We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A marvelous oasis in busy Key West”
Review of Orchid Key Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Orchid Key Inn
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My husband and I just returned from a marvelous stay at the Orchid Key and all the excellent reviews were absolutely right. Brandon and Kim provide the best service of any concierge we have seen in any hotel - and it is always with a smile. Being new to a city means that there are many questions about where to go and what to do and the two of them were just great at providing the answers.

The Inn is a wholly renovated old motel and everything that was done is handsome, sleek and beautiful. We had a suite on the driveway, closer to Duval than the pool rooms, but rarely heard noise from the street. Sirens were an exception but those are meant to be loud enough to be heard.

The "continental" breakfast was wonderful - it included not only pastry but yogurt, cold cereals and hard-boiled eggs. One minus is that the cut-up fruit often seemed a bit too old but there were plenty of other choices. The pastries were pretty varied but not all were up to a high standard.

The afternoon cocktail nibbles were perfect - cut-up cheese and vegetables, different dips every day, several kinds of crackers. Just enough to take the edge off hunger but not so much that dinner was spoiled.

I'm pretty fussy about beds and the bed here was super comfortable; I also loved the comforters - better than home!

The pool and hot tub were great. I was a bit worried that there are no umbrellas around the pool but another TA person said not to worry. She was right - between the abundant vegetation and the change in the sun, it was always possible to be in the shade.

There is no place directly outside one's room to sit outside - but there are ample seats and tables around the pool, mere steps away. If one was in a poolside room, it probably felt as if the seating area was one's own. We did love our suite, which had a living room and two flat-screen tvs. Great comfort and luxury.

p.s. There is no fitness center. Kim said there was one a short walk away. In fact, it took my husband 15 minutes to get there. Not so convenient so he ended up doing daily runs. Just thought I'd mention this in case it is important to you.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChooseyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,076 - 1,082 of 2,173 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

We just loved this cosy hotel! Perfectly and centrally situated although in the quiet part of Duval Street. The hotel has an own parking area which is convenient.

Extremely friendly and serviceminded staff. All are very nice and helpful, making reservations for restaurants, bikes etc.

Rooms are very clean and modern, the beds are really comfortable. There is a decent wardrobe with safety box, fridge, microwave, coffee machine and a quiet air condition. The bathroom is a good size with large shower area, high quality towels and a make-up mirror(!).
Breakfast was served in the relaxed and cosy pool area!

We highly recommend this little pearl and we would absolutely love to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VivekaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is a quiet little hotel in a great Key West location. We drove down and never moved the car once. But sitting at the pool you'd never guess you were right in town! Kim at the front desk was very helpful with reservations and suggestions. The room was small but the bathroom was big - great counter space! The only reason I didn't give them 5 stars was that the area rug in room 123 has gone TOO long without a cleaning - otherwise a lovely place.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank fsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We enjoyed 77 degree weather at New Years. Great property and location on a quiet end of Duvall St. Excellent staff exceeded our expectations, we wanted to stay longer. We might have to make this trip from SC an annual event.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Letosheir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Wow! Where do I start? Brandon was very friendly and even humored us when I set the pool alarm off by mistake and also locked us out of room. He came to our rescue with a smile. Kim was very knowledgable about food options, how the trolley and train worked and provided coupons and placed a dinner reservation for us. The staff there really is there to make sure that you are taken care of....so cheers to both of you.
This room and the grounds are impeccably taken care of and the housekeeping staff always said good morning to you.
I did a lot of research on finding the perfect place. Well, anyone who is reading this....look no further. This is the perfect location, the most comfy beds and close to all the action but quiet enough to sleep when you return back.
This is the first time I have said to my husband that I would return to this hotel because it was that awesome.
Thank you,
The Dellman's

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank jmdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I have to say everything from the location, to the pool and bar service, cleaning staff and attention to detail (comped champagne & favors on NYE) was sublime! I never write reviews, but this place was incredible!

My only gripe (and I am being nit-picky here) is that you can hear rowdier guests coming in and out from in the hotel room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzydno2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Why is this so good? The staff - Kim, Brandon and Amy in particular make you feel so welcome. nothing is too much trouble. The property itself is just 24 rooms, some set round the small pool and hot tub, the others face the drive in or the car park at the back. Rooms are compact but very comfortable, the beds deep, large and firm. There is a decent wardrobe, fridge, microwave, coffee machine and quiet air con. The bathroom is a good size with large shower area, fluffy towels and pleasant products. And that unusual thing, a make-up mirror in the light! Breakfast is a continental style buffet, served in the bar and either taken round the pool or in the room. Cereals, juice, fresh fruit, pastries, english muffins, toast, teas and coffees. There are free glasses of wine or beer in the evening till 7 and discounted cocktails. And you're midway down Duval Street, round the corner from Hemingway's House and a 15 minute stroll to downtown. But there are lots of good places to eat nearby and you're away from the crowds. Overall highly recommended but not cheap.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjhHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,700 reviews
0.3 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,783 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Key Inn

Address: 1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-3126
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: £202 - £469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Key Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Key Inn ranked in top 10 "Best Small Hotels in the United States"- Miami Herald.... The luxury Orchid Key is located on Duval Street and Truman; the very crossroads of Historic Old Town. Lush tropical landscapes surround our elegant amenity filled guest rooms and suites which surround our tranquil waterfalls, peaceful sun deck, heated pool, and spa. Everything the island is famous for is just foot steps outside our gates. Come experience the five orchid treatment. "Travelers Choice Award Top 10 Small Hotel as well as the Top 10 for Romantic in the USA 2013, 2014,and 2015". #1 For Highest guest satisfaction in Key West. The perfect location in Old Town Historic Key West surrounded by some of the finest dinning on Duval Street. Offering award-winning service and amenities of a luxury resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Orchid Key Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Key Hotel Key West
Orchid Key Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing