We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and good staff.”
Review of Orchid Key Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Orchid Key Inn
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Just returned from your friend's wedding in Key West. A bunch of us took rooms at the Orchid Key Inn and have to say it was the best decision out of all the places the attendees stayed at. The rooms are modernized, clean and the grounds are pretty similar. The old school feel is still there but all the modern amenities are there too. Wifi, continental breakfast, a bar and pool/hotub. Our only complaint was they started a tree removal at 8:30 am on a Sunday morning that lasted 3+ hours. We were compensated with free drinks but would have rather enjoyed the sleep in after a night out.
The location is good if you want to be able to get to a bar or restaurant quickly, yet not be directly in the middle of the craziness.

Room Tip: Skip the Junior Suite unless you're traveling with little kids. The beds are good in the king ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,424 - 1,430 of 2,173 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

We too were originally booked at Almond Tree Inn but were transferred to Orchid Key due to renovations. We were disappointed at first but were excited to find the #1 rating for Orchid Key on Trip Advisor. Simply stated, this is not a hotel that deserves a #1 rating. The rooms were modern with nice bathrooms/large showers, and access to the outdoor continental breakfast and pool was enjoyable, but that’s about where “special” stops. This is more or less a dressed-up 50’s-esque motel – doors opening up to the outside/pool area necessitated curtains drawn at most times (no sunlight while relaxing or getting ready to head out) and outdoor/cleaning noise in the mornings. We were also surprised by the amount of landscaping work that occurred the entire time we were there (Weds–Sun). For such a small property, the majority of the work could have been done during the week. We were additionally astounded by the chainsaw that started @ 8:30am on Sunday morning to chop down a tree by the hot tub.

As far as staff, the male bartender at the “famed” bar was less than excited to engage with his patrons and looked like he wanted to be anywhere but at work. The front desk manager was somewhat obnoxious as well. On the contrary, I have to note how wonderful the staff was from the Almond Tree that served breakfast – a big nod to the Almond Tree! All in all, if you’re looking for a place that’s on the quiet end of Duval St. with access to great restaurants/shops and don’t mind paying rates similar to some of the resorts, Orchid Key is your place. Personally, we’ll be booking elsewhere next time.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandhopper2006, Guest Relations Manager at Orchid Key Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

The entire Orchid Key Inn team apologizes that you found your stay with us not living up to expectations. We strive to achieve 100% guest satisfaction and want every guest to enjoy there time in paradise with us. In order to keep the property looking its best in a tropical atmosphere our landscape team has a busy job. When work is needed we strive to complete quickly, quietly, and in a fashion to minimize any guest disturbance. Had your concerns been raised during your stay I can assure you they would've been resolved to your satisfaction. The staff from Almond and Orchid Key apologize your stay fell short of the very best! If we can assist with a future stay please contact me directly... Kind regards, John T
email: frontdesk@orchidkey.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Finding a hotel on line is hard. Finding a GREAT hotel on line is even harder. However, this was an easy choice. I read the online reviews and thought . . .sounds good enough, booked the room and could not have been more pleased with my service, the facilities and the location. We stayed in August 2012, was greated by hotel employee, Brandon who provided over and above great customer service. He was able to recommend wonderful restaurants and guided us to areas of the Keys that the locals utilize. He sent us to a snorkle site that was budget friendly and really gave us a taste of the Keys without all the tourists. The extra touches provided by Brandon just made our vacation more enjoyable. Meeting nice people adds to ay experience but meeting someone who made you feel so at home, just made the experience wonderful. Thank you Brandon and thank you Orchid Key Inn. We will be back !!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I was here to meet friends who loved the almond tree inn which we all had booked but then they closed for renovations and we were sent here. Personally the few times i stayed in kw, its at the beach, I NEED to be on the water! I stayed on ocean first 3 days of this trip. Needless to say I was bummed about no ocean view/beach. However, I did like this place. Pool is small but adequate w benches in it to sit and relax. Hot tub also but it was too hot outside to stay in it more than 5 minutes. My friends who liked almond tree were disappointed this place didn't offer same deals like free beer for happy hour. In fact all we got was 1free drink- but only wine or cheap beer- and then$2 off other drinks. Needless to say, we didn't stick around for that. Our rooms were very nice. Clean, spacious. Front desk staff great too, helpful. One odd thing was lobby and friends room had smell of horseradish in them! That's closest I can summarize it as. Smoking allowed around pool. Breakfast food was a good choice but hb eggs were NOT. As far as price, my place on beach with. Deck/ocean view was only $30 more so I wouldn't say this place is cheap.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
Thank RoseL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandhopper2006, Guest Relations Manager at Orchid Key Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

The entire staff regrets hearing we didn't achieve 100% guest satisfaction during your stay with us our goal is to make every guests stay as enjoyable as possible. We regret our complimentary amenities didn't meet your expectations we added the happy hour services and breakfast to make our guests stay more enjoyable. The VIP amenities at the Orchid Bar allow each of our guests a complimentary choice of a non-alcoholic beverage, domestic beer, or any variety of house wine by the glass once during there stay with us. Our domestic beer menu includes most of the top beers from the USA and the house wine Canyon Road from Napa receives rave reviews from some of the toughest wine critics. In addition as a VIP our guests receive 50% off domestic beer, house wine selection, or soft drinks and everything else on the menu is 20% off from 6-7pm 7 days a week. This is similar to our sister property the Almond. If we can assist you again with a future stay in Key West please don't hesitate to contact me directly so I can assure your next stay with us is 100% paradise...
Kind regards,
John T
email: frontdesk@orchidkey.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

My husband and I just returned from a relaxing vacation in Key West. We decided to stay at the Orchid Key Inn based upon the excellent reviews the hotel consistently receives on Tripavisor.

Even though the hotel is situated in the heart of Key West on Duval Street it is almost completely detached from the chaos. There is adequate parking available if you have a car. Since the hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to just about everything it isn't necessary to have a car.

The rooms are clean and have been updated in a tasteful, contemporary decor. A complimentary continental breakfast is served poolside each morning. It was a nice way to start the day.

The staff provides superior customer service to each and every guest! They are friendly, accommodating, and genuine. Brandon is very knowlegeable about Key West, the restaurants, and he keeps a vigilant watch over everything.

We will definitely stay at the Orchid Key Inn when we are in Key West. It is the best place in town!

Room Tip: Room 109 has a spa tub and a king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadTrip60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We absolutely loved it here! A renovated motel completely modernised and beautifully done. We booked a junior suite and I was over the moon with the jacuzzi bath. The room was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Betty in the bar is a treasure! The pool area was just great. There are no negative comments I can leave about this place. I will not be staying anywhere else on any future trips to Key West!
Laura & Tony Cook

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RugbyTravel_Mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I love this place. Talk about attention to detail. They have got it figured out. What a great staff too. I can't wait to go back. Rooms are clean, comfortable and well detailed. Great little bar with happy hour and free drink for checking in. Great free breakfast if you desire. Papers set out every morning. Great location. We walked everywhere. You are far enough from the craziness so it is quiet but close enough to get there any way you desire.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ckarolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,699 reviews
0.3 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,783 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Key Inn

Address: 1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-3126
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: £196 - £465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Key Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Key Inn ranked in top 10 "Best Small Hotels in the United States"- Miami Herald.... The luxury Orchid Key is located on Duval Street and Truman; the very crossroads of Historic Old Town. Lush tropical landscapes surround our elegant amenity filled guest rooms and suites which surround our tranquil waterfalls, peaceful sun deck, heated pool, and spa. Everything the island is famous for is just foot steps outside our gates. Come experience the five orchid treatment. "Travelers Choice Award Top 10 Small Hotel as well as the Top 10 for Romantic in the USA 2013, 2014,and 2015". #1 For Highest guest satisfaction in Key West. The perfect location in Old Town Historic Key West surrounded by some of the finest dinning on Duval Street. Offering award-winning service and amenities of a luxury resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Orchid Key Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Key Hotel Key West
Orchid Key Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing