We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but overpriced”
Review of Orchid Key Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Orchid Key Inn
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

It's a lovely (small) room and a great location, but it is expensive. The fact that parking is charged additionally is quite surprising for an expensive hotel. The free breakfast is ok, but just prepackaged muffins etc.

Some staff were lovely, others rather unfriendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pool so you're away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 42fayef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,135 - 1,141 of 2,189 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

Second time around in Key West...and what an awesome time we had! The staff (Brandon, Amy, Kim and the numerous others) were friendly, helpful and made our stay a MEMORABLE! Thank you one & ALL...God willing we'll see you ALL next year. Keep a light on!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TYESUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Perfect location less than 5 mins walk to Southernmost Point and approx. 5-10 mins walk to the "crazy" end of Duval Street. Still numerous bars and restaurants on your doorstep but most rooms set back slightly so didn't experience any noise. Nice little pool and bar onsite and was pleased to receive a few free drinks vouchers on arrival. All the staff were very friendly and informative. Was very easy to find and parking onsite. Rooms were modern and clean with flat TV, fridge, coffee, safe, large shower etc. Nice daily breakfast buffet which you can sit round the pool and eat or take to your room. Would stay here again if in Key West!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank riki1479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Perfect boutique place to chill out and relax after we had a crazy time in Miami. The staff were very attentive - good local recommendations, nice touch with complimentary drinks and snacks in the bar during happy hour in the evening. Location was perfect - just on Duval Street - for going to the beach and down to the harbour. Rooms very comfortable - had perfect nights of sleep. Pool and spa area - perfect for lazying around.

Only two minor grumbles - and this is being nit-picky: the water pressure in the shower was a bit weak (I like a good shower in the morning to wake me up) and the coffee machine wasn't great - coffee snob - just didn't taste good.

Room Tip: It's worth emailing in advance to get a room aware from the main road and alongside the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam007-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This was our first trip to Key West and we could not have made a better choice than the Orchid Key Inn. The location is perfect with easy access to everything. When you step on to the property you feel like you are far away from it all in a little oasis. The property is meticulously kept and immaculate. Their attention to detail and outstanding hospitality sets them apart. Kim was wonderful. She answered every question, made our reservations, made us feel at home and well cared for. Her heart is really in it. The breakfast spread was plentiful, the presentation lovely and food delicious. The complimentary drinks and happy hour snacks were another nice touch. Our king room was immaculate, modern and nicely appointed. Loved the robes !! It was quiet and peaceful around the pool. When we return Key West we will certainly stay at the Orchid Key Inn again. It is a jewel. It was perfect. Thank you for making our trip so memorable.

Room Tip: We liked our room around the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Key West is a warm resort, so finding a cool spot to veg is always a treat. For locals, the bar at the Orchid is such a respite. Check out great mixology while enjoying a splashy pool, literally steps from the hustle and bustle of Duval Street.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rider123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We just spent 5 days at the Orchid Key in during Parrot Head Week. I have never had such a great experience in any hotel and I have been to quite a few! Brandon, Michael and Amy-just the friendliest most accomodating team you have EVER met. The room was very clean and modern-no detail was overlooked! We stayed in the King Size Suite and admitted it was hard to leave it every day to enjoy Key West! I will be back and will not stay anywhere else!!! Does this ownership have any other hotels in the U.S.? Their management style is definitely something to look for when vacationing!

Room Tip: The king suite is gorgeous and spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrissie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,716 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#5 of 51 in Key West
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
715 reviews
0.3 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Key Inn

Address: 1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-3126
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: £196 - £439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Key Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Key Inn ranked in top 10 "Best Small Hotels in the United States"- Miami Herald.... The luxury Orchid Key is located on Duval Street and Truman; the very crossroads of Historic Old Town. Lush tropical landscapes surround our elegant amenity filled guest rooms and suites which surround our tranquil waterfalls, peaceful sun deck, heated pool, and spa. Everything the island is famous for is just foot steps outside our gates. Come experience the five orchid treatment. "Travelers Choice Award Top 10 Small Hotel as well as the Top 10 for Romantic in the USA 2013, 2014,and 2015". #1 For Highest guest satisfaction in Key West. The perfect location in Old Town Historic Key West surrounded by some of the finest dinning on Duval Street. Offering award-winning service and amenities of a luxury resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Orchid Key Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Key Hotel Key West
Orchid Key Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing