We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Resort - Horrible RCI Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Galleon Resort And Marina
Ranked #46 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The RCI "Hotel Room" assigned to us was terrible. If you can't get a one or two bedroom suite assigned to you don't accept this bottom of the barrel room. Make reservations on your own instead. Small, cramped, dark and shabby. No view except for elevator and outside wall. Could not open drapes as people stood outside of room waiting for elevator and couldn't help themselves from looking into room. The AC rattled and kicked-in every 15 minutes throughout the night making sleeping nearly impossible. The kitchenette was located between the bathroom and bedroom. It consisted of a microwave, under-cabinet refrigerator on one side of the 3 foot hall and a sink, coffee maker and cabinets on the other side. Dishes, glassware, utensils, a dishcloth and dish washing liquid were provided. However, no salt/pepper or napkins were provided. You will need to do some shopping if you wish to make breakfast. We purchased items from the Galleon Tiki Bar deli (on the marina side of the hotel) and CVS a few blocks away the corner of Duval.

We were not provided any help from the front desk in regard to upgrading our room as we were "RCI" members. RCI did not provide any help to us as they said no other rooms were available. We had upgraded our membership to Platinum hoping for an automatic upgrade, but that did not happen and we were very disappointed.

Now for the good part - the Galleon pool, hot tub and beach are wonderful. We spent many hours a day lounging by the pool and dipping into the hot tub. Sean, one of the pool guys played great music and provided a fun time hosting Bingo during the day. We would get lunch from the Galleon Tiki Bar (on the Marina side). Great burgers, onion rings, fries, etc. Live music at the Tiki bar near the pool starts around11:00 am and continues throughout the day.
Every performer was terrific. This Tiki bar is brand new. They re-opened it the first night of our stay. There were about 700 people there that night due to the Christmas Parade of Boats that started right at the marina next door to the resort. A wonderful event.

The resort is very clean. The hot tub is very hot and the pool is wonderfully heated. A family member had reserved a one-bedroom suite directly through the hotel while we were there and it was gorgeous (F43A) with an incredible view. It was completely updated with a brand new kitchen, king bed and fabulous bathroom, not to mention a large balcony you could access from both the living room and bedroom - absolutely dreamy!

The location is so convenient it simply can't be beat. For discounts go to the welcome center at the Galleon Cortez Room - near the Tiki Bar, they will give you two-for-one drink cards - these save a lot of money as drinks are quite expensive. We brought our own rum/coke and beer down to the pool in a collapsible cooler inside a large tote bag. We got all our ice from the ice machine (to the left in the driveway before you get to the reception doors - across from F bldg.). Wifi was very spotty. It only worked well one day. Beware of the phone scam they warn you about when you check in. Someone pretends to be from the front desk and claims the computer system is down and asks for your personal information - they called us and tried very hard to get our information. We simply hung up on them and reported the call to the real front desk.

Getting to/from the airport is a breeze. Stand outside the airport doors and grab a cab. It's a $8 per person fare. The Galleon is a great place and you are sure to have a wonderful time.

Suggestion: Purchase the Key West Bar Card and Key West Gold Card before your trip. These saved us a lot of money.

Attractions: Citiview Bus Tour leaves you right in front of Butterfly place - go, it's great. The Hemmingway House was enjoyable and the Little White House Tour was really interesting. The Mel Fisher Museum was also a cool place to explore.

Enjoy your trip!

Room Tip: Do not use RCI unless they give you a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChampagnePrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

Location is great and within walking distance to many attractions. We stayed in a two bedroom condo, 5th floor, that had a great view of the pool, beach, and crystal blue waters. Some of the amenties had recently been updated (kitchen and bath showers), but there is more to be done and we heard they are always in the process of updating rooms so I can't wait to see what this place looks like a year or two from now. The Tiki Hut was not available for our use so I couldn't give this resort a full 5 dots.

Room Tip: 5th floor units have vaulted ceillings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madwoman17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Best parts: Location-this is right on Front Street and the Marina, nicely appointed kitchen and master bath.

The rules say no saving chairs at the pool, but people do it constantly and there is no enforcement (we even saw someone saving a chair for their things--they sat in two others). When staff was asked about it the only response received was "people are going to do what they do." That is true, especially when there is no enforcement. The pool gets very crowded and is very noisy. The steel drum music is so loud that if you have a room overlooking the pool you should hope you like this music (playing all day, every day) because even with the patio door closed on the 4th floor you will be able to hear it. Lots of people smoking at the pool make it an even more unpleasant experience.

Parking is terrible (in fairness this is true all over the island). Covered parking has a restriction for trucks and SUVS. That doesn't stop anyone with an SUV or truck from parking there. Most of the spots were taken up by very large SUVs and trucks. Their size makes it impossible for you to even get into the garage. Again, no enforcement.

Beware that the maid service holds the elevators on move-out day. Makes it very difficult to get your stuff downstairs. The maid service also expects a tip. For what? They come in once to change your sheets. Everything else you are required to do including removing linens, washing dishes, removing trash, etc.

Lots of tiny ants. Crawling on my computer, crawling on me. Everywhere.

The shower in the second bedroom/lockout is a rain showerhead. You get absolutely no water pressure from it.

For years we've noticed that the tile floors will make your feet black.

The door gaps are huge causing both a loud wind tunnel in the room and a constant disturbing light from the outside.

I've been in worse exchanges and by and large it is better than most but I'm at a loss as to what qualifies a place as Gold Crown. This is really nothing special other than its location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siochainDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The Galleon is a time share with 2 bedroom units, some with ocean front rooms. We rented an efficiency or hotel room, which I believe is part of the larger 2 bedroom unit. Our efficiency was small but did have microwave and small refrigerator. We found it on VRBO and rented it for 3 days. We had a balcony but no great view except for the parking lot. This was a disappointment. The problem with renting this small efficiency is that you can hear every movement and sound in the larger unit that is attached to the efficiency. There was a family in there that liked to slam doors. Our efficiency was located in building F on the fifth floor with its own private entrance. We paid through the nose for this small unit because of its location to Duval Street. We did get a parking space with the price but the spaces are very small and your car is very close to the neighboring car. The TIKI bar was not open and actually demolished. I guess they are in the process of building a new one. This was another disappointment. If you do stay here, try to get the larger units with a great view. I assume this is part of RCI and must be traded for with points. The Galleon is the perfect location to hang out in Key West. There are tons of restaurants, bars and stores to visit so you will never be bored. Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: Get the larger full size units, if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Pros - Location is right on the water. Beautiful views. Very clean resort. Front desk staff, housekeeping and maintenance is to be commended. Everything within walking distance. The pool is deep enough to swim. Covered parking. Tiki hut and staff are great.

Cons - This resort has more of a hotel feel to it. I prefer more greenery at a resort.

You would not regret a stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doris677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We have stayed there the past two years late October and just love it. The location is perfect for Old Town. It's always better when we can walk everywhere we want to go. This October was very hot early week so we spent much of the day in the ocean (the pool was too warm and not refreshing). We also enjoy the Tiki Bar that is on site for great drinks and music without going far. This year our A/C was loud and bothersome. A call to the front desk and maintenance arrived very quickly to solve the problem. Be aware this i snot a hotel and there is no housecleaning during the week (just change of towels and sheets mid week) however a trip or call to the front desk takes care of all your needs. We can't wait for next year.

Room Tip: We love the view of the marina - it's always fun to see the boats coming in and out during our w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimv56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I was able to trade points to stay at the Galleon. I really lucked out. What a beautiful place and we had a great location, right on the water. We had a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom. The bathrooms and the kitchen were beautiful! The living room furniture is a bit dated, but the beds were comfy. Great location and I would definitely stay here again. Only negative was the construction that was going on in the garage right below us, lots of sawing early in the morning and once until about 10:30 at night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dudet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort
Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort
#47 of 51 in Key West
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#18 of 51 in Key West
2,382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
2,614 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Weatherstation Inn
The Weatherstation Inn
#50 of 77 in Key West
225 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Galleon Resort And Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Galleon Resort And Marina

Address: 617 Front St, Key West, FL 33040-6620
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £242 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Galleon Resort And Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Galleon Resort And Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleon Resort And Marina Hotel Key West
Galleon Hotel Key West
Galleon Key West
Key West Galleon Resort
Galleon Marina Key West
The Galleon Resort And Marina Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing