We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island City House Hotel
Ranked #16 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We rented four rooms here and had a good time. My 11 year old daughter was with us and she loved it. It is a quite little place within walking distance of duval and marina. Rent the bikes from the lobby, it will make life much easier! The morning breakfast was nice too!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bratt225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,019)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

714 - 720 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2012

Island City House certainly exceeded our expectations. My wife and I stayed 5 nights in a one bedroom suite and we will definitely stay there again when we return to Key West. Maid service was spectacular...I've never stayed at a place with such well-maintained, clean rooms. Clean towels were never an issue as the housekeepers replenished our bath AND beach towels every day. The staff working in the office was also very good, and were willing to make reservations or provide recommendations for anything you could think of.

My wife and I could only think of a few complaints. First, the continental breakfast could use a little improving. A little more of a selection would be great. Also, the pillows weren't very good. It took about 5 pillows to support my head at night.

All in all, the Island City House is a gorgeous and unique place to stay while you're in Key West.

Room Tip: Suite 22 was a perfect, quiet room with a very nice kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhippetHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The heavy smell of exotic flowers greets you as you wind along the path to your room in pristine, lush gardens. Polydactyl cats doze in the flowers, languid in the tropical sun. The huge pool, amid the gardens glistens and beckons. Mmmmmm......

Room Tip: Go for the Cigar house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greg4hand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Stayed here 2 nights with my 9 yr old daughter as we traveled the Keys.
Pros: they take children - many smaller inns in KW don't; beautiful grounds, rooms, courtyard gardens. Cons: They offered, but didn't follow thru to help bring bags up the 3 flights of steep stairs; they don't supply milk w bkfst - sounds small, but if you are a tea drinker, you get this. I requested / suggested it, but ended up going to the corner store and supplying my own; their front desk staff was hot and cold; the whole place has beautiful wrap around verandahs, but the only seating on them are by end rooms, with signs saying they are not to be used by anyone else. If I was with my children again, I guess I'd stay here, but adults only, I'd try a new place for the experience.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs - so go low if not good with them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yesimallpacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

5 blocks from the hustle and bustle of Duval Street is a beautiful Inn that offers a perfect respite. This island hotel is charming with brick walkways, lush gardens with comfortable large rooms loaded with antuques. There are shady verandas for relaxing and a lovely pool. It also has grantie in the small kitchen and our 1 bedroom suite had 2 flat screen TVs. This gem is reasonably priced, in a great location for walking all over Key West and breakfast is included. The staff was wonderful and met our every need. This was our second stay here and we love it! Thanks ICH.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryGoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Just completed my second stay at Island City House. This time, I stayed in the Cigar House. This is not only one of my favorite hotels on the island, but one of my favorite places to just spend some time. The Cigar House as very nice. I enjoyed the balcony that overlooked the pool. The room is very large and well kept. The grounds of the hotel are always in amazing shape. The lush landscaping, clean property and colorful buildings make this hotel more than just a place to lay your head. Well done to the team of staff that manages this little gem. We are already planning a return stay for later in the summer!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Our stay in the Cigar House was wonderful. The suite was charming, clean and the location to Duval St. and the Wharf was perfect. This property is set back off the street, so in the evening it's very quiet. We won't hesitate to stay here again when we return to Key West!

Room Tip: We loved the suites in the Cigar House property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,770 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#5 of 51 in Key West
1,035 reviews
0.6 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,700 reviews
0.1 mi away
NYAH Key West
NYAH Key West
#24 of 77 in Key West
1,504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island City House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island City House Hotel

Address: 411 William St, Key West, FL 33040-6853
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: £168 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Island City House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Key West suite accommodations at The Island City House Hotel are comprised of three buildings, each with its own style and unique character. The Arch House features six suites furnished in a casual Caribbean Style. The two suites on the first floor are two-bedroom suites. These suites have two separate bedrooms each with one queen-sized bed, a living/dining room with a kitchen, one bathroom, and a small porch. The studio-suites on the second floor of the Arch House have one queen-sized bed in an alcove, a sitting area with a kitchenette, and either a street-side balcony with a porch swing or a garden view balcony with a hammock. The Island City House is the main building on our property housing twelve parlor suites, ten one-bedroom suites, and two two-bedroom suites. These suites are furnished in an island Victorian style with lace curtains and many antique pieces. The two bedroom suites have two separate bedrooms, one with a king bed, the other with a queen bed, a living/dining room with a full kitchen, one bathroom and a large porch. The ten parlor suites have one queen-size bed and a separate sitting area with a kitchen. Many of these suites also have a sleeper sofa (for children or a third adult) or a porch overlooking the gardens. The Cigar House, our poolside building, is the home of our six largest one-bedroom suites. All of these suites are decorated in a tropical plantation style. The first and second floor suites have a king-size bed in the bedroom, a separate living room with a full kitchen, and a hammock on the poolside porch or balcony. The two suites tucked away on the third floor have a queen-size bed in the bedroom, a separate living room with a full kitchen, and an open balcony overlooking the pool and Infrared Sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Island City House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island City House Hotel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing