We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southernmost Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We booked this trip at the end of December for an early January stay. We have normally stayed at Santa Maria Suites, but they were booked solid. Friends of ours have stayed here so we decided to give it a try. The hotel has a perfect location. The rooms are angeled so that most every one has a partial ocean view, some have full ocean view, some are parking lot view. Our room had a partial ocean/garden view. The room and the grounds are as clean as can be. The gardens are beautiful. The pool areas are beautifully maintained. The location can't be beat, the quiet end of Duval St. Walking distance to great shops and restaurants. The pros and cons.....Being used to the Suite life at Santa Maria, we missed the 2 bedrooms/2 bathrooms/ kitchen/3 tvs. We are 2 parents and 2 daughters ages 18 and 21, so we were a bit tight in a double room, but we made it work. The location had 3 pools to choose from, not to mention that being right in the beach is a real "pro". The staff at the restaurant and pools were top notch. The food and drinks at the pool and Southern Most Cafe are great and reasonably priced. Meghan at the pool bar was sweet, personable, and had great local recommendations for restaurants!
Small cons...the front desk staff seemed overwhelmed and short staffed at times. We were checked in fine and did not have any other reasons to visit the front desk until the last morning when our room keys stopped working. We went to the front desk to have them fixed. This took 4-5 trips back and forth to the front desk as they kept resetting them. A bellman stepped in and tried to help at that point since the 2 clerks were so busy with other guests and we had to wait in line each time. The bellman found a maintenance man who determined that the lock assembly was bad and needed to be replaced which he did. It all took about 2 hours. I asked to have our check out time extended since we lost those couple of hours using our room. We kept the room until 2:30 ( original check out time was supposed to be 11).
That was a small con after 5 great nights. The ammenities were replaced every day with 2 of each item. The first day I asked the housekeeper for extra towels since there were 4 of us and they were there each day. Pool towels were plentiful and the pool areas were kept neat at all times. There were daily activities listed on event boards around the property. My daughter was a bit disappointed when the activities she planned to attend were "postponed" due to weather, although they were scheduled to take place under a pavilion.
At check in, we noticed a sign for a $25 per night resort charge. Although I booked through Orbitz and was told our "special deal" was free parking and internet, we were still charged this fee nightly. The sign said the fee included parking (we did not have a car), internet, newspaper, pool towels, bottled water in our room, daily activities, and use of beach chairs.
I guess in the future I would prefer if those that brought cars paid to park them, newspapers could be purchased if wanted ( we never opened any of them). Bottled water could be available for purchase in the lobby (I think we left 6-8 bottles in our room refrigerator when we left since we never drank it all) and daily activities were held rain or shine under the pavillion ( since we were charged a fee for them).
I asked to have the fee adjusted since I was sold a package that included 2 of these items already but was told to take it up with Orbitz.
There are bike rentals located on property which was convenient and an efficient way to get around the island. The deli across the street (Ana's) is a great spot for deli sandwiches, breakfast sandwiches, or the forgotten items from home.
Overall, our stay was wonderful and I would not hesitate to stay again or recommend this hotel to a friend

Room Tip: If you would like a special view or lacation, don't hesitate to ask when booking. Several build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lpfetzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am happy to read that you and your family had such a nice first time visit with us. Our recent addition of a resort fee is a small fee that covers several amenities our guests enjoy. While parking was not something you needed it also covered your beach towels, lounge chairs, access to 3 poools, internet access, a fitness room, 2 business centers, in room waters, newspapers, daily activities (weather permitting), local phone calls, in room bathrobes and use of the public beach lounge chairs. While all services may not be utilized we hope the convenience of having them readily available enhances our guests stay. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you again and providing you with exceptional customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,873)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,277 - 3,283 of 5,873 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

We have been to this hotel 3 times and we have generally enjoyed it. It is in a great location away from the bustle and in front of the ocean. One thing that kills me is that every time we check in, no matter what the time or day, they tell us our room is not ready. The first time I thought it was bad luck, the second time I thought it particular. This time I am convinced that they don't want to give the rooms up before their official check in time of 4 PM. No matter we were there for 4 nights and rented the deluxe suite, that seems to be there policy. This is ridiculous. If it isn't ready, fine, but this is a lousy way to start our weekend every time changing clothes in a bathroom.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nyckk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. I am sorry to read that we were unable to check you into your room early. We strive to provide our guests with exceptional customer service every day by honoring early check in requests however, this can be challenging during our busiest times. In an effort to reduce inconvenience to our guess we will happily store luggage, allow access to several changing rooms with full showers and allow our guests to begin using our facilities immediately. I'm sorry we were not able to meet your expectations but I do hope you will give us another opportunity to make your next visit exceptional. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

rooms are solid, clean, modern and location is superb. the keys, from what i have seen over the years, really does not offer a true top notch hotel. This is probably as good as it gets. If that does not sound excited it's because the internet is reminiscent of those early aol disks that used to be mailed to your home and dial up!! can't do much business on this wifi!! likewise, i was locked out of the room twice tonight as the keys that they use here apparently tend to erase themselves. the front desk happily keeps replacing them! yet, if your destination is key west then this property has taken over the long ago lost top spot from the casa marina and the reach. despite its shortcomings it is superior to those other tired and nearby properties. just plan on dial up speeds, at best, on the internet and a room lock out or two…….otherwise pleasant.

Room Tip: if you want ocean front, be sure to get ocean front and not "distant ocean view".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am very happy to read that your stay with us was so nice and you found our accommodations of superior quality. I do apologize that you had difficulty with our Wi-Fi during your time with us, we have been experiencing some very interesting weather as of late and I’m afraid it effected our connections. I am happy to report that our Wi-Fi connections are running perfectly now. I’m glad our front desk staff was able to assist you with your room keys (as a side note, cell phones can demagnetize encoded keys so we like to suggest keeping keys separate from phones). Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to Key West and to Southernmost on the Beach and it's safe to say that the resort is about as close to perfect as possible.

The ocean view room with two double beds in the A building is spacious with a great terrace overlooking a lush tropical garden and the ocean. The only complaint is that most of ocean view rooms have a side view due to the way they sit on the property.

The layout of the resort is what makes it so good. It as a great pool with pool bar overlooking the beach. The rest of the resort sits out on what seems like a pier surrounded by the water with lounge chairs and hammocks everywhere. At the end of the pier are steps going in the ocean. The kids loved walking down the stairs into the ocean and swimming to the beach.

The beach is nice and probably the best you'll find in Key West. There is a great restaurant and bar on the beach. Great staff, live music and a perfect location on the quieter end of Duval. We'll be back.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank Tlivac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We were in room 631 and had a beautiful view of the ocean from our deck. The rooms were VERY CLEAN and very comfortable and nicely decorated. Hotel staff were helpful and they even had wine tasting events as well as other things for you if you wished to do. The restaurant has excellent food, though you might want to make sure you have reservations for the busier times. The location is great to go to everything, but yet is so peaceful and quiet when you're at the hotel/resort. This is where we will be staying when we go back and we definitely will go back, I'm sure. Worth the price.

Room Tip: Pick a high floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickanamelas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Our experience was similar to most of the positive reviews. It exceeded our expectations which were high to begin with. My only concern is that it will be full next time we want to return!

As other reviewers noted, guests stay in a luxury inn that is within and has the amenities of a large resort. It's a winner - expensive but worth it. Our room was lovely with a garden view and a small balcony. While I might have preferred an ocean view room, we spent most of our down time lounging/reading/ipadding on the ocean view terrace so didn't really miss the view from our room. We appreciated the inn being adults only.

The inn staff, especially Sam and Randall, are terrific and quite helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BostonJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This hotel is in a great location and it is nice that this hotel shares its amenties with its other hotels in the area, it gives the guest lots of options for different pools and bars. The hotel offers bike rentals as well!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissacrum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.4 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.1 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#7 of 51 in Key West
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#8 of 51 in Key West
231 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Address: 1319 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-3118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#4 Spa Hotel in Key West
#7 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £235 - £426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel
Southernmost Beach Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing