We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just back from our 4th year at the best hotel I've ever been to!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southernmost Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Just back from another wonderful trip to this gorgeous hotel in Key West. The staff are so friendly and the service is second to none. Place is spotlessly clean and the location is to die for! Ask for an ocean view room on the West Lawn - you will not be disappointed! The pool is amazing and there is live music every day. The staff can't do enough for you. Thanks to Greg by the pool who will chat to you and dance while he works :) and also to Heather who brings you all the food and drink you need and always has time for a chat! This review would not be complete without a Huge thank you to Boomer, the activities director. For me, (and many others) Boomer is an integral part of what makes a holiday so great at the Southernmost. His beer and wine schools at 3pm are a must! A good way to meet the other guests and have lots of fun! As is his hula hoop class every morning at 9am (I speak from experience!) He is assisted by the lovely Mark who is proud to hold the title 'King of Fantasy Fest 2012' after raising $47,000 for an Aids Charity. Well deserved Mark! And Jessica, a font of knowledge on fine wines. The Beach Cafe is a great place to eat - the staff there are so friendly and the food is delicious! Thank you to all the staff for making our holiday the best yet! I can write a review about this wonderful place, but it doesn't begin to describe how amazing it really is. You need to experience it for yourselves! We're already sorting out dates to go back at the first opportunity and I can't wait!

Room Tip: West Lawn, ocean view or at the end of block B. Any room in block C or Island suite is close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tabby761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,932)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,750 - 3,756 of 5,932 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2013

First and foremost, many thanks to all of the great contributors to TA! Honestly, I wouldn't even think of planning a vacation without consulting all of the great reviews and comments (good & bad!)...now on to Southernmost on the Beach:
Wow! Location location location. Walk to Hemingway's House, walk to Southernmost Point, walk to Mallory Square. Or, rent a bike from the hotel and get acquainted with the beautiful houses in the historic neighborhoods. Bike past beautiful and lush shade trees and tropical fauna all along the beautiful streets! At night we would get dressed up for dinner and grab a cab from Southernmost to town (about $8 bucks). During the day we enjoyed the pool (there are 3 to choose from!) that overlooks the Atlantic while dancing to the tropical live music sounds. James at the pool bar was THE man serving up Key West Lemonade and Blackened Mahi sandwiches! Highly recommended also are the seared tuna and coconut shrimp appetizers! Mornings we took a stroll on the beach next to Southernmost to the cafe and enjoyed Lobstercake Benedicts! Also tried the Key West Benedict (Key West pink shrimp & asparagus) and regular Eggs Benedict--you honestly cannot go wrong with any of them! Try the omelet of the day and quiche of the day. All of the breakfasts we had were amazing! Sit at the back of the bar and get great service while taking in the ocean views!
We stayed in a King West lawn room second floor. SO glad we payed a little extra for this luxury. Waking up every morning with a wonderful ocean view framed by the swaying palm trees was such a wonderful start to our day! Very comfortable bed and spaciously appointed. Our room was right next to the corner room, #622, so we had great views--morning coffee from our balcony over the west lawn every morning was perfect!
Everyone that works at this hotel is super friendly! Make sure you see Julie the Concierge! She set us up with some unforgettable excursions and was so helpful with questions about the area! We did the free wine school and beer school, both of which were really fun too (you're welcome Boomer!). Kudos to Alix the bellman - you always had a smile and I never had to open the doors when you were around! We experienced some amazing dinners, Michael's and Rooftop in town were our favorites! Julie set us up with the wine and cheese sunset sail (about 20 ppl)--a must for wine lovers! And we did the big catamaran champagne sunset cruise..not as fun (120 ppl) but by the end of the cruise and a few champagnes later we were all smiles!
It was always so nice walking back to Southernmost on the Beach. We spend quite a bit of time in the Austin downtown area and I can tell you I felt more safe walking Key West at night than downtown Austin.
Keeping it real, two things that I did NOT like: no room service. Coffee is a short walk and the cups are VERY small. And, while we liked being able to charge to our room, the server asks OUTLOUD your room number. This happened both at the bar and cafe. We questioned the bartender and he said they have not had a problem with someone trying to use this info fraudulently, However, anyone from off the street can come onto the Southernmost property and use the pools and cafe (they do not check to see if you are a guest). These two things definitely will NOT stop me from coming back though.
We can't wait to plan our next trip and stay here! Cheers!

Room Tip: King west lawn second floor high number
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasLonghornmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here during our destination wedding trip and loved it! The hotel rooms were very nice and clean, the staff was helpful and polite, the pool was great, and the beach/beach restaurant were really nice! It's on the opposite end of Duval Street from the loud nightlife so it's a little more quiet, but not too far if you want to go party. A lot of our wedding guests stayed there as well, and everyone seemed to really enjoy it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morgan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

My boyfriend and I went to Southernmost on the Beach and had an amazing time. Pool tranquil was our favorite spot. The other pool was great, but had more of a family vibe. We loved the poolside service.They were very attentive, but not too overbearing. Greg was our favorite! The drinks were also delish! We ordered them with an extra shot of rum, which made them even better :)

One of the best parts of the hotel was being able to walk right out onto a beautiful beach. We liked the beach in the back where the ping pong tables were. It's pretty private and did not seem overly crowded.

The bar on the beach which doubles as a very good restaurant was really nice as well. We got breakfast and drinks there a few times. My boyfriend would get French toast which he thought was great. There are also many great places to eat in walking distance.

As far at the room itself-it was great. Very clean and comfortable. The bay windows were a great feature. The cleaning crew was very "on it." We stepped out of our room and would come back to a very clean room. The TV in the room was also huge and good quality. Parking was also very close and conveniently located by the rooms.

Great vacation spot overall. We recommend it!

Room Tip: We loved our ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our resort. I am happy to read that you had “an amazing time” and enjoyed our newly renovated Tranquility pool. It has certainly become a favorite spot with our guests. Key West is a fun place to explore and while it’s true that we don’t have a lot of beaches here our resort if fortunate to be situated adjacent to South Beach and have our own private tanning beach as well. It sounds like you had an overall great time while staying with us and I am so happy you shared your thoughts. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Key West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Loved this hotel. Front desk personnel were warm and welcoming. The room was well-appointed and inviting. Located within walking distance of Duval Street nightlife and entertainment, but far enough away to be peaceful and relaxing. Great food at the poolside grill. My husband and I spent our anniversary here and it was a special time. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Room with balcony overlooking the ocean was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am so happy to read that you and your husband had a special time with us for your anniversary. We love to celebrate our guests’ special occasions and it gives us great pleasure when we can help make them exceptional. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Key West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Stayed in October 2012 and cannot wait to go back. The room (overlooking the ocean) was beautifully and comfortably furnished and had everything we wanted. The whole place was spotless, from the rooms to the pools and everywhere between.

The staff were excellent - particular Boomer who we did a beer tasting event with one afternoon. Great fun and a perfect host!

The numerous pools were all perfect. As were the snacks and drinks from the bars.

Location wise, this is at the quieter end of Duval Street - everything feels a little calmer and more relaxed, but you know everything is just a short walk away (passing some great little cafes and a wine bar enroute!)

Can't reccomend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moods_Notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. I think it’s wonderful that even 6 months later your memories of your time with us are so vivid and pleasant. This is truly gratifying and I can’t thank you enough for sharing this with us. Exceptional customer service is at the core of all our actions and I’m just thrilled to know we were able to give you a lasting memory of your holiday. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Key West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed at SouthernMost on the Beach in the spring of 2012 and decided to stay there again this year. In fact, we couldn't resist booking before we left and received a 10% discvount on our return as well! We absolutely LOVE it! The rooms are classy, well finished and clean. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. The desk people are incredibly friendly and helpful. We ate at Southernmost Cafe which is an open air venue right on the beach and the food is great. This is the ideal place to stay. You are within walking distance of everything on Duval Street, and yet it is the perfect escape to the quiet end of the Street at the end of the night! The pool is wonderful as well with plenty of great lounge chairs to relax in all day long while being pampered by the pool and bar staff and entertained by live musicians every afternoon! They also have a wide variety of fun activities everyday, ranging from things such as beer and wine school to snorkel lessons to hula hoop contests. Our room was an Oceanfront King and you literally stepped out of our room and onto the sand and palm trees where we loved to relax in one of the hammocks in the evenings under the stars and enjoy the sea breezes. Just perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 41michelleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our property. It sounds like you took full advantage of all the resort has to offer and enjoyed a bit of sight-seeing in Key West. I am very happy to read you are a returning guest and took advantage of the re-booking discount and I know the rest of the staff share my thoughts when I say pampering our guests is a pleasure. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you again when you return to Key West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.4 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.8 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#8 of 51 in Key West
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#7 of 51 in Key West
762 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.9 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Address: 1319 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-3118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
#6 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £227 - £491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel
Southernmost Beach Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing