We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, Clean, Beautiful & Worth Every Penny!”
Review of Orchid Key Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orchid Key Inn
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Wonderful! The Hotel is even more beautiful than displayed on the website. The room was clean and all the services were above and beyond all my expectation. We stayed in the King Deluxe Suite it was like staying in a spacious two bedroom apartment. There were a King size bed in the bedroom, but you also get the luxury of a Queen Size Sofa bed in the living room. The Hotel is in a quiet area, but still close enough where all the actions on Duval Street are in walking distance. My girls and I enjoyed the Hotel being close to Site Seeing, Shopping and Dinning. The pool was clean and the hot tub was just beautiful, accented by a waterfall. The happy hour offered by the Hotel was in a fabulous setting. The Continental breakfast by the pool is a fantastic way to start each morning. My girls and I enjoyed all the outstanding amenities at the hotel. Anyone planning a trip to Key West, FL should give this hotel a try. It will be money well spend. For my girls and me it was an experience like no other hotel we have stayed at before.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lustchos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,893 - 1,899 of 2,182 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2010

My wife and I arrived at the Orchid Key to celebrate our 28th Wedding Anniversary and discovered our every expectation was met. We had last stayed there almost 22 years prior when it was known as the the Key Lodge Motel. The hotel has since been completely remodeled and overhauled and is a great little place to stay. The staff was completely helpful and courteous, particularly Brandon who was able to provide numerous suggestions for enjoying a visit to Key West. Key West is his home, and he wants to share what he enjoys about the place with each of his guests. He has several suggestions and contacts throughout the island that are useful for getting the best value for your money. The bar is small, but designed for the hotel guests and Siobahn is not only a great bartender, but an engaging conversationalist who further enhances the atmosphere. The rooms are clean, beautifully decorated and functional. They are a bit small, but I simply use a room for sleeping so it met our needs perfectly. The location cannot be beat., right on Duval Street and close enough to the action on foot, but far enough away to ensure a restful night. The pool is fabulous, beautifully landscaped and relaxing. I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lonesomerhoades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

We really enjoyed the Orchid Key Inn, .It was very clean, nicely designed and decorated. It was off Duval enough for quiet but close enought to easily walk to the Duval action.

The pool was nice. The employees were helpful.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank our_mann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Stayed at the Orchid Key Inn over Memorial Day. A short trip (just 4 nights) but very relaxing. The Inn is a single-story, recently renovated motel, but the renovation was done very nicely with pleasing retro style. Glass tiles in bathroom, marble, nice colors, furniture, art, etc. Nice amenities like robes in the room, a free in-room safe and mini-fridge, coffee maker. Everything brand new, sparkling clean and perfectly maintained. Great service by the pool. If you are lucky to be there when she is on, Siobhan will take care of you wonderfully, bringing you refreshments like a watermelon daquri cooler (yum) ! Just grab a comfy lounge chair, order a tropical blender drink and feel the stress of daily life melt away. Pool is not huge (most Key West pools are not) but it is big enough to go for a refreshing dip when it gets too hot, or good to lounge around on the wide steps in the shallow end. Pool is warm, not too chilly. There is also a nice jacuzzi whirlpool/spa with a waterfall feature, very relaxing. Grounds nicely landscaped with pleasant tropical feel. Tables with unbrelllas surround the pool area. Satisfying breakfast included with fruits, cereal, bagels, toast, english muffins, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, juice, coffee, tea and pastries. Happy hour includes a free first drink and snacks, and discounted subsequent drinks. If you get lazy and just want to chill by the pool, you can order lunch delivered from a choice of nearby restaurants. We did this one day and it was great! Hotel is walking distance to many attractions (lighthouse, butterfly garden, beach) and many nice restaurants. We parked upon arrival and did not use the car until we left. Cabs are abundant and not too expensive. Guests are mostly upscale couples (of all types). No kids at all while we were there which we were happy about (peace and quiet at the pool all day) All in all good value for the money in Key West. Highly Recommend this place (and I am picky). See Brandon at the front desk for restaurant and tour recommendations, he is very nice and gives great advice. Great staff, very friendly and welcoming. They treat you right. If you want a great Key West getaway with no stress or problems, stay here. Only suggestion for improvement would be to use disinfectant/room freshener that is less strong, or more "green" . Our room smelled kind of chemically, curiously like horseradish, and the odor lingered in our clothes after we got home. It was not a big deal, but was noticable. A small blemish on an otherwise perfect stay.
Recommend if you stay here you go see the butterfly garden 2 blocks away,even if you think it will be corny or cheezy - it is not, it is acually surprisingly beautiful and quite relaxing. I have been to several of these and this was the best I've seen. It was much more enjoyable than we expected.Not just for kids/famlies.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AquaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Orchid Key Inn is a treasure. This is a quaint hotel with updated rooms in a trendy pleasant beachy style. Cleanliness is a top priority here. Everything is in walking distance. The complimentary happy hour is much fun. Breakfast is adequate. There are complimetary plush towels located poolside. Parking is $8 a night, which wasn't well advertised, but wasn't an issue. We highly recommend this hotel and will definately be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benj3_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

"Wow" what an experience!!!!!!! "A Luxurious Piece of Heaven on Earth." That is how we describe Orchid Key Inn My husband and I traveled to Key West for a four night visit and booked a room at the Orchid Key Inn in Key West. We chose the hotel from the positive reviews on the Internet but our stay was even better than anything anyone had previously posted. The outside temperature was in the high 90's but our room was the perfect coolness we desired. The efficiency of the air conditioning was nothing compared to the staff. There is a bar on premises that is beyond delightful, opening to the pool. It is also where the complimentary breakfast is served daily. The drinks were wonderful, hugh, unbelievable affordable and the perfection of the bartender is beyond words. She knew how to make any drink and no matter what we threw at her, she fulfilled. The wine list is extensive with wonderfully affordable wines. The Inn is located in the most perfect location in Key West, on Duval St. and Truman, and is walking distance to absolutely everywhere. The palms and greenery on the grounds are intermingled with flowing fountains and little alcove seating areas. The rooms are gorgeous with luxury bedding and perfectly comfortable beds The marble bathrooms are filled with amenities and the shower is hugh and each room is eqluiped with a 42" plasma TV. I understand the suites have two 42" plasma TVs in each. The rooms have the most incredible sound proofing I have ever known. You can hear nothing from the outside or any other room. The free WiFi and parking were just additional pluses. The staff will help you with anything and everything you need. I have never recommended any place I have ever stayed higher than I do the Orchid Key Inn. Have fun if you go! We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goldie246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

We stayed 3 nights at the end of May/beginning of June. This hotel cares about it's guests, & they have gone lengths to make this hotel enjoyable to guests. The rooms were very clean and the bed & even towels were very comfortable. Rooms are relatively modern and aesthetically pleasing. We stayed in the Jr. Spa Suite; it was plenty of room for 2; and the bathroom almost doubled the size of the room. The pool was very refreshing. Very clean, yet you wouldn't even know there was chlorine mixed in the water. The breakfast was sufficient, not fancy. For a great breakfast one morning, go to the Six-Toed Cat (2 blocks away on Whitehead St.) The happy hour and bar (& bartender...Shioban, of course) were great! Free drinks for guest from 5 to 6 and 1/2 price drinks from 6 to 7...very reasonable. Other benefits: free wired internet, mini fridge, pool bar opens at noon, lots of shady palms to lounge under, and a great location to boot! 1.5 blocks to the Hemingway House, 1 block to the lighthouse, 4.5 blocks to the southernmost buoy, & 3 blocks to the Cork & Stogie wine & cigar shop, and of course all the shops and restaurants right on Duval.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lewy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,708 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#5 of 51 in Key West
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
3.3 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#7 of 51 in Key West
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Key Inn

Address: 1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-3126
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: £226 - £439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Key Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Key Inn ranked in top 10 "Best Small Hotels in the United States"- Miami Herald.... The luxury Orchid Key is located on Duval Street and Truman; the very crossroads of Historic Old Town. Lush tropical landscapes surround our elegant amenity filled guest rooms and suites which surround our tranquil waterfalls, peaceful sun deck, heated pool, and spa. Everything the island is famous for is just foot steps outside our gates. Come experience the five orchid treatment. "Travelers Choice Award Top 10 Small Hotel as well as the Top 10 for Romantic in the USA 2013, 2014,and 2015". #1 For Highest guest satisfaction in Key West. The perfect location in Old Town Historic Key West surrounded by some of the finest dinning on Duval Street. Offering award-winning service and amenities of a luxury resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Orchid Key Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Key Hotel Key West
Orchid Key Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing