffee and water available in the lobby on a continual basis (as well as soda and basic beer for $1 which we appreciated). Apparently there is a "happy hour" at the pool but we weren't informed of when it was nor were we ever present during it. Otherwise, there are NO on site food or adult beverage services. Not even snacks. It would have been nice to have fruit / snacks / adult beverages aside cheap beer available - even if it were for purchase. Next door is Azur restaurant (owned by Eden house) and around the corner is Old Towne Bakery - You can check out my reviews on those. Both are definitely worth a visit.

Overall, I'd definitely stay at Eden House again for a romantic couples get away, If you are considering it for more a family type vacation, I think I'd look for something a little more family friendly.

Room Tip: Romantic spot for couples - not very suitable for children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beachbrat11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edenhouse, Owner at Eden House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Beachbrat11,
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We do care very much about our guests' experiences not only at the hotel but also on our little island paradise. Otherwise we'd be just as bad as a Fortune 500 company, and no one wants that. Thank you for your mention of the water temperature in the shower. The pressure valve that regulates the hot and cold water can sometimes go bad and is easily fixed. We have already replaced the one in that shower thanks to you.

We have a couple of new employees that are doing great and we do encourage them to pace themselves in the summer time; it's hot and there is no a/c in the lobby but perhaps that came across as lackadaisical. On their behalf, I apologize. But I'm glad you were able to find some good recommendations in my folder in the room. By the way, just to clarify, Higgs Beach is 1.4 miles from our front door. If you walked over 3 miles you'd almost be off the island! Or perhaps you meant 3 miles there and back...

Also just wanted to mention that the smoking policy on our website says, Eden House is a completely nonsmoking property including all rooms and outdoor spaces.

Again, I want to thank you for your great review and your attention to detail. It's what keeps us on our toes and we are always looking to improve your personal experience here at the Eden House. Enjoy your visit to the island in August and maybe we'll see you for your next romantic getaway.

See ya on the flip side,
Mike and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

626 - 632 of 1,794 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife and I had never been to Key West, and we found Eden House online. We booked a Large Deluxe room for our week of vacation. We had #303, and it was FABULOUS---like a cedar-attic tree house, at the back corner of the property, with an huge walk-in shower (PLUS a bamboo outdoor shower on one of our two private decks!), and a couple of little lizards that would peek-a-boo in and out whenever we'd come and go up the steps. It was, indeed, like being in the Garden of Eden.

We had loads of fun in Key West, but the highlight of our trip was staying at Eden House---the laid-back, easy-does-it vibe... the oh-so-relaxing free Happy Hours poolside every day from 4-5... the out-of-this-world staff (especially the front desk superstar a.m./p.m. trio of Halle, Fritzi and Kayla), who'd do anything to accommodate... the best deal on rental bikes on the island... the ideal proximity from just about everything (close enough to walk to almost anything, far enough away to 'get away')... the immaculate condition of the grounds and the facilities.

Can't say enough great things about Eden House. When the winds blow us back to Key West again, that's DEFINITELY where you'll find us.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a larger room. It's well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edenhouse, Manager at Eden House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for the awesome review, we enjoyed having you guys as guests just as much! Just a quick clarification for anyone out there reading this; room 303 is actually an Apartment style room, not a Large Deluxe. Also referred to as "The Alex Rutledge Room," based on Tom Corcoran novels set in Key West that mention the Eden House. Look him up!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Eden House is located several blocks from the main drag in Key West. It is a nice 10 to 15 minute walk if you prefer the hustle bustle of Duval Street. One of the advantages of this Inn is it is in a very quiet area with lots of wonderful restaurants within walking distance. It is close to the Wharf which has awesome places to eat, shop, tour boats, etc. The staff at The Eden House could not be more accommodating, It is not a chain and appears to be owner operated. Our room was wonderful, full kitchen, living room, bedroom and large bath. We also had a private hot tub on the back deck, swing on the front porch and close to the hotel pool which was always quiet and very clean. There is a complimentary happy hour at the bar every day at 4 pm. You can truly experience the "old" Key West at the Eden House and was a great experience.

Room Tip: Ask for either the apartment or suite rooms. The single rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank victoria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed in Eden house with my girlfriend for a weekend away, The location is perfect as its in the center of Key west on a quiet side street. The design of the hotel and its garden / pool area is something spectacular! You honestly feel like your in a tropical rainforest with hammocks beside the pool and an adult deck area for those more dedicated sunbathers! I am based in Toronto and work in Hospitality so I know guest service and customer satisfaction when I experience it. This place is the best of the best.

All guests are welcome, young travelers, families, and singles of course! Maybe its not the place for young children <16 due to the flamboyant array of clientele but its truly spectacular and I made some great contacts and friends throughout my stay. If your there during the Halloween weekend make sure to ask the Owner's wife about Zombie bike ride. A must for all ages!

I can't wait to go back - definitely within the next 12 months.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the pool. It's perfect for those late night swims! ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jibba19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed here for my husband's 50th birthday. This place really does everything right. Its within a 5 minute walk of the Key West Express dock and maybe a 10 minute walk to Duval St. The rooms were adequate, the grounds were lush, tropical, shady and beautiful. The pool is small, the spa is great and everywhere is a hammock for a shady nap! The restaurant next door is a bit pricing but they do deliver poolside. The hotel staff is very friendly. This is by far the most perfect island accommodation in Key West. Kudos to the owners!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wanabedutchgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Eden House on our first trip to the Florida Keys from our home in Fort Myers. Stayed two nights, loved every minute. The hotel, although renamed, is the original Key West hotel from the 1920s. It is located on a quiet street in one of the older parts of Key West which has many buildings dating from this era, and a distinctly upscale feel to the area. Worth saying at this point that our expectations of Key West were modest following varied comments by British and American friends in Fort Myers, but we absolutely loved our stay, and the Eden House played no small part in that. We would not hesitate to return to both.

We love walking, and did everything on foot. If you want the lively Duval St it was about 15 minutes walk for us, and a similar time to the nearest ocean by the harbour and boardwalk. Mallory Square and the Hemingway House were a little further but no more than 30 minutes if you are reasonably mobile.

The front entrance to the hotel is straight off the street, opening out into a spacious area with a sofa and TV off to one side, and reception on the other, with a staircase rising up the centre of the area. Coffee and iced tea are permanently on tap, and we were offered (and accepted!) a beer to cool us down on arrival after a two hour drive. The young woman on reception gave us a very friendly welcome.

Our room was called a Deluxe on the floor above reception, containing a Queen bed, a flat screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, ceiling fan (really good), open shelving, and with daily housekeeping. There was a spacious and well organised bathroom with large walk in rainshower to one side. The water temperature in the shower was quickly on target and good pressure. Three washing / moisturising products were on tap.

The bed was very comfortable, and we were always at ease in the room. Once there was some brief guest noise at night as people returned from the many bars and restaurants in Duval St and elsewhere, but the air conditioning unit helped mask this and we slept well both nights.

We did not use the pool and poolside bar, so cannot comment other than they both looked very attractive places, with nice landscaping around.

There is an excellent upscale restaurant on the site, the Azur, which is independently owned and managed, offering 20% discounts to Eden House guests at breakfast and lunch but not at dinner. Having said that, the dinner we had there was excellent with a nice fusion of flavours, menu themes and ambience. Service at dinner was both friendly and efficient, with the waiting on staff very knowledgeable about the food and attentive.

Service at reception varied a bit, possibly because there were system issues that slowed things down, or maybe new staff at times, not sure. Nothing serious.

Very happy we ended up at the Eden House via Expedia. It was originally our second choice, but ended up first because it offered two night minimum stays at the price on the website rather than three. Would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

If you are a couple, don't hesitate to book here!! You are very near to everything - the water as well as the bars/restaurants on Duvall - but you will think your on an island when you swim or enjoy the hot tub in the hidden garden!! Hammocks in quiet areas of the garden invite you to take the nap you need and deserve! Don't forget daily happy-hours and the wonderful staff! Every good thing you read about them here is absolutely true. Loved it. Many, many thanks.

Room Tip: Go for one of the rooms with a loft - you'll luv it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TiberIslandGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
715 reviews
0.7 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#7 of 51 in Key West
212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
0.6 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden House

Address: 1015 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040-6962
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Key West
#2 Green Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £152 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eden House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax In Old Town Key West! The Eden House's first priority has been to maintain a clean inn, offer a comfortable bed, reasonable rates and have a staff that cares. Next comes the heated pool and Jacuzzi, hammocks, porch swings, waterfalls, sundeck, free off-street parking, café and lush gardens.We will have a cold drink for you at check-in and our daily complimentary 'happy hour' is poolside. Then at 10 PM we will dim the lights and let you get a good nights rest. Our night staff will not put a mint on your pillow but they will walk the grounds to insure that you won't be disturbed. I have owned and managed the Eden House for 27 years. I like to think that my staff and me do the 'little' things that will make your stay in Key West a memorable one. Key West is notorious for it's nightlife. Whether it is a sunset sail, a snorkel or kayak trip or deep water and flats fishing, the waters of the Florida Keys are like no other. Just let us know when you want to go.Grab a good book and a drink and I'll see you in the hammock area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Eden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden House Hotel Key West
Eden Hotel Key West
Eden Key West
Eden House Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing