We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Galleon Resort And Marina
Ranked #46 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Just spent a week at the Galleon . Been in Key West many of times before but stayed at a timeshare for the 1st time. It was all but perfect in many ways. It's location is right on the gulf with a view from our balcony. The rooms have been renovated over the past while with new kitchens, bathrooms, tv's and furniture. They are very roomy and clean. The staff are friendly as well as helpful if you had a request, because you are not at a hotel you don't see them all that much. They have a great pool and tiki bar as well as a takeout spot right on the board walk if you need some munchies. The resort is located on Front St at a dead end so it's as quiet as can be expected for the crazy end of Duval St. Just far enough away to walk in 2 minutes but quiet enough to be relaxed when needed. The parking is right on site although limited. The food and drinks were all good and reasonable. I would certainly stay there again.
Just a great time and place!
Conrad

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Pistol30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2013

We have just come back from a 7 day break in the keys, which we split between sailing a 41 foot hunter yacht and a hotel break. We decided to day sail and moor at the Galleon Resort which offers a full service marina with very helpful staff (Suzy and Big John were amazing) plus a resort by the sea.
The facilities and atmosphere were very good.
Small but clean private beach
Excellent location at the end of Duval Street
Nice pool and decking for views and sunbathing
Superb sunset views
Relaxed atmosphere with a mixed crowd - lively but not too lively...
Free WIFI everywhere

As a place to moor your boat and then enjoy more than just marina facilities with an excellent location in Key West I wouldn´t hesitate to recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Galleon Resort this past January. (2013)
The last time we visited was over 20 years ago, I had forgotten how nice the place was.
Top notch resort; location, location, location. Close to everything.
So much to see and do, for young and old. Key West is an incredible place to explore.
Highly recommended without reservations!

Room Tip: Place is always full, try to reserve well ahead of time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PWMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The Galleon Resort is located in the best spot on Key West. A quick (5 minute) walk to Duval Street, Mallory Square, Sunset Pier, Hogs Breath....you name it. It's just far enough away from Duval and Front Streets that you don't hear the late night fun noise, but can walk easily and safely back at all hours. It's also on the edge of the Key West Bight and the boardwalk with numerous restaurants, watering holes, boat slips and the occasional Key Lime Pie shop.
The units are good sized and have recently updated baths, linens and kitchens. The master bath is sublime! Most of the rooms overlook the pool, ocean or marina. I have stayed in 3 different 2 bedroom/2 bath units and was extremely comfortable. I love having the balcony to enjoy my morning coffee, or late night snack. It's also great to have a full kitchen for whatever meals you may wish to prepare "at home."
The main Tiki Bar has great acoustic music most evenings, as well as football games on tv during the season. The secondary Tiki Bar on the marina side is fairly new, and offers a nice alternative. The Sunset Deli makes great sandwiches to have by the pool, in your room or to take out on your day sail. You can't beat the Galleon Resort, and if you are there Tues-Fri you must play Poolside Bingo!

Room Tip: As these are also time-share units, picking your room will be tricky, but higher up will have a more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This is a great spot. We stayed in bldg. A twice now with a view over the pool and into the ocean. It's about 2 blocks to Mallory Square on the ocean with its own marina. The people are nice, the service is fast, and the vacation is paradise. We like it so much we just bought a timeshare condo here.

Room Tip: Bldg A has the best view and is back from the music of the nice little Tiki Bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

The Galleon is conveniently located 3 blocks from the evening sunset celebrations in Mallory Square. Our condo was clean and the view ffrom our balcony was amazing. Every room at the Galleon faces the pool and the ocean. The little tiki bar has nice evening entertainment and the service is impeccable. We loved the Galleon so much we are seriously thinking of buying a time share here. The location couldn't be better! During our stay there was some construction and renovations going on but that didn't stop us from enjoying ourselves they have to be done at some point, right?. I read some of the other reviews and I'm not sure what unit these people stayed in, ours was updated, clean and didn't at all have a musty smell. We were on the 6th floor directly looking straight on at the ocean.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

The only good things about our stay was the location of the property and the view from our room. Everything else was horrible. We stayed in one of the larger units. Old and musty furniture. Old bent mini blinds on some of the windows that must have been 25 years old. Ants in the kitchen. Fire alarms went off in the middle of the night during 2 nights of our stay. Problems with A/C one night. Poor service/attitude from the front desk. Parking is a mess. They had someone on the roof (I think they were pressue washing) at 6am one morning. While we had a good view from our room , a lot of the rooms have awful views. This was an expensive unit that was supposedly one of the nicer ones in the complex. No way will I stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ace5220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
2.3 mi away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#44 of 51 in Key West
1,201 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Saint Hotel Key West, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Residence Club Key West, Beach House
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Galleon Resort And Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Galleon Resort And Marina

Address: 617 Front St, Key West, FL 33040-6620
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £226 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Galleon Resort And Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Galleon Resort And Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleon Resort And Marina Hotel Key West
Galleon Hotel Key West
Galleon Key West
Key West Galleon Resort
Galleon Marina Key West
The Galleon Resort And Marina Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing