We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PARADISE, PARADISE,RELAX AND ENJOY!!!”
Review of Eden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eden House
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 October 2010

second stay at eden house accomodation perfect, room- double delux, spacious , large bed beautifull bathroom and your own swing on your own porch, relaxing is not the word!! utterly chilled out, in the best kept gardens/pool/hotel in key west, mikes friendly/hands on and a fountain of knowledge an all things key west! theirs happy hour and tea/coffee all day long, love it and will be back. great location a 5-10 min walk and your in the heart of all the bars and restraunts.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nellienooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,240 - 1,246 of 1,827 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2010

About as basic of a room that I've ever had. No alarm clocks to bother you. No pesky telephone to bother you. Not even one of those pesky TV sets in our poolside room to bother you. "The teachings of Buddha" on the nightstand in our probably 100 sq ft. tiny room. If you are a traveler that wants to "get away from it all" in the real sense of the word, then this hostel is for you. Friendly staff and a dollar beer can be fetched from behind the front desk. They admit the hotel is not for everyone, and I'm sure if I would have complained they would have accommodated us with a room with at least a TV set. Nice relaxing pool area. Quiet time from 10 PM to 10 AM.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timkJ4007KI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edenhouse, Owner at Eden House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2010

Hi okvomit,

Love your sign in name.

Oh yea, Buddhism (not a religion) is a frame of mind that helps ease the pain of me being me.

Yes...we are very basic. And I can't even imagine you complaining. It was our pleasure to try to serve you.

Peace, Mike Eden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

I have been staying at the EH for a total of 11 years, (though not 11 years in a row, sadly) and I will NOT stay anywhere else! I just got back two days ago, and I am already plotting my next trip. If you have read the rest of the reviews, you know that the rooms are small (but very nice, clean, and ooohhhh, the beds! The bed is reason enough for me to come back right away...) and they do offer a range of choices for rooms depending on how big you want and if you need a TV/Fridge, or etc. The grounds are amazing, more like your own yard if you lived in paradise rather than a hotel property, really. With lush tropical plants, palm trees, koi ponds, pool, jacuzzi, hammocks, porch swings, great music, and free happy hour, really, what else could you want?? They'll also set you up with dining recommendations, reservations, bookings for charters, etc. What I can't quantify is how you'll feel staying here. We stayed at EH 7 years in a row, and then haven't been back since Jan '06 because we've been busy having kids (and how that kills the travel budget). When we arrived last weekend, it was truly like coming home. Not much had changed, except new beds, furniture, some new faces at the desk, new TV in the lobby and rooms (I assume...we didn't want one in ours). The relaxed and funky vibe was just as prevalent as it has always been, and the complimentary beer at check in actually stepped up a little in quality as well! We saw our favorite "international sanitation engineer" almost immediately after arriving, Pasha, and she remembered us from years ago, and seemed genuinely glad to see us, like a long lost friend. That feeling is what you get when you stay at (and return to, like you will want to) the Eden House. I didn't get to see you, Mike, but I know you read these reviews, so THANK YOU for making my weekend amazing, once again. The EH is not a chain hotel, nothing like one, so if you want a cookie cutter nice bed, nice room, nice pool, et cetera, bland, anonymous type of vacation, fine, stay in new town, and leave the EH for those who will cherish it, because that is what this kind of place deserves. We love it there, truly a home away from home for us, and though it may be a while before we get back there, we'll think of EH and all the staff with a smile and a wistful pang. See you again soon!

Thanks again for a great weekend!
Chantal and Kevin

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank telly1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Stayed at the Eden House in mid September and had a great time. The pool is a great place to relax and the happy hour in the afternoon was an unexpected surprise. Rooms are clean and tidy and are more than adequate. Only wish I could have stayed longer.

All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, to the point of one going of his way to walk us to the corner to point us in the right direction for a restaurant (sorry I have forgotten his name)

Would definitely recommend staying hereand if I ever make it back to the Keys will be staying again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stevengp70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

is the nicest what we can think of. We were so relaxed thanks to the warm service and atmosphere. Leave your shoes at home feeling.
Yeah you say, but thats Key West!
Well yes and no. You can do the Stroll, eat en drink well and have the Funny Stuff Tshirts in your reach.

What makes the Edenhouse special is in our opinion the following:
The people that own and service the place,
The people that visit the place,
The extra laid back atmosphere( if you want to get out you can, If you don't want, its ok)
Almost step back in time but with the comfort of today.

Actualy it is Southpark in the Tropics, okay dude.

Oh.. and last but not least;" You feel like at home"

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank peng4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

I was travelling to Key West on a business trip and I needed a hotel that was nearby. Of course, the joke is that EVERYTHING is nearby in Key West because it's only a few miles wide. Normally, I stay at chain hotels but I'm really happy that I made an exception in this case. The Eden House was incredible.

I arrived late on Sunday evening and was greeted by Mike (although I later discovered that there are several Mikes. This one was the younger Mike). The check-in process was extremely easy and he made a great guide, showing me the entire property when I arrived.

The room was on the small side, but Key West is the kind of place where you will spend very little time in your room. Most nights, guests were on the balcony or out on the town and not in their rooms. I had a room with a private bath, although I could've downgraded and gotten a room with a shared bathroom at a discount. I also could've upgraded to a larger room, but I was a solo traveller and didn't need that much space.

The hotel has several unique qualities which really made it stand out. They had a happy hour in the afternoons which was rather nice at the end of a long day. While no one was required to attend, the staff made you want to hang out and enjoy it. The pool was just the right temperature to cool off after a hot, humid day in Key West (it even has its own waterfall). There was also a jacuzzi where people tended to congregate day or night. There was plenty of room around the pool to relax, or if you wanted a bit more privacy and didn't want to worry about tan lines, there was a secluded sun deck over the parking area. The hotel also had hammocks available in case you wanted to sit and relax, reading a book from the hotel library which contained a pretty good selection of choices.

Again, while I was there on work, this place made you feel like you were on vacation. There were no clocks or phones in the rooms. There were two internet wifi spots: in the library and near the pool. If you wanted to get connected, you had to take your laptop out of the room to get a good signal. You could get an iron and ironing board if you asked for them, although the ironing board was a tiny little mimi-board that sat on the bed instead of standing up on the floor.

The staff was top notch. If you had questions about anything, they could definitely help you out. On the night I arrived, I had not eaten yet. Mike directed me to Finnegan's Wake Irish Pub right around the corner on Grinnell Street.

For those folks on vacation, here is all you need to know: It is a half mile (roughly 5-10 minute walk, depending upon your pace) to Duval Street. Everyone eventually ends up there. Have fun while you're there.

I was scheduled to leave on a Friday afternoon but I enjoyed it so much I extended my stay one more day so I could leave on Saturday morning. I highly recommend the Eden House.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank weary_traveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edenhouse, Owner at Eden House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2010

Howdy weary_traveller25,


This is the old Mike - Eden that is. I want to thank you for the nice words but now I will have to fend off the folks accusing me that you are on the payroll. Seriously, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you get to come back when the meter is not running. At least we were able to help you relax a little. We will keep the palm fronds off a hammock and a couple cold drinks for your next visit.


See ya, Mike Eden


PS my staff thanks you too

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

What a wonderful, lovely and relaxing place to be. From the moment I arrived the staff made me feel most welcome and cared for. Sitting by the pool - both day and night - is truly healing. Although it's in the heart of the old part of downtown Key West once you are esconced in its walls and hear the water fountains and see the gorgeous palm trees you swear you are in another world. Also, the staff knows all the good restaurants, and the good vendors for attractions (i.e. dolphin/snorkel tours, etc.).

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CynWell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
3.6 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#9 of 51 in Key West
260 reviews
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.7 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,839 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#7 of 51 in Key West
759 reviews
0.8 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden House

Address: 1015 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040-6962
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Key West
#2 Green Hotel in Key West
#2 Best Value Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £147 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eden House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax In Old Town Key West! The Eden House's first priority has been to maintain a clean inn, offer a comfortable bed, reasonable rates and have a staff that cares. Next comes the heated pool and Jacuzzi, hammocks, porch swings, waterfalls, sundeck, free off-street parking, café and lush gardens.We will have a cold drink for you at check-in and our daily complimentary 'happy hour' is poolside. Then at 10 PM we will dim the lights and let you get a good nights rest. Our night staff will not put a mint on your pillow but they will walk the grounds to insure that you won't be disturbed. I have owned and managed the Eden House for 27 years. I like to think that my staff and me do the 'little' things that will make your stay in Key West a memorable one. Key West is notorious for it's nightlife. Whether it is a sunset sail, a snorkel or kayak trip or deep water and flats fishing, the waters of the Florida Keys are like no other. Just let us know when you want to go.Grab a good book and a drink and I'll see you in the hammock area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Eden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden House Hotel Key West
Eden Hotel Key West
Eden Key West
Eden House Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing