We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, serene, and perfectly comfortable.”
Review of Eden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eden House
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quiet, serene, and perfectly comfortable.”
Reviewed 24 February 2009

My wife and I joined 2 other couples for a week of relaxation and escape from the midwest winter. Following the high recommendations from one of the other couples in our group, together, we booked three deluxe rooms at the Eden House. After calling ahead to inquire about vacancies, my wife and I and one other couple actually arrived a day early. The very accommodating and courteous staff booked us into two rooms in the upper level of the main house for one night, then moved our luggage to our new accomodations the next morning.

Rooms 114, 115, and 116 were secluded on the lower level at the rear of the main house and were very comfortable. Each of the rooms, while not overly large, contained a single queen sized bed, were extremely clean, well kept, and featured very recent amenities. The new flat screen tv's w/dvd players open up additional space on top of the chest of drawers. The showers in each of the rooms had instant hot water and plenty of it. The maintenance and the cleanliness was impeccable. Not a rusted nail, flake of paint, scratched, chipped, or cracked board could be found either inside or outside our rooms. For those of us who can't quite leave work at home, cell phone coverage as well as wireless internet strength were great. Each of our rooms had it's own back porch which featured a padded porch swing and a patio table with chairs. Just off the back porch several of the many hammocks, shaded by towering palms and coconut trees, beckoned us each afternoon.

As others have said, this is a quiet place to relax. This is not a headquarters for tweenage spring breakers or for a family with young children. It's designed and marketed towards couples looking for a place to spend some quiet time together and Mike Eden has created a little piece of paradise that meets that goal in spades. No ice machines or elevators outside your door. No late night party animals running through the hallways slamming doors. No neighbors waking you up through paper thin walls. Quiet time from 10pm to 10am is recognized each evening, but as the saying goes, if they don't hear you, they don't see you. The hot tub is open all night if you're quiet. The front desk is staffed 24/7 so there is always somebody available to meet your every need or wish. Each of the staff members we encountered were very helpful, informative, and very very courteous. I've never been at a hotel where the staff has had such a strong desire to fulfill your desires.

The walk to and from Duval Street isn't bad, in fact, it's rather relaxing (see the theme here?) The best route leads you down to Schooner Wharf with a great look at the boats and the harbor. There is plenty of old town architecture and greenery to be seen along the way and ample amounts of food and drink to be found between the Eden House and Duval. For those staying several days, a coin laundry is only a block away. Eden House also rents bikes and has ample parking should you drive.

I can't say enough about the hospitality and the accomodations. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimBIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,263
    321
    84
    37
    18
See reviews for
166
945
71
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ct.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2009

We come to the Keys every year and stay at the Eden house because the staff / accomidations and location to down town. We are within walking distance of downtown and all the best resterants.
We will be back again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BOBBOCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2009

I had never been to Key West before and from the moment we stepped out of the car and into Eden House I knew I was going to like it. We were offered a complimentary drink and I noticed a sign behind the front desk that reads "Unattended children will be given a free espresso and a puppy," and the clock was running backwards. The whole atmosphere of the hotel was very indicative of the island's culture, laid back and friendly. The staff was always available to answer questions or make phone calls for us.

The pool area was really pretty great, as there was no lack of places to relax. Plenty of space right next to the pool or jacuzzi, plus alcoves with swinging love seats or even hammocks in the "library." Pool closes at 10pm but "if we can't hear you we can't see you," and there is an open bar happy hour every day.

Our room was open and clean with a small kitchen. We had a front porch overlooking the pool, and a screened in back porch if we wanted privacy. The pullout couch was even pretty comfortable. There was full wireless access.

The hotel is within walking distance from the beach and all the nightlife as well as having a wonderful breakfast place on its property. Parking was available next to the hotel.

Overall we all felt the stay was very comfortable and we liked it a lot.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freedman121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2009

This was my 16th or 17th stay at the Eden House and again it did dont disappoint. If you want a quiet, relaxing get-a-way in Key West - stop looking and start booking the Eden House. From the cold beer/drink you are given upon check-in to the heavenly quiet hammocks in the back of the property, you'll not want to leave. I've never stayed in any other property in my 17 years visiting Key West and am not looking to change. Mike Eden keeps the place in top notch condition (for a 1920's hotel), the staff very attentive, the 'rules' to a minimum and the relaxing atmosphere very consistent. The private rooms are not fancy - but they are clean, quiet and all you need - a place to shower/sleep. The larger rooms are better appointed but stay away from the rooms in the front of the building - unless you fancy street noise. Take a simple private room along the pool area and you can hear the water fall outside your door.

  • Liked — Location, relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — Getting pricey
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler0130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2009

The place is paradise. Exactly a 10 minute walk to Duval St. and even shorter to the Old Historic District but the hotel is so inviting you'll probably not spend as much time in town as you had planned. Immaculate and completely relaxing atmosphere. Met many "regular" guests and we'll probably become the same. We're active 50-somethings and it was perfect. Might be a little too laid back for teens or younger folks. Cuban grocery a block and half away for breakfast sandwich and Cafe Con Leche. You don't need a car to stay here but we had a rental and had no trouble getting one of the free-parking for guests spaces. We were "upgraded" without being asked and had what the regulars said was "The Best Room in the House".

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank capngeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millersville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2009

January in KW was suppose to be warm. We found our warmth within the staff and surroundings at Eden House. What a surprise when you walk into the beautifully landscaped pool area. Hammocks, swings, spa, fountains, fish ponds and pool will all warm your heart and toes. We upgraded our small room to a deluxe pool-side room and we recommend this to all the readers. Get a package deal too, so you can get out on the blue water in a boat for drinks and dining. Use the bikes and the staff who know KW and can suggest the best places to go to see stuff and eat the best meals on the island. Off street parking was a big plus as well as a free cocktail hour.

We will be back...when it is warmer. Remember KW homes don't have heat so make your own...we did. Thanks for a great vacation memory.

XOXOXOXOXO...
JA and LAH
Millersville, MD

  • Liked — A Deluxe room is the only way to go.
  • Disliked — No Heat but it was a freaky cold January.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackandlouann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2009

We found Eden House almost by accident 10 years ago and have been going back ever since. We would NEVER stay anywhere else in our beloved home-away-from-home of KW. Clean, comfortable, laid back, convenient by bike and feet to everything we could possibly want... except we never want to leave poolside or the hammocks. Mike and Pasha and the rest of the staff have become like family to us. This is a wonderful place for couples who seek peace, quiet and a non-commercial resort feeling, We've met wonderful people from all around the world there.

George Hillow and Judi Tull

  • Liked — Casual, friendly
  • Disliked — no problems
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tullwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.5 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.8 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,120 reviews
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden House

Property: Eden House
Address: 1015 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040-6962
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Key West
#2 Best Value Hotel in Key West
#2 Green Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eden House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax In Old Town Key West! The Eden House's first priority has been to maintain a clean inn, offer a comfortable bed, reasonable rates and have a staff that cares. Next comes the heated pool and Jacuzzi, hammocks, porch swings, waterfalls, sundeck, free off-street parking, café and lush gardens.We will have a cold drink for you at check-in and our daily complimentary 'happy hour' is poolside. Then at 10 PM we will dim the lights and let you get a good nights rest. Our night staff will not put a mint on your pillow but they will walk the grounds to insure that you won't be disturbed. I have owned and managed the Eden House for 27 years. I like to think that my staff and me do the 'little' things that will make your stay in Key West a memorable one. Key West is notorious for it's nightlife. Whether it is a sunset sail, a snorkel or kayak trip or deep water and flats fishing, the waters of the Florida Keys are like no other. Just let us know when you want to go.Grab a good book and a drink and I'll see you in the hammock area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Eden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden House Hotel Key West
Eden Hotel Key West
Eden Key West
Eden House Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing