We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding property and location”
Review of Orchid Key Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orchid Key Inn
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding property and location”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We selected the Orchid Key based on Trip Advisor reviews and were extremely pleased. From the street, it doesn't seem like much, but the public facilities, our room (106) and the staff were outstanding. While we normally stay at the high-end chain hotels, we were so glad we didn't for our Kew West visit. Highly recommend this small gem to all.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobolina2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,776
    261
    52
    5
    1
See reviews for
196
1,518
40
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach,VA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My husband and I arrived in Key West for our daughter's destination wedding held at Hemmingway House, so of course, we chose the Orchid Key Inn because it was right around the corner. First of all, we were fortunate to check in early after our 3 hour drive from Florida City. Our room was amazing, luxurious, clean, comfortable and because we had a private patio outside our door, even better. Even tho our room was right along Duvall St. I didn't mind the outside noise of traffic or tourists. I'm an early riser so I would hear all the delivery trucks and roosters crowing. My husband apparently didn't notice any of the noises since he loved the comfort of the king size bed. Of course, another plus to the hotel is the complimentary breakfast and also complimentary bar drinks.(Family members staying at Casa Marina didn't have complimentary breakfast) The staff was friendly and helpful. I wish I had more time as a tourist, instead of 'mother of the bride' since I didn't have enough time to enjoy the full Key West experience. Everything from bars, restaurants, nail salon, CVS store, cigar stand was within walking distance, the humidity and heat didn't even get to me. I'm glad I chose this hotel, it made the wedding and my mini vacation a very memorable event for me and my husband.

Room Tip: Ask for the King Deluxe room which is more private, book early since most of the rooms sell out quic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ur2punny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Key West is my favorite place in the world. I have visited many times and stayed in a variety of places, from a trailer to a five star hotel. The Orchid Key Inn is the very best place I have ever stayed. The entire place is immaculate. From the lobby area, to the grounds, to the rooms, it is gorgeous. The bathroom was so wonderful, I wish I had something as nice in my own home.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cruzin404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is centrally located on the corner of Truman and Duval street. The rooms seem to be recently updated and were nice and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Brandon (at the front desk) was great at making restaurant suggestions and making reservations. The only reason it is not five stars is because of the price, however overall it was a very good experience.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cate V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penhook, VA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Orchid Key. The hotel is in an excellent location, close to most major attractions in Key West. The rooms, while a bit small, were equipped with a very comfortable bed and a superb shower - with overhead and hand-held shower heads. What made our experience there perfect was the manager, Kim. She was very friendly, knowledgeable and efficient, marking on a map all the sights we wanted to see and suggesting a few others. She made dinner reservations for us at restaurants we wanted to visit. They were excellent. If we return to Key West, we will certainly stay at the Orchid Key (and hope that Kim is still there).

Room Tip: We stayed in a room at the end of the driveway which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VATraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Orchid in September. September is the off season so we got an amazing deal. We loved the location - on Duval and only a short walk to the bustle of Mallory Square. It was very quiet, except a few guests checking out early woke us up one day. We chose the Orchid for the location and we were not disappointed. We had the standard king room, and it was perfectly adequate in size. The room, pool, bar, tables, hot tub - everything was clean. The staff was always friendly and helpful with recommendations. We said we'd only stay at the Orchid on future trips.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lissa3bu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights the last week of January. The rooms are tastefully decorated, clean and have comfortable beds. The staff are knowledgeable and friendly. We also enjoyed fabulous martini's made by bartender Mike during Happy Hour. Great location on Duval away from all the hustle and bustle. Nice pool and outdoor area.Thanks for a great time

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jelnur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
0.3 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
3.3 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.6 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Key Inn

Property: Orchid Key Inn
Address: 1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-3126
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Key Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Key Inn ranked in top 10 "Best Small Hotels in the United States"- Miami Herald.... The luxury Orchid Key is located on Duval Street and Truman; the very crossroads of Historic Old Town. Lush tropical landscapes surround our elegant amenity filled guest rooms and suites which surround our tranquil waterfalls, peaceful sun deck, heated pool, and spa. Everything the island is famous for is just foot steps outside our gates. Come experience the five orchid treatment. "Travelers Choice Award Top 10 Small Hotel as well as the Top 10 for Romantic in the USA 2013, 2014,and 2015". #1 For Highest guest satisfaction in Key West. The perfect location in Old Town Historic Key West surrounded by some of the finest dinning on Duval Street. Offering award-winning service and amenities of a luxury resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Orchid Key Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Key Hotel Key West
Orchid Key Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing