We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Second Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Orchid Key Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orchid Key Inn
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous Second Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

To celebrate our 25th anniversary, we decided to go to Key West for the first time. We picked the Orchid Key Inn based on fellow Tripadvisor reviews. Thanks reviewers - you were right, again! We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite, which was a large, beautiful room. The room had a jacuzzi, huge shower, fridge, coffee maker, and king bed. The free breakfast was very fresh and filling. They made sure I had non-dairy milk and plenty of food I could have. They also made sure they had gluten-free food for another guest. The pool is beautiful and refreshing. The bar is a beautiful spot, and we enjoyed the free drinks at Happy Hour. The staff was amazing - so helpful and friendly! They know the area and will not steer you wrong!

The inn I so the quiet side of Duvall Street. No need to move the car - walk or rent bikes. The location is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nhcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,760
    260
    52
    5
    1
See reviews for
196
1,501
40
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sharonville, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Not much else can be said that others haven't already written in previous reviews. I felt obligated to review the Orchid Key Inn because we had a wonderful 3 night stay and wished to restate or endorse all of the prior positive comments. Our original purpose for visiting Key West was to visit the Dry Tortugas National Park and not much else. We wound up liking Key West so much that we hated to leave, and one of the main reasons was the Orchid Key Inn. The hotel is small, but set on a well-maintained and lush property. Our room was small, but cozy; with a very comfortable king bed and a well equipped bathroom, nice and clean. One of the things we enjoyed the most was the blast of cold air that hit us when we came out of the late-July heat and into our room. Ours was the second room from Duval Street, and while there was some street noise we slept well There are a lot of chickens roaming around Key West (a LOT) so you may hear a rooster or two in the morning, but I'm sure this is the case if you stay anywhere in the Old Town. The refrigerator and microwave were handy, as well as the Keurig coffee maker in the room. The staff, especially Kim, was enthusiastic and full of recommendations for restaurants and sightseeing opportunities. You can leave your car parked - it is close enough to walk from here to either end of Duval Street, if not - a trolley during the day, or a taxi at night or early morning ($8 plus tip to the ferry dock for the National Park) will work. We spent some time in the bar at Happy Hour, and due to the size of the surroundings we could not avoid socializing with the fellow patrons. We met some nice folks from Florida, North Carolina, and the UK, all with their own stories to tell. The bartenders were funny. The pool is small but was never crowded. There were not a lot of kids running around, I believe this is due to the hotel's small number of suites, and the whole grounds seemed peaceful - ideal for adults. For the same rate, we had originally booked 3 nights at the Doubletree on the other end of the island (they also charged $10/day for parking), but cancelled (and gave up all those HH points) due to the Orchid Key Inn's proximity to Old Town and after reading the reviews here. I found the parking charge to be reasonable, compared to other cities we've stayed in. The Continental breakfast was good, a notch above what you might get at a Hampton Inn (but without a bunch of kids running amok), which was exactly as described and therefore expected. There was infused ice water available outside the office, which was pretty refreshing on a hot day. The Orchid Key Inn was a great find. Our stay was great, we got our money's worth, and I would recommend a stay here to any one of my friends or relatives.

Room Tip: The lower numbered rooms are near Duval Street, and may be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holley3618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Best hotel we ever stayed it. Very cozy with friendly staff. Cindy at the front desk arranged and took care of everything we asked for. She was wonderful and accommodating. So was Shawn and Jose as well. The complimentary champagne and flutes were a nice added touch to our stay. We were even allowed late checkout and left our car the final day to go exploring after checking out.

The rooms were quite small but our room was perfect. It faced the Jacuzzi and along the pool area and away from the noise of the pool doors and bar area. Everything was clean and the shower was like a big spa shower. Kriug coffee machine, ihome stereo/alarm clock, and big flat screen tv. Overall a nice room for two.

Terry at the Orchid bar was a sweet little lady. She was very interactive and funny to conversate with. Also makes the best drinks.

Overall a wonderfil stay

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mzvongxp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was our 4th annual visit to Key West and we wanted to try a new place to stay. Orchid Key Inn is "outstanding" for what we wanted. Small, intimate, centrally located and personal touches at every turn. This property is a renovated Motor Lodge type inn that was completely updated in the past 5-7 years. By renovated, I do mean, rebuilt on the inside. The marble and glass shower in this room was the size of my home bathroom (almost) and the quality in the room was superb. There are only 23 rooms arranged around a pool, offering an intimate setting. From the time we arrived, "Kim" at the front desk felt like a friend we had known for years. There is a bar that serves breakfast items at no cost and an afternoon Happy Hour with hors d' oeuvres that could be a light meal in itself. Location, while right on Duval, is at the quieter end and we experienced no noise whatsoever. I cannot say enough what a joy it was to spend 7-nights at this property. We will return next year.

Room Tip: Ask for room 122 123 or 124
See more room tips
Green Features: This is a "Green Hotel" and all the environmental practices stated on their site are true and correct.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWitt01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very well located in the center of Key West and very quiet. We liked the modern accommodation in a classic motel style. We found the hotel staff very friendly. We recommend this hotel when visiting Key West.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Lise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunwoody, GA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Nice, quiet hotel in the heart of Key West. Relaxing, chill pool. Updated rooms, with a great bar area by the pool. Good happy hour from 5pm to 7pm, plus free continental breakfast. Would definitely return!

Room Tip: all about the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We really enjoyed our time at the Orchid Key Inn. In the heart of Key West near the corner of Duval and Truman (aka Truval), it was perfectly located for all our explorations.

Most of the staff was very nice and they had a lovely pool and a cute little bar that was popular with the locals. The grounds were very pleasing and we enjoyed spending time at the motel during our down time. The continental breakfast was tasty and filling and the coffee was strong enough to please us.

We really appreciated the Orchid Key arranging for our affordable rental bikes, including delivery and pickup.

The room was very beautiful and comfortable, but ours had two drawbacks. The first was a lack of a dresser and drawer space. The second was soundproofing. We couldn’t hear the pool outside our door, but we could occasionally hear the office and room next to us. The bed was comfortable, the spacious shower was relaxing, and the bath amenities were lovely.

I definitely recommend the Orchid Key Inn.

Room Tip: Get a poolside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
0.3 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
3.3 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.6 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Key Inn

Property: Orchid Key Inn
Address: 1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-3126
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Key Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Key Inn ranked in top 10 "Best Small Hotels in the United States"- Miami Herald.... The luxury Orchid Key is located on Duval Street and Truman; the very crossroads of Historic Old Town. Lush tropical landscapes surround our elegant amenity filled guest rooms and suites which surround our tranquil waterfalls, peaceful sun deck, heated pool, and spa. Everything the island is famous for is just foot steps outside our gates. Come experience the five orchid treatment. "Travelers Choice Award Top 10 Small Hotel as well as the Top 10 for Romantic in the USA 2013, 2014,and 2015". #1 For Highest guest satisfaction in Key West. The perfect location in Old Town Historic Key West surrounded by some of the finest dinning on Duval Street. Offering award-winning service and amenities of a luxury resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orchid Key Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Key Hotel Key West
Orchid Key Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing