We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean well-appointed rooms and friendly service”
Review of Orchid Key Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Orchid Key Inn
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Clean well-appointed rooms and friendly service”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I visited here with my family this week. We rented two rooms and both were clean and well organized - an efficient use of the available space. The location is very convenient for downtown attractions like Duval Street, the Southernmost point and the Hemingway House. This hotel has an ice machine located outdoors near the pool which I found to be much more convenient than an indoor machine. The hotel staff was extremely helpful in resolving an error (which was my fault, not theirs) and remembered our names and checked up on us later to be sure everything was okay (it was great!). We'll definitely visit this hotel again if/ when we return to Key West!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tyalangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,837
    261
    52
    5
    1
See reviews for
205
1,557
42
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel is absolutely perfect.Having stayed in many different hotels recently, I honestly couldn't find a single fault with this place.It is a small establishment which made it more personal and intimate.The location is great, rooms were spotless and super comfy, breakfast was good and the staff make this place the amazing experience that it was.Happy hour with Terry brought all guests from around the world together as a group, which made for a funny evening.Cindy at the front desk is super friendly and helpful, and gave excellent recommendations for restaurants and excursions.It won't disappoint, we will be back for sure:)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosemadra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and I travel to key west often, however this was our first time staying here. The staff is incredible! I checked in with Cindy, and had a drink..(ok a lot of drinks)with terry the bartender. they are so friendly and accommodating. The staff itself makes the hotel.
The hotel is clean, the rooms were great. there is a fridge and microwave inside. It's located right off Duval street, perfect to be near the action. On site parking is available for 10 which is the cheapest I've seen. My room had a porch with a table and chairs for smoking. I loved it here. Terry has a great personality so make sure to visit her at the bar! Free breaker..happy hour specials.. Free drinks checking in! Well worth it!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glb1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placida, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had a wonderful experience here during our three night stay. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the property is immaculate. We are so glad to have found this little gem. We will stay at the Orchid Key Inn many times again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VLB33946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

To celebrate our 25th anniversary, we decided to go to Key West for the first time. We picked the Orchid Key Inn based on fellow Tripadvisor reviews. Thanks reviewers - you were right, again! We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite, which was a large, beautiful room. The room had a jacuzzi, huge shower, fridge, coffee maker, and king bed. The free breakfast was very fresh and filling. They made sure I had non-dairy milk and plenty of food I could have. They also made sure they had gluten-free food for another guest. The pool is beautiful and refreshing. The bar is a beautiful spot, and we enjoyed the free drinks at Happy Hour. The staff was amazing - so helpful and friendly! They know the area and will not steer you wrong!

The inn I so the quiet side of Duvall Street. No need to move the car - walk or rent bikes. The location is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nhcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharonville, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Not much else can be said that others haven't already written in previous reviews. I felt obligated to review the Orchid Key Inn because we had a wonderful 3 night stay and wished to restate or endorse all of the prior positive comments. Our original purpose for visiting Key West was to visit the Dry Tortugas National Park and not much else. We wound up liking Key West so much that we hated to leave, and one of the main reasons was the Orchid Key Inn. The hotel is small, but set on a well-maintained and lush property. Our room was small, but cozy; with a very comfortable king bed and a well equipped bathroom, nice and clean. One of the things we enjoyed the most was the blast of cold air that hit us when we came out of the late-July heat and into our room. Ours was the second room from Duval Street, and while there was some street noise we slept well There are a lot of chickens roaming around Key West (a LOT) so you may hear a rooster or two in the morning, but I'm sure this is the case if you stay anywhere in the Old Town. The refrigerator and microwave were handy, as well as the Keurig coffee maker in the room. The staff, especially Kim, was enthusiastic and full of recommendations for restaurants and sightseeing opportunities. You can leave your car parked - it is close enough to walk from here to either end of Duval Street, if not - a trolley during the day, or a taxi at night or early morning ($8 plus tip to the ferry dock for the National Park) will work. We spent some time in the bar at Happy Hour, and due to the size of the surroundings we could not avoid socializing with the fellow patrons. We met some nice folks from Florida, North Carolina, and the UK, all with their own stories to tell. The bartenders were funny. The pool is small but was never crowded. There were not a lot of kids running around, I believe this is due to the hotel's small number of suites, and the whole grounds seemed peaceful - ideal for adults. For the same rate, we had originally booked 3 nights at the Doubletree on the other end of the island (they also charged $10/day for parking), but cancelled (and gave up all those HH points) due to the Orchid Key Inn's proximity to Old Town and after reading the reviews here. I found the parking charge to be reasonable, compared to other cities we've stayed in. The Continental breakfast was good, a notch above what you might get at a Hampton Inn (but without a bunch of kids running amok), which was exactly as described and therefore expected. There was infused ice water available outside the office, which was pretty refreshing on a hot day. The Orchid Key Inn was a great find. Our stay was great, we got our money's worth, and I would recommend a stay here to any one of my friends or relatives.

Room Tip: The lower numbered rooms are near Duval Street, and may be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holley3618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Best hotel we ever stayed it. Very cozy with friendly staff. Cindy at the front desk arranged and took care of everything we asked for. She was wonderful and accommodating. So was Shawn and Jose as well. The complimentary champagne and flutes were a nice added touch to our stay. We were even allowed late checkout and left our car the final day to go exploring after checking out.

The rooms were quite small but our room was perfect. It faced the Jacuzzi and along the pool area and away from the noise of the pool doors and bar area. Everything was clean and the shower was like a big spa shower. Kriug coffee machine, ihome stereo/alarm clock, and big flat screen tv. Overall a nice room for two.

Terry at the Orchid bar was a sweet little lady. She was very interactive and funny to conversate with. Also makes the best drinks.

Overall a wonderfil stay

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mzvongxp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,682 reviews
0.3 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,757 reviews
3.3 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.6 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Key Inn

Property: Orchid Key Inn
Address: 1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-3126
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Key Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Key Inn ranked in top 10 "Best Small Hotels in the United States"- Miami Herald.... The luxury Orchid Key is located on Duval Street and Truman; the very crossroads of Historic Old Town. Lush tropical landscapes surround our elegant amenity filled guest rooms and suites which surround our tranquil waterfalls, peaceful sun deck, heated pool, and spa. Everything the island is famous for is just foot steps outside our gates. Come experience the five orchid treatment. "Travelers Choice Award Top 10 Small Hotel as well as the Top 10 for Romantic in the USA 2013, 2014,and 2015". #1 For Highest guest satisfaction in Key West. The perfect location in Old Town Historic Key West surrounded by some of the finest dinning on Duval Street. Offering award-winning service and amenities of a luxury resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Orchid Key Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Key Hotel Key West
Orchid Key Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing