We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“January 22nd and 23rd 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southernmost Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights for our 37th Wedding anniversary. The ocean view room was great but extremely small. The pool and restaurant staff were friendly. The food was good but overpriced. There was a “wine and food festival" the last night that we were there. Having lived in California for a number of years we were not unfamiliar with wine festivals. We didn't know about it until we arrived back at the hotel @ 6 pm. We decided to join and were told it was $45 each to attend. It was our last night and we thought ok we'll splurge. After paying them $90 we were then told that the festival ended @ 7 pm. We said ok we'd make the best of it for an hour. 30 minutes later @ 6:30 there was NO wine on any of the tables. The wines we were briefly able to sample must have been very cheap. They certainly tasted that way. I didn’t recognize any of the labels. The food served was just cheese.
I originally thought that possibly this was a first time event that was held by a local association. However when I checked out I was told than this was the 4th or 5th year of the event was actually sponsored by Southernmost. This was not a first time event, so I’m having a difficult time excusing the way that this entire event was orchestrated. When I shared this with the front desk the response was a very lukewarm and not heartfelt we're sorry"
If you should decide to stay there, don't pay for the ocean view. It's not worth it. You can stay elsewhere on the property and still have access to all of the same amenities and beach. In fact the beach is not a private beach so you could stay anywhere in Key west and enjoy their beach. If you should find yourself staying here the third or fourth week in January, by all means forget the bush league wine and cheese festival. Your $$ and time could better be spent elsewhere.
To summarize I would not recommend this property.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DRMSR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We apologize for any confusion or misunderstanding you experienced at the Food and Wine Festival during your stay. While we are a sponsor of the event we do not handle any of the event organization. Please be assured your thoughtful comments will be shared with the appropriate individuals as such feedback will help make future events a success. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,300 - 3,306 of 5,928 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

We have stayed here 3 times in the last 3 years. We will NEVER stay anywhere else! It's amazing! The front desk associate Wally is SUPER FRIENDLY HELPFUL AND PROFESSIONAL!! He's a 5 Star employee! If you head to Shores Bar make sure you go in the evening and the amazing bar tender Sully will make you laugh and make you DELISCIOUS drinks! Go to the bar at SBC and ask for John. He's AMAZING too!!!! These 3 employees are remarkable!!!
This is an ABSOLUTE MUST when staying in Key West!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaAFolsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review! We appreciate reading your kind comments about Wally, Sully and John! It's a pleasure to read when our team members can go above and beyond and create a truly memorable experience for our guests. We look forward to making your next stay with us exceptional!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

A fantastic experience and one which will be repeated as soon as we possibly can. The location is superb - at the quiet end of Duval but within a short stroll you are able to party as hard as you want, and/or visit the many interesting sites around. Breakfast (loved the lox and bagels) and dinner in the Beach Cafe whilst overlooking the sea is very good value: both service and quality being extremely high. Many thanks are due to Sully, a superb barman: he knows his cocktails, he knows his customers, and remembers his customers' cocktails. On top of that he is a mine of information re the local area. We cannot fault our room: very large, clean, comfortable and with great views over the gulf. This is not the cheapest of hotels we have stayed in over the years and over the states but certainly ranks as one of the best if not the best.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMac172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are absolutely delighted to read your positive comments about Sully. We strive to provide exceptional customer service, and when one our team members can truly go above and beyond one of our guest's expectations, it's wonderful to read. We will be sure to share your feedback with Sully and look forward to making your next stay with us even better.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here after riding the Harley down from Port Charlotte. I also stayed at Southernmost on the Beach back in March of 2009, and it is still amazingly special and stunning. If you are looking for inexpensive, don't stay here...but, the location, staff, quality, and overall experience are well worth the price. Our 2nd floor room was on the end with a HUGE balcony overlooking the water, literally 20 feet from from the Gulf. The room was spacious with gorgeous views from the large windows. Room service was fantastic, all our meals at the on site beach side cafe were delicious. This property is literally at the most southern end of Duvall Street, so it is quiet and away from all the heavy duty partying and insane traffic on the north side of Key West. If you want to party (like we did just a little), it's a beautiful stroll up Duvall for a few blocks. I guarantee you will not be disappointed with this property. Many thanks to Michael and Victoria at the front desk for answering our questions and going out of their way to help. We will most assuredly be back!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. We appreciate reading your kind comment about Michael and Victoria and we will be sure to share them with our staff. It is very gratifying to read when we are able to provide our guests with exceptional customer service and we look forward to having you with us again in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

So I hate picking hotels in mega tourist destinations because there are probably more than one choice that could fit the bill. It gets daunting. And more often than not, I pick the one that falls short of it's promise.

That is not the case here.

My husband and I wanted a traditionally fun Florida vacation and THAT'S JUST WHAT WE GOT. The pools are FUN! My favorite was the one with the parrot-head music and happenin' bar. On other days, when I just needed a quiet and peaceful place to recover, the tranquility pool was perfection. And while all the staff at the hotel were super friendly and helpful, ironically so were the guests. It attracts a really festive, down-to-earth kind of crowd. I thought my review couldn't get any better until we returned home to find that my husband left all the work he had done on two legal pads and his clamshell iPad in the room. We called as soon as we realized we had left it. Elizabeth the 'world's-best' site manager made a special trip over to the hotel's housekeeping safe to see if in had been turned in. It had! That's when I wished TA had a sixth dot? star? (What are these things called?). Anyway, the location of the hotel is perfect. We were a short walk to everything. Hemingway's House. The bars. And some amazing restaurants. I will be returning here each and every time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property and wishing you could give us 6 stars! We are absolutely delighted that we were able to provide you with exactly what you wanted for your vacation. Your kind remarks about Elizabeth, the “world’s best” on-site manager are truly appreciated and we will be sure to share your comments with her. Our goal is to provide exceptional customer service for every guest every day and it is our pleasure to exceed our guests’ expectations. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

As soon as we walked into our room, we were in love. We did NOT want to leave this place. It is a bit pricey, but if you can afford it, it is worth every penny. I have never felt so comfortable and at home in a hotel before. We loved everything about it. The room is so spacious, you have your own private balcony, the bathroom is spacious, the bed was so comfortable, and there were big windows everywhere. The hotel personnell were so accomodating! Would come back in a heart beat! The property beach is kinda small, but there are public beaches around not too far away and lots and lots of food around.

Room Tip: If you can get an ocean view, it is that much more amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsc2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We are pleased to read that we were able to provide such a homey and comfortable atmosphere for you that you didn’t want to leave. We strive to provide our guests with exceptional customer service and to read we were able to exceed your expectations is simply wonderful. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to welcoming you “home” the next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The view was amazing, The staff was friendly, And the food was amazing, after a horrible experience at the we swapped over to the southernmost and it did not disappoint. Next we are in the we Will definitely stay here instead of the reach!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mathew j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We are so happy to read that we were able to turn a horrible experience somewhere else into an amazing one with us and ultimately leave you with wonderful memories of your vacation. Your kind words are greatly appreciated and we definitely look forward to making your next visit with us even better. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.4 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.8 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#9 of 51 in Key West
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#7 of 51 in Key West
760 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.9 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Address: 1319 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-3118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
#6 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £226 - £488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel
Southernmost Beach Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing