We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 nights with a group of 40”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southernmost Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“4 nights with a group of 40”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Excellent time was had by all, great rooms, great service and fantastic to be on the beach in KW. Only fault I can put on the place is the lack of a hot tub(s). Otherwise all around great, Tim and Carrie were both great poolside bartenders as well

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trevor t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,995
    1,106
    346
    136
    73
See reviews for
1,107
3,385
88
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,196)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I arrived on an early flight and got to the hotel around 11am. I knew that rooms would not be available for my group that early, however we were able to leave our bags and enjoy the Hotels amenities. The guys at the front desk then would call us when our rooms became available. It was a painless process and tha was just the begining. Any time I needed anything the concierge was able to handle for me at a moments notice. I found there was no reason to leave our hotel, we enjoyed each pool bar, the beach bar as well as the ocean activities. I found the whole staff was very hospitable and attentive. Definitely will be back to stay at the Southernmost hotel. Job well done. Thank you for the great time.

Room Tip: Ask for the ocean views, they can be beat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeTubz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Had a great opportunity to get away from the frigid and booked a room on the water at SMOB. We got a couple days of great weather and basically pool-sided. A thanks to Greg and Heather. And a very special thanks to Megan who was a great mixologist and recommender of great restaurants. Also thanks to Sully for night time "entertainment" poolside.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomKo428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Southernmost on the Beach is a crown jewel of the Southernmost hotel collection. Our room boasted a wraparound balcony directly overlooking the ocean. The rooms are bright and airy, the bathroom is spacious, the beds are super comfortable. The staff is extremely friendly and competent - the bartenders at the pool are always willing to mix drinks not on the menu (visit Megan during the day and Sully in the evenings for the friendliest bar service!), the landscaping guys recommend the best restaurants (try El Siboney!), and the housekeeping staff does an amazing job. You won't regret a stay at Southernmost.

Room Tip: Request an ocean view in Building A!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amysaysom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskogee, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Visited Lamer Hotel and Dewey House November 5-12, 2013. Could not have asked for a better location and staff. The room was well maintained with staff very attentive. Had an issue with our safe and staff addressed it immediately. Only down fall could be the price. Loved the Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flashrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Caldwell
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

They must have listened to the reviewer about check in since they did let us in at 2 and I did call in advance. The ocean view from the a building and b building are beautiful.(I can't speak for other buildings,) they rooms are clean and we'll stocked. I need to check into that fee which was not on my original estimate. Overall this is a beautiful and well maintained property that I would recommend and come to again. It is close and far enough from duval st, peaceful but lots to do.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marion O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerfield, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We spent a week in December and it was absolutely perfect. We have stayed many times before at this hotel and continue to love everything about it. It came as shock however, when I decided to book two stays for 2014. First of all, they are now charging a "resort fee", of $25.00 per day plus 7% tax. One of the attractive things about this hotel has been it's lack of such a fee and they even used it in their advertising. I now understand the hotel has changed hands and the new owners must have decided they needed to make more money. This is very evident when you see the price of their rooms have doubled and some times almost trippled their prior rates.
It is very sad the new owners have decided to take this path and cut out their loyal customers. There is no way we can afford their outrageous new rates so the hotel we have frequented for years will no longer be our place to stay in Key West. Why do they have to make the Southernmost on the Beach a hotel for only the wealthy? Us ordinary folks made it what is when they bought it and now we can no longer enjoy this special place. I'm sure the new owners neither care about their customers or care what we think all they see is an opportunity to get richer!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. I’m glad to read your last stay with us was absolutely perfect but it is unfortunate to read you feel you will not be able to return to us in the future. The Southernmost on the Beach and the Southernmost Hotel Collection have been providing exceptional customer service to our guests for many years with a true sense of pride and ownership. It is unfortunate that our December rates are perhaps more than you would like to spend in the future but I would like to recommend perhaps looking at other potential dates of travel where our peak “in season” rates do not apply. Please contact our onsite reservations department if you should have any questions and I do hope we will be seeing you again in the future. Again, thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
0.2 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Property: Southernmost Beach Resort
Address: 1319 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#4 Spa Hotel in Key West
#8 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel
Southernmost Beach Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing