We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed due to a natural disaster.

“Made for great experience of Key West”
Review of Orchid Key Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Orchid Key Inn
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The hotel was overall wonderful. Brandon took care of us all weekend by booking dinner and tours. He always had a menu for us or a point in the right direction. We were never disappointed with his recommendations. He made our vacation.

On top of that, the accommodations were super clean and comfy. The pool was lovely. It's at the quieter end of Duval Street which was great, but we were still within walking distance of all the nightlife. On our last day, the allowed us late check-in, and let us hang out by the pool until our evening flight. The entire staff totally pampered us. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debski_nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,161)
There are newer reviews for Orchid Key Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,051 - 1,057 of 2,161 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

This inn is fantastic. My friend and I came in from North Carolina and were immediately impressed. Brandon was our concierge all weekend and was absolutely fabulous. He booked us reservations for dinner at the best local restaurants, sailing trips, and much more. The other staff members were wonderful as well. We will be back to Key West and will always stay at the Orchard Key Inn.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank abpnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Recently stayed 4 nights in a 1 bedroom King suite and agree with high ratings for location and customer service. But, at just under $400 per night (-$500 weekend) why would one expect less?
Pool area quite attractive but not enough lounges or tables & chairs to go around when busy. Loud, incessant "pool music" which staff would turn down but were "not permitted" to turn off.
Very pleasant place but not good value at these prices.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

After our first great visit we really felt we couldn't go wrong booking again. Kim at the desk is great asset and made us feel very welcome. The rooms are well appointed, and the Orchid Key Bar remains a fun and funky venue. Second time we met some locals who recommended a great place to eat. And the location is far enough up on Duval Street to remain far enough away from the noise but close enough to be in walking distance of everything.

Room Tip: There are suites available, but the standard size King room is fine.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestwardWanderer206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed at the Orchid Key Inn for a few nights in January. It is a nice little 50's style hotel in a great location in Key West. The staff are excellent and very helpful. They serve a wonderful continental breakfast and have happy hour at the bar every afternoon.
The downside is that they allow smoking around the pool and in the open areas of the hotel. It is not great if you are having breakfast or a happy hour drink by the pool and someone is smoking in the area, as it always seems to affect the whole area. As non smokers are the majority maybe a dedicated smoking area shoud be considered. No one is allowed to smoke in the rooms, why should smoking be allowed where all the guests want be. As well every time we entered our room we could always smell a stale odor. Not sure if it was smoke coming from the pool area which our room was close to, our just a stale smell from the building itself.
A nice place to consider staying at in Key West, just want everyone to know about the smoking situation.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Mauifarm456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I have to begin by saying, our flight was cancelled from Indianapolis, and the airlines were not willing to book us on another carrier to get us to our destination that day. Other couples were paying hundreds out of pocket for another flight because their $500/night Key West hotel wouldn't accept their cancellation under the circumstances. Another couple chose to fly into another destination and drive 4+ hours by car because their hotel wouldn't cancel. ORCHID KEY INN, on the other hand, apologized for our misfortune, and OFFERED and insisted on dropping our reservation for the night since we could not make it due to these circumstances. Please note we did book directly through them...had we booked through orbitz, etc, this would not have been possible. Their exceptional customer service continued throughout our arrival, our stay, and departure. Kim was great and absolutely the driving force behind such as great stay. She made recommendations to meet our budget and preferences, booked our bikes (a must-do!) and held our luggage for us on the last day. When we checked out, she graciously took notes of the few minor recommendations (piddly stuff...a towel rack in the bathroom and a hook for the robes). SPeaking of which, the robes were AMAZING! I never get excited about something like robes....but they had great ones! haha

Orchid Key Inn knows just how to make their guests feel at home! It was in the perfect spot....just a hop, skip, and a jump away from some great restaurants, bars, and treat shops, and a comfortable walk from mostly anything else you wanted to do (Mallory Square, Southern Most Point, etc). We had friends staying in some of the bigger hotels (Southernmost on the Beach, etc) which was further down and it was not as comfortable of a walk to those places. I don't mind walking but I also like convenience, so Orchid Key was perfect!


The rooms were smaller, but considering it is a (fabulously done) renovated motel, that is to be expected. The rooms were decorated well, the bed felt like heaven, the toiletries in the bathroom were a nice touch (I appreciated the makeup remover wipes every morning) and the Keurig in our room made my day!! We use our Keurig daily at home so it was nice to have one in our room! The daily breakfast left nothing to be desired, and it sitting out by the pool for breakfast was a great way to start our day. The pool is small, but it was still nice to lay out or take a dip mid afternoon. We met other guests this way and would end up running into them at the pool at the same time every day. Oh, and the bar is great! Small, quaint, nothing more needed. The vouchers for free drinks were icing on the cake to our stay!

We had friends staying in some bigger (also nice), more expensive hotels further south on Duval, and even though they were bigger, newer, with a nicer pool, I still would return to Orchid Key for the small, intimate feel, and most of all, the exceptional customer service and treatment you receive during your stay at Orchid Key.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rachelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed just one night and fell in love with this little boutique inn! Upon check in we were warmly and graciously greeted by Brandon at the front desk who expertly guided us on what to do and where to eat during our all-too-brief visit.
Our room was gorgeous. We stayed in a pool side king and everything was perfect. Walking distance to shopping, dining and attractions! Great little bar and delicious breakfast included. My one regret: we didn't stay longer!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JoAnnW57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,695 reviews
0.3 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,776 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Key Inn

Address: 1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-3126
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: £189 - £477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Key Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Key Inn ranked in top 10 "Best Small Hotels in the United States"- Miami Herald.... The luxury Orchid Key is located on Duval Street and Truman; the very crossroads of Historic Old Town. Lush tropical landscapes surround our elegant amenity filled guest rooms and suites which surround our tranquil waterfalls, peaceful sun deck, heated pool, and spa. Everything the island is famous for is just foot steps outside our gates. Come experience the five orchid treatment. "Travelers Choice Award Top 10 Small Hotel as well as the Top 10 for Romantic in the USA 2013, 2014,and 2015". #1 For Highest guest satisfaction in Key West. The perfect location in Old Town Historic Key West surrounded by some of the finest dinning on Duval Street. Offering award-winning service and amenities of a luxury resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Orchid Key Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Key Hotel Key West
Orchid Key Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing