We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Galleon Resort And Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Galleon Resort And Marina
Ranked #46 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Homosassa FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

We stay at the Galleon for Fantasy Fest each year. The location is ideal - you can easily walk to every major attraction or rent scooters/electric cars at the resort entrance. You can arrive by the Fast Cat from Ft. Myers Beach and walk or The Galleon provides a shuttle to and from the airport. Being right next door to the old Harbor means excellent dining choices, and all the sunset cruises/sailing adventures just steps away.

The resort has a great heated pool & small sandy island beach is available. The rooms are comfortable: king size beds in the master suites and newly remodeled baths with awesome new showers.

Watch the sunset from the top of the resort if you don't want the two blocks to Mallory Square. You don't need to worry about a cruise ship blocking your view like some locations or the hassle of parking downtown if you stay across the island.

It's all here. The resort keeps improving all the time. This is our 10th year & we wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank manateeHomosassaFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    137
    44
    30
    38
See reviews for
116
178
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

First, the bed in the master bedroom of the 3 room suite we paid almost $500 a night for contained a bed that creaked every time I took a breath (and I am not large). The only way we could sleep was if we both slept on one side of the bed, which isn't too tough for married couples who like each other but it sure was tough when one had to get up during the night and crawl over the squeaking springs. But then it started drizzling rain, not even a torrential downpour, and the ceiling in one bedroom started leaking....maintenance was "out" until the following day, by which time the ceiling in the bedroom and the bathroom had begun to cave in, and plaster was all over the bed, the stuff in the room, everywhere. We were given a credit of $168 since it was our last night. Not worth it. The Galleon location is perfect, but the Hilton is right next to it - save yourself the stress and just stay at the Hilton. We booked thru a booking agent, Susan Rodnan, who turned out to be the most rude, unprofessional, hateful woman I have had the misfortune to talk to in a long time, when I called her after getting nowhere with the Galleon office management.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Georgiagirl2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

Great location, everything within walking distance. Nice property, Just tough parking. Had a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPMd10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

Our first trip to the Keys and we were lucky to get the Galleon 11-18 Sept. Unfortunately, we had to deal with a major renovation, noise, traffic, debris, etc. This was not the place if you want quiet, etc. Renovations are going quickly, but ask if you don't like hearing jackhammers, lift trucks and construction noise all day and early evening too. We had to move due to construction, midweek. That was a pain.

The Resort is in a beautiful location for the view; close to Duval Street and the Harbor Boardwalk. You can walk or bike anywhere in the Old Town Area...plan on it. Parking costs average $10 daily and are very limited. Bikes and scooters are the norm besides walking. Duval Street is the hub of activity in the area. You will see almost anything there, depending on the week and if there is a city program...like Womanfest and Bike Week…we saw it all...trust me!!

Being Military, we took advantage of nearby military shopping, discounted tours, etc. Nice FREE beach on Military side...need ID card and they require helmets for bikes and motorcycles, so check the rules first.

The Galleon has a nice pool and Tiki Bar Area. The fishing area was awesome (I like to fish) Ate fish two nights for dinner that I caught while I was there. The Welcome BBQ gives you a chance to get 2 for 1 prices on many local activities; Parasailing, snorkeling, sunset cruises, etc. We got a 2 for 1 snorkeling, and traded it with another guest for parasailing...that was a mistake... The Wife was terrified AND it was lame (being a Retired Army Paratrooper, etc.) but she didn't feel the same way..lol.. Another couple got a 2 for 1 Ghost Tour with The Original Ghost Tours and gave it too us. I didn't want to go, but since I made the wife go Parasailing…I had to go on the tour...argh...It actually was GREAT!!! Loved the history lesson and walking tour was well done. John, the Tour Guide, seriously deserved the $5 tip we gave him. If you enjoy history and learning about the area...take this tour...1 1/2 hours and most enjoyable part of our trip.

The Resort kitchens that we saw are outdated, and do need updating. It was functional, but could stand a facelift. Some of the TVs in the rooms were dated and some were being replaced with flat screens TV.

Take advantage of the welcome packet given out Monday by the Resort for 2 for 1 drinks, etc. Lots of happy hours in the area bars/restaurants, so check them all out and save a boat load of money, if you’re on a budget. Most happy hours are 4-6pm some as late as 630pm.

The area around the Resort was safe and at the end of the street next to the Marina. Lots of activity around the Marina, so take a stroll, see the charter boats come in, gawk at the ginormous Tarpon, Sharks and Gray Snapper swimming in the Marina waiting for a handout, and all the folks eating on the patios, and outside portion of the restaurants.

Don’t miss the pier area of town where the Cruise ships dock…lots of things to do in that area even though we spent most of our time on Duval Street and at Two Friends Bar where they do Karaoke Thurs- Sun each week. The Bar “Ricks” on Duval Street does it every night from 12 midnight to 4am, but their audio system is very poor..I hope they read this!!! But they did have jello shots for a $, but not sure how much alcohol was in them…lol…

The Keys is a great place to create some vacation memories. Make a club, bar or local restaurant your favorite and develop your own “Friends” type environment. Downside…too many shops selling the same thing….t-shirts, shot glasses, etc. We spent most of our time, trying the unique local places. What about those great desserts and fresh baked bread from Old Town Bakery on 930 Easton St. Don’t pass it up if you appreciate quality.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tpishdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

We stay here every year with my parents who have a timeshare. It's a nice place in a great location. The staff is nice and the Tiki bar is great (although they could have more live entertainment). Bingo by the pool is fun and they have a welcome lunch with raffles. The units could use a little modernization and the twin beds are terrible. Rooms on the entrance side can be loud at night when people are coming home from the bar as it echoes. And the parking spots are terrible - WAY too small and sometimes impossible to find a spot.

All in all, it's a great location and might be one of the nicest in Key West.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GigisMom819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacksonville, fl
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

Stayed at the Galleon wk of 6/26 for 7 days, this was my first time there and I got a 1 bedromm thru my timeshare RCI. This resort is awesome, my suite was almost new and with a great marina view. Their little private beach was awesome along with the Tiki Bar
for afternoon drinks. Walked everywhere never had to move my car, which was great. The people at the front desk could be a little nicer/friendly but not bad. My only quarrel: the parking garage is designed for very small cars so if you have a Pickup truck like mine it was
not easy to park in the garage. For excursions we used Sebago Charters and took the
sunset cruise and the Island Ting excursion, both were great and their staff is super friendly and knowledgable. We picked Sebago over Danger Charters because Sebago is cheaper by $20 p/person and are awesome; both companies offer same excursions. For happy hour I would recommend the resort Tiki Bar which always had specials and Alonzo Oyster Bar which was right beside the resort. Alonzos also had great dinner plates. For dinner: Conch Republic Seafood Restaurant, which was also beside the resort. Hogsbreath bar and Hogfish Bar were also both excellent and not expensive. All in all this was one of the best vacations we've ever had and we have been to the Key West lots of times. Definitely will go back and stay at the Galleon Resort again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunseeker21_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

We have been to the Keys several times before this visit, and this has been our only disappointment. The hotel staff in a lobby who were flat out rude to guests. One guy at the front desk was snobby towards most everyone, including my daughters which really set me off. The suite was severely outdated and you can tell little, if any, investments have been made to update the hotel. The parking garages on the hotel property are a joke. We drove a MINI and it was hit because the space for vehicles to move in there is too small! The galleon also has ridiculous rules too, like how each room is also allowed one parking pass for their death-trap parking areas? Why? Even if you pack your family in two small cars, they will make you pay to park somewhere off the hotel property for like 30 bucks a day! Absolutely ridiculous. We won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Smdfamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.2 mi away
The Southernmost House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#10 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#15 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Galleon Resort And Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Galleon Resort And Marina

Property: The Galleon Resort And Marina
Address: 617 Front St, Key West, FL 33040-6620
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Galleon Resort And Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Galleon Resort And Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleon Resort And Marina Hotel Key West
Galleon Hotel Key West
Galleon Key West
Key West Galleon Resort
Galleon Marina Key West
The Galleon Resort And Marina Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing