We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Galleon Resort And Marina
Ranked #46 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We have stayed there the past two years late October and just love it. The location is perfect for Old Town. It's always better when we can walk everywhere we want to go. This October was very hot early week so we spent much of the day in the ocean (the pool was too warm and not refreshing). We also enjoy the Tiki Bar that is on site for great drinks and music without going far. This year our A/C was loud and bothersome. A call to the front desk and maintenance arrived very quickly to solve the problem. Be aware this i snot a hotel and there is no housecleaning during the week (just change of towels and sheets mid week) however a trip or call to the front desk takes care of all your needs. We can't wait for next year.

Room Tip: We love the view of the marina - it's always fun to see the boats coming in and out during our w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimv56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

I was able to trade points to stay at the Galleon. I really lucked out. What a beautiful place and we had a great location, right on the water. We had a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom. The bathrooms and the kitchen were beautiful! The living room furniture is a bit dated, but the beds were comfy. Great location and I would definitely stay here again. Only negative was the construction that was going on in the garage right below us, lots of sawing early in the morning and once until about 10:30 at night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dudet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We did an RCI exchange from Grand Cayman and had a good time. Do not come for the beach or the diving, but for "Key Weird" site seeing, easy access to all events, shows dining and most of all drinking excursions. We walked to all locations and parked our car in the protected garage for the week. We enjoyed everything, the street performers at Mallory Square, the snorkeling trip, the wave runner around the island of 26 miles at the Resort, the deep sea fishing. We stayed on the 3rd floor of E wing with a view of the water and marina we used the stairs most of the time because the elevators were slow due to 5 floors, The part-time concierge arranged all the 2 for 1 activities. The happy hour before 6 pm at A & B Lobster was half price on drinks and horderves and we ate and drank a bowl of conch chowder, a plate of fried calamari, 1 pound of beer steamed shrimp, and 3 well drinks for $34. Went on the walking ghost tour, saw Hemingway's house(half off being a veteran) with 45 6 toed cats and his last 1936 penny in the cement at the pool, took our picture at the 90 mile point to Cuba and toured the lighthouse and ate at Pepes. The pool and hot tub were clean and very comfortable. The room had been updated to LED tvs and granite in the kitchen with new appliances. If we went back to Key West, we would like to stay there again. Saw Mel Fisher museum.

Room Tip: Even though there were workers (who were polite), replacing 100 tvs and making repairs, they were no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RufusLeaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Did an RCI exchange using our Disney Vacation Club and very glad we did! Great location on the coast in old town, within walking distance of Duval street and easy access to old town Key West! Don't come for the beach but do come for the atmosphere, pool, tiki bar and the view! We stayed in D wing which looks like it had been recently remodeled. I was told they are working on C wing now. First day and looking forward to the week ahead!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Don042053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We went as a group of us, 6 to be exact and stayed at the Galleon Resort for Fantasy Fest last October 2012 and loved this resort!! The pool was so big that is was wonderful and the tiki bar
by the pool was awesome! We had a oceanview room and just couldn't believe the view we had! You are so close to everything at this resort that its amazing and cant wait to get back there again!! We loved being able to walk everywhere with no problems! Miss you Galleon Resort!!

Room Tip: You will have no regrets staying at this resort!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

This place is great!!! Loved the location right on the water and close to a lot of restaurants, water sports, boardwalk and mallory square. We loved the pool here and pool area. Everyone so nice and would talk. We had a one bed room unit. Just remodeled. Its over looking the water and marina has a bed room with tv balcony doors huge comfy bed. Bathroom has large jetted tub and a separate stand up shower double sink and dressing area. Living room has plenty of seating tv and also balcony doors. Kitchen has two tables to eat at large counters and washer/dryer. This place was so nice the staff was great and so nice. Also have a restaurant on site and two tiki bars. They have pack n plays if you need one for kids. We for sure will be back and stay here again. Loved it!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacanikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Arrived at the hotel and realized the AC was making too much noise. Had to beg for a new room, which I didn't have the AC problems. I was initially told there was no one to get permission and would have to call maintenance to verify the problem. I had to push again for a new room. The internet went out one evening and NO one at the front desk knew or could care less about the disconnection. Didn't bother to seek out answers. Didn't get fixed until the next day and later was told it was due to someone had unplugged the connection....really! I traded by HI unit for a very small studio and RCI didn't do a good job of letting me know what to expect. No dishwasher, no sink, no view, no balcony, no ocean view; instead a view of the a large construction container, limited kitchen utilities, only queen bed, no couch (all in one small room); drawers that were broken (asked for repairs; no one came to fix); I had hammers/nails over my bed in the evening hours....construction! Very loud. The maid service was excellent I have to say. I requested to open the door next to me.....vacant as many of the rooms were immediately after labor day.....but they couldn't even follow up on that with RCI until I came back. Later found out they didn't speak to the RCI guy who had authority to do so.....they made the decision themselves. They really didn't care! Overall, I felt cheated that I gave up a resort in HI......for a resort that didn't come close to my exchange. When you ask for an exchange....do not say you are only one person......RCI will give you the California Cracker Box special. Other than my complaints above, it was a marginal experience with much disappointment. Just be aware!!

Room Tip: Don't get the Cracker Box Room.....as I did! You will very disappointed otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#43 of 51 in Key West
1,206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Residence Club Key West, Beach House
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort
Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort
#47 of 51 in Key West
305 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Galleon Resort And Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Galleon Resort And Marina

Address: 617 Front St, Key West, FL 33040-6620
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £240 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Galleon Resort And Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Galleon Resort And Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleon Resort And Marina Hotel Key West
Galleon Hotel Key West
Galleon Key West
Key West Galleon Resort
Galleon Marina Key West
The Galleon Resort And Marina Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing