We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Place”
Review of Orchid Key Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Orchid Key Inn
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2010

My boyfriend and I were only supposed to stay 2 nights, but extended our stay for another night. This place is located right on Duval street, although in a quieter part of town. It is within walking distance of either side of the island, north or south. It is a very updated, chic version of the old school motel. The rooms might be a little tiny, but they are very nicely decorated, and very clean. The bathroom is roomy and very clean. Bath and Body shop products add a nice touch, as do the nice flat screen tv, and bathrobes. Continental breakfast and a free drink for happy hour....what more can you want? Oh...wait....a great concierge too. Don't forget to ask Brandon where to go, what to do, and what to eat!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoziNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,891 - 1,897 of 2,190 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2010

The Orchid Key Inn is located right on Duval street but in the quieter side of town. However it is within walking distance of the bars and Mallory Square. The room was spotless. It was comfortable and cold (August in Key West, you want cold). The pool is small, but the pool area is comfortable. Breakfast consists of breads, fruit, yogurt, and coffee and juice. It is enough to get your day started. Happy Hour at the Almond Tree Inn last year, which I believe is owned by the same company, was all you can drink beer and wine. This time we were given a pass for one beer or wine. I agree with the previous comment that Brandon is great, because he was very nice when we checked in. I really enjoyed our time here and am sure this is where I will stay next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travelMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Orchid Key Inn for two nights this past week and enjoyed our stay! The rooms were very nicely renovated with great decorations, good use of space, wonderful bathroom, comfy bed, nice (large) tv, and were very clean!!! The room was a little small but wasn't a concern for us. Typically when people say small room it evokes images of a tiny bed, no storage or amenities, and a little bathroom but this is NOT the case here. The King sized room we booked had a large king bed, armoire, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, i-pod dock, alarm clock, bath & body works soaps, shampoos, conditioners, and lotions, hair dryer, and more!
The hotel also offers parking on site for $8/day and they recommended a bike rental place across the street for day trips (or longer if you'd like). (Parking elsewhere can be hard to find and pricey.)
The pool, bar, and check-in area were all very nice as well. The bar was small and could only accomodate a few guests inside at a time but there is plenty of seating just outside right by the pool! We were given 2 complimentary drink passes for each night we were there to use during the hotels happy hour from 5-7pm. This was a great way to start our night! Breakfast had a good spread and was served out of the bar as well. They served the typical fresh fruit, pastries, juice, coffee, yougart, toast, bagels, and boiled eggs.
The Inn was right on Duval street at the corner of Duval and Trueman. It was more in the center of Duval which made it the perfect location for going to either end of the island. There was maybe a 15 min. walk down to locations like Sloppy Joes and Mallory Square and on bikes 1/3 of that time. This did keep the Inn quiet but still close to things to do and see.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rskill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Met Brandon while at dinner at nearby 915 Duval Street and he was very helpful in setting us up with some of the best attractions in town. Love him! Love the look, feel and amenities at the Orchid Key Inn. Nice job, gang!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreshCreamRestaurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Just checked out of the Orchid Key Inn this morning and I must say we really enjoyed our stay. I researched hotels for weeks before I chose this one, based mostly on Trip Advisor reviews, and I was not disappointed at all. It is a wonderful combination of Old Florida and New Chic. The furnishings are stylish (whoever decorated the place has better taste than me!); the bedding and linens are sumptious, great Bath and Body Works gels and shampoos; two large flat screen TVs (we had a King Suite) and a perfect location at the end of Duval. Close to everything but quiet at night. I absolute LOVED the bathrooms. Such luxury! The pool was small but warm and never crowded or noisy. The OKI offers a nice continental breakfast in the morning in the Orchid Bar which we didn't know about until we smelled the coffee. We ate poolside - just lovely! Every member of the staff was laid back and helpful. We loved Key West and will stay at the OKI the next time we go back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Susieq98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

This is the coolest, cleanest, comfiest motel in the keys. It's old Florida architecture with all modern upgrades. The location is perfect. The staff is great. There is a very cool diner across the street. I would stay here again and again and again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Great experience at the Orchid Key. Location right on Duval street couldn't have been better and rooms, pool area etc. were all renovated with style. We had a two room suite, which was just perfect for a family with children. Not expensive on the Key West level although more than we usually had to pay for a Florida hotel. Parking right at the door for only $8 a day. Can highly recommend this.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingWilbury50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,716 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#5 of 51 in Key West
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
715 reviews
0.3 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Key Inn

Address: 1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-3126
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: £191 - £461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Key Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Key Inn ranked in top 10 "Best Small Hotels in the United States"- Miami Herald.... The luxury Orchid Key is located on Duval Street and Truman; the very crossroads of Historic Old Town. Lush tropical landscapes surround our elegant amenity filled guest rooms and suites which surround our tranquil waterfalls, peaceful sun deck, heated pool, and spa. Everything the island is famous for is just foot steps outside our gates. Come experience the five orchid treatment. "Travelers Choice Award Top 10 Small Hotel as well as the Top 10 for Romantic in the USA 2013, 2014,and 2015". #1 For Highest guest satisfaction in Key West. The perfect location in Old Town Historic Key West surrounded by some of the finest dinning on Duval Street. Offering award-winning service and amenities of a luxury resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Orchid Key Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Key Hotel Key West
Orchid Key Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing