We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southernmost Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

We stayed three nights in Room 641, being a third floor Distant Ocean View Balcony King. Lovely large room, very clean with a huge, well-appointed bathroom. The ocean view was closest to being in a much more expensive beachfront room. Convenient free parking on the ground floor. The grounds were attractive and very well kept, as was the pool area. The in room bar fridge was not working on arrival, and a replacement fridge was brought up immediately. All staff were extremely friendly. The location on the southern end of Duval Street made it easy to walk its lengh (25 minutes) and see most of the attractions. We ate a few times at the Southernmost Cafe on the beach next to the hotel, and the food was great and the atmosphere fun.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Value-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,814
    1,055
    326
    125
    69
See reviews for
1,050
3,222
76
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,158)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
219 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

We had an oceanfront room right on the man-made beach. Truly wonderful room with a supremely comfortable bed. Everything you could want in a bathroom - roomy shower stall and jacuzzi tub, and plenty of towels. Nice seersucker robes. I enjoyed our little patio with lounge chairs - a nice place to listen to the waves and palm trees. Everyone on the staff was very helpful and friendly. The happy hour at the beach cafe was a great deal - we went each night we were there. Rum runners and tuna sliders. Yum.

Room Tip: Go for the oceanfront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NotALostWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

My daughter, age 12, and I recently returned from our first trip to Key West and a four-night stay at Southernmost on the Beach. This hotel is every bit as nice--and even better--than all the rave reviews indicate. From the moment of our arrival to our departure, the friendly service we received was on par with the beautiful location, facilities, and dining. We stayed in a room with 2 extremely comfortable queen/double beds and a wonderful partial ocean view. The bathroom was large with a huge walk-in shower. The pool area is clean and sparkling with plentiful lounge chairs with excellent pool-side service and good food. The food and table service at the open-air restaurant on the beach, where we ate breakfast every day and dined twice at night, was likewise outstanding and reasonably priced. To top it off, this hotel does not nickel-and-dime you: wireless internet service and parking are both free to guests!

You'll find lots of fun things to do in Key West. Located at the southernmost end of Duval Street, the hotel is within easy walking distance of many attractions you won't want to miss, including the Hemingway house and the Butterfly Museum, and the walk to the historic end of Duval is an easy 15-20 minute stroll from the hotel. If you prefer to take a taxi, it's short $10-$12 ride to the marina at Mallory Square. Be sure to go there one evening to see the famous Key West sunset and enjoy the many performing artists (don't miss the cat man's show--he has cats doing some tricks you would not think cats would be willing to do), after which you can find many great dock-side restaurants for dinner. One place to consider dining is the Conch Republic--excellent food.

This will not be our last visit to Key West, and when we return we will consider staying nowhere else other than Southernmost on the Beach!

Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RCBaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

I've stayed at this hotel twice and absolutely love it. With multiple pools and beach access, along with a great location, its the best hotel to stay at for the money. Plus there is plenty of parking room which they don't charge for.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne54171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

We booked this hotel based on the other reviews from Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. The Southernmost on the Beach is a great hotel with all of the resort amenities. We stayed in one of the newly renovated West Lawn rooms and the furnishings and decor were beautiful, modern, and chic. The ocean view was OUTSTANDING!!! There is a shared balcony outside of the room with seating, which allowed us to view the ocean, as well as the action at the beach, lawn, and pool. Bathroom was on the small side, but shower was big and beautiful. Vanity was located outside of the bathroom, which was very convenient, but not much storage for our toiletries. Also, not a lot of places to hang wet towels, bathing suits, etc. The hotel is located adjacent to one of the only beaches in Key West. It is a public beach, but hotel guests get beach chairs and towels for free. The hotel's pool was very lively and crowded at all hours of the day. We ended up using the pool across the street at another of the hotel's properties and were very pleased - it was less crowded and much more quiet and peaceful, which suited our needs. We found it great that guests from all of the properties the hotel owns (Southernmost Hotel on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel, La Mer, and Dewey House) have access to the amenities from all of the other properties. All are located adjacent to one another. We actually may try staying at one of the smaller properties on our next stay, but we would also be just as satisfied staying at Southernmost on the Beach again. Also, we tried the hotel's restaurant (Southernmost Cafe on the Beach) on our last night and were pleasantly surprised at how delicious the food was and at how great the prices were - there was excellent service and it was a great value; plus it's one of the only Key West dining options located right on the beach with beautiful ocean views. Overall, we had an excellent stay. What is great about Southermost is that you get to stay at a wonderful, high-end resort with more of a personal feel (nice that it's not a big chain - no resort fee and free parking!). The hotel was a bit trendier and more crowded than we typically like, but the ocean views, service, and access to all of the desired amenities definitely kept us satisfied and very happy guests. Note - the hotel is located on the "quieter" end of Duval Street, so it's a short walk up Duval to get to more of the action.

Room Tip: West Lawn is lively, but ocean views are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenbee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2011

We loved this hotel. The location was perfect with eveything you need - pool, beach, quiet or party. Our room was on the first floor and had an ocean view with tons of seating outside for lounging around. The pool area was crowded but there was plenty of quiet beach area that you could relax at. The rooms were very nice, well maintained and were cleaned every day. The hotel staff did an excellent job of keeping the property pristine. It was close to everything you would want to do but far enough away from the party scene. We did rent an electric car while we were there which made our stay very enjoyable. We usually don't sleep well when away from home but to our surprise we did get plenty of rest as it was quiet and dark - two things we need to sleep well. We will absolutely stay at this property again. Kind of pricey but well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherylhunka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

We have stayed here for 10 years in a row. It gets better each year. The hotel is meticulously maintained and the staff is superb!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lambchopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Property: Southernmost Beach Resort
Address: 1319 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
#6 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel
Southernmost Beach Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing